13 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady

29 Oct 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next.

After their first single Oh My Goth (O.M.G.), a faithful homage to 80’s goth rock, there were two ways they could have gone with the follow up;

- treading the same ground, staying within the traditional aesthetic, and establishing themselves as a goth-revival band,
- or diversifying their portfolio, and presenting their interpretation of some of the newer iterations of goth rock. You know, Manson and stuff.

Eager to prove they’re no one trick pony (or five trick considering the artist’s back catalogue), BVB has taken the second path.

Their new single White Lady is a Ghost-tinged ballad, theatrical in its execution, like any Ghost song is. Heavier in tone, but lighter in soul than the last track, this single is every bit as addictive. Vocals are on point. Production is professional. Riffage is strong. The air raid sound effect is a nice touch too.

Here’s an artist that’s put the work in. Their research into the goth genre shows. Their passion for creation is proven. Their proficiency is evident. Their future is certain; they’re destined for obscurity. The people that should be hearing this probably won’t, and the people that do probably won’t get it. Such is the life of any self-producing tortured artist, and such is the allure of goth rock. For me at least.

Ok. There are three ways BVB could have gone. They could have finally listened to the haters and quit while they were ahead. But if there’s one thing we know about the artist-presently-known-as-BVB, it’s that they’re not one roll over and take the negativity. That’s a good skill to have, considering the often elitist, always overlooked sub-genre he’s chosen to inhabit.

While I prefer the first single, if only due to my traditionalist tastes, White Lady is still a strong sophomore effort. Let’s see where the follow up sits. Five of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Black Velvet Butterfly

Dark Rock from Auckland. Influenced by Type O Negative, Ghost, Marilyn Manson, Tool, David Bowie, Gary Numan, Nine Inch Nails, Blutengel, Chris Pohl and A Perfect Circle.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Black Velvet Butterfly

Releases

There are no releases to display for Black Velvet Butterfly.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
Horror Story - Album Review: Return of the Strange
29 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Following 20 years of providing an essential service to the New Zealand Punk scene, Horror Story are back with fresh fruit for rotting ear holes. Return of the Strange is another hard, fast, and heavy zombie-stomp into the Horror Punk genre.
Read More...
Wendyhouse - Album Review: Born To Be Alive and Killed By Death
01 Mar 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
For my next trick, I will be approaching Wendyhouse's album and zine, Born to be Alive and Killed by Death. To me, this is a novel concept.
Read More...
Album Review: Various Artists - Mansfield
18 Feb 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
As an English major, it is my duty to know Mansfield. She sits on my shelf, somewhere between Lawrence and Woolf.
Read More...
Government Pest - Album Review: Disengage
30 Jan 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
My favourite local album, in both a national and regional sense, is probably 2006’s Dawn of a Grey Winter. The compilation of $lave Recordings bands and beyond is a showcase of the best Palmy had to offer at that point in history.
Read More...
Dharmarat - Album Review: WLKNZ
24 Dec 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This review took a long time. This isn’t my usual genre.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem