29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Used - Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019

26 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound. Add to this the crunchy, driven guitar sound, tight bass and drums that interlocks and compliments the riffs, and you have Miss Used.

As a young group, it is impressive at how mature they sound. Attention to detail is evident, such as the chugging and pulsating opening track that swings between time signatures in an elegant way, not once showing any sign that they are having trouble managing it. Vocally, both Ben and Lochlan share vocal duties. A couple of tracks in and Lochlan slips off his guitar, commands the stage like a true flamboyant frontman and the audience are right there with him. It’s awesome. During the night, Lochlan encourages the audience to get down and then commands them to all jump up together when the song comes alive again. This back and forth between the audience and the band is real, honest and enjoyable to be a part of.

Throughout the set, songs complement each other, giving us all a hint of what the band still has in store for us in the future. About half way through the set, we get a taste of a more punky side blended with their blues rock sound. The last song starts a little softer then normal but then explodes into a behemoth of a slower groove that really cuts through. Each member showcases their instrumental skills. The harmonies elevate the song, the deep driving riff cuts right to the bone. There is nothing greater than a well thought out guitar solo overtop of a simple chord progression. This exactly what happens in the explosive ending of this song. It’s a fine way to end they’d show.

There are hints of Silverchair, Nirvana, Tool and groups like The Black Keys with that southern rock sound. Put all that into a blender, flick the switch to gourmet and you get this truly rocking sound.

Miss Used certainly give everything they have and the audience soaks it up and appreciates it. While playing, the audience heaves and jumps around. At the end of each song, the audience erupts with applause. It’s fantastic to see so many young people really get into raw, organic rock music. It’s grassroots and it’s inspiring. If only we still had as many live music venues we used to have in Auckland. But hey, that’s a whole other story so I’ll park that one now.

Overall, the show this evening puts Miss Used onto my list of ‘keep an eye out for this band list.’ All it takes is for a couple of A&R people to see what this band has to offer. With the right direction, vision and production, Miss Used are surely going to become a name known amongst New Zealand’s rock community.

 

About Miss Used

Miss Used is a four-piece psychedelic blues grunge band from Auckland, New Zealand. All members being in their late teens. The band started late December in 2018. Miss Used has played gigs such as the titirangi music festival, the UFO, the dogs bolix and more. The band writes about personal past and current experiences, mental health, society and many other aspects of life.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Used

Releases

There are no releases to display for Miss Used.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem