13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady

29 Oct 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next.

After their first single Oh My Goth (O.M.G.), a faithful homage to 80’s goth rock, there were two ways they could have gone with the follow up;

- treading the same ground, staying within the traditional aesthetic, and establishing themselves as a goth-revival band,
- or diversifying their portfolio, and presenting their interpretation of some of the newer iterations of goth rock. You know, Manson and stuff.

Eager to prove they’re no one trick pony (or five trick considering the artist’s back catalogue), BVB has taken the second path.

Their new single White Lady is a Ghost-tinged ballad, theatrical in its execution, like any Ghost song is. Heavier in tone, but lighter in soul than the last track, this single is every bit as addictive. Vocals are on point. Production is professional. Riffage is strong. The air raid sound effect is a nice touch too.

Here’s an artist that’s put the work in. Their research into the goth genre shows. Their passion for creation is proven. Their proficiency is evident. Their future is certain; they’re destined for obscurity. The people that should be hearing this probably won’t, and the people that do probably won’t get it. Such is the life of any self-producing tortured artist, and such is the allure of goth rock. For me at least.

Ok. There are three ways BVB could have gone. They could have finally listened to the haters and quit while they were ahead. But if there’s one thing we know about the artist-presently-known-as-BVB, it’s that they’re not one roll over and take the negativity. That’s a good skill to have, considering the often elitist, always overlooked sub-genre he’s chosen to inhabit.

While I prefer the first single, if only due to my traditionalist tastes, White Lady is still a strong sophomore effort. Let’s see where the follow up sits. Five of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Black Velvet Butterfly

Dark Rock from Auckland. Influenced by Type O Negative, Ghost, Marilyn Manson, Tool, David Bowie, Gary Numan, Nine Inch Nails, Blutengel, Chris Pohl and A Perfect Circle.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Velvet Butterfly

Releases

There are no releases to display for Black Velvet Butterfly.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe
23 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem