14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady

29 Oct 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next.

After their first single Oh My Goth (O.M.G.), a faithful homage to 80’s goth rock, there were two ways they could have gone with the follow up;

- treading the same ground, staying within the traditional aesthetic, and establishing themselves as a goth-revival band,
- or diversifying their portfolio, and presenting their interpretation of some of the newer iterations of goth rock. You know, Manson and stuff.

Eager to prove they’re no one trick pony (or five trick considering the artist’s back catalogue), BVB has taken the second path.

Their new single White Lady is a Ghost-tinged ballad, theatrical in its execution, like any Ghost song is. Heavier in tone, but lighter in soul than the last track, this single is every bit as addictive. Vocals are on point. Production is professional. Riffage is strong. The air raid sound effect is a nice touch too.

Here’s an artist that’s put the work in. Their research into the goth genre shows. Their passion for creation is proven. Their proficiency is evident. Their future is certain; they’re destined for obscurity. The people that should be hearing this probably won’t, and the people that do probably won’t get it. Such is the life of any self-producing tortured artist, and such is the allure of goth rock. For me at least.

Ok. There are three ways BVB could have gone. They could have finally listened to the haters and quit while they were ahead. But if there’s one thing we know about the artist-presently-known-as-BVB, it’s that they’re not one roll over and take the negativity. That’s a good skill to have, considering the often elitist, always overlooked sub-genre he’s chosen to inhabit.

While I prefer the first single, if only due to my traditionalist tastes, White Lady is still a strong sophomore effort. Let’s see where the follow up sits. Five of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Black Velvet Butterfly

Dark Rock from Auckland. Influenced by Type O Negative, Ghost, Marilyn Manson, Tool, David Bowie, Gary Numan, Nine Inch Nails, Blutengel, Chris Pohl and A Perfect Circle.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Velvet Butterfly

Releases

There are no releases to display for Black Velvet Butterfly.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem