7 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Used - Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019

26 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound. Add to this the crunchy, driven guitar sound, tight bass and drums that interlocks and compliments the riffs, and you have Miss Used.

As a young group, it is impressive at how mature they sound. Attention to detail is evident, such as the chugging and pulsating opening track that swings between time signatures in an elegant way, not once showing any sign that they are having trouble managing it. Vocally, both Ben and Lochlan share vocal duties. A couple of tracks in and Lochlan slips off his guitar, commands the stage like a true flamboyant frontman and the audience are right there with him. It’s awesome. During the night, Lochlan encourages the audience to get down and then commands them to all jump up together when the song comes alive again. This back and forth between the audience and the band is real, honest and enjoyable to be a part of.

Throughout the set, songs complement each other, giving us all a hint of what the band still has in store for us in the future. About half way through the set, we get a taste of a more punky side blended with their blues rock sound. The last song starts a little softer then normal but then explodes into a behemoth of a slower groove that really cuts through. Each member showcases their instrumental skills. The harmonies elevate the song, the deep driving riff cuts right to the bone. There is nothing greater than a well thought out guitar solo overtop of a simple chord progression. This exactly what happens in the explosive ending of this song. It’s a fine way to end they’d show.

There are hints of Silverchair, Nirvana, Tool and groups like The Black Keys with that southern rock sound. Put all that into a blender, flick the switch to gourmet and you get this truly rocking sound.

Miss Used certainly give everything they have and the audience soaks it up and appreciates it. While playing, the audience heaves and jumps around. At the end of each song, the audience erupts with applause. It’s fantastic to see so many young people really get into raw, organic rock music. It’s grassroots and it’s inspiring. If only we still had as many live music venues we used to have in Auckland. But hey, that’s a whole other story so I’ll park that one now.

Overall, the show this evening puts Miss Used onto my list of ‘keep an eye out for this band list.’ All it takes is for a couple of A&R people to see what this band has to offer. With the right direction, vision and production, Miss Used are surely going to become a name known amongst New Zealand’s rock community.

 

About Miss Used

Miss Used is a four-piece psychedelic blues grunge band from Auckland, New Zealand. All members being in their late teens. The band started late December in 2018. Miss Used has played gigs such as the titirangi music festival, the UFO, the dogs bolix and more. The band writes about personal past and current experiences, mental health, society and many other aspects of life.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Used

Releases

There are no releases to display for Miss Used.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem