16 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Isla - EP Review: Weirdo

30 Oct 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.

The indie/folk singer-songwriter from Auckland has delivered an engaging five tracks of interesting story telling and sweet vocals. Isla has an ethereal sound which is a perfect accompaniment to the sleek strumming on her guitar. The contrast of vigorous viola and flute in Kids Like Me added a slightly different twist to the otherwise mellow sounding EP.

Despite the offbeat nature of her folk music arrangement, Weirdo flows elegantly starting with the fast paced title track. Isla proves herself as a talented musician from the start. Moving through the tracks Elephant In The Room cements how impressive her vocal range is. This is another standout track with a captivating beat.

This beautiful collection of songs finishes on an endearing mellow note with Breathe. The perfect ending to round off this engaging and endearing body of work.

Isla has produced five tracks to be proud of, “In many ways I started the EP the day I wrote my first song”. Weirdo is full of unique melodies and bright airy vocals. I look forward to watching Isla the musical artist evolve.

Superb five star effort.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Isla

Isla is a singer songwriter from Auckland. Her music is most often associated with the word "quirky" which she chooses to take as a compliment.

Isla's songs are mostly written mostly for the ukelele in a sort of "dear diary" format. Her biggest influences are Dodie, Flight of the Conchords, Kermit the frog and her dad.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Isla

Releases

There are no releases to display for Isla.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem