24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Used - Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019

26 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound. Add to this the crunchy, driven guitar sound, tight bass and drums that interlocks and compliments the riffs, and you have Miss Used.

As a young group, it is impressive at how mature they sound. Attention to detail is evident, such as the chugging and pulsating opening track that swings between time signatures in an elegant way, not once showing any sign that they are having trouble managing it. Vocally, both Ben and Lochlan share vocal duties. A couple of tracks in and Lochlan slips off his guitar, commands the stage like a true flamboyant frontman and the audience are right there with him. It’s awesome. During the night, Lochlan encourages the audience to get down and then commands them to all jump up together when the song comes alive again. This back and forth between the audience and the band is real, honest and enjoyable to be a part of.

Throughout the set, songs complement each other, giving us all a hint of what the band still has in store for us in the future. About half way through the set, we get a taste of a more punky side blended with their blues rock sound. The last song starts a little softer then normal but then explodes into a behemoth of a slower groove that really cuts through. Each member showcases their instrumental skills. The harmonies elevate the song, the deep driving riff cuts right to the bone. There is nothing greater than a well thought out guitar solo overtop of a simple chord progression. This exactly what happens in the explosive ending of this song. It’s a fine way to end they’d show.

There are hints of Silverchair, Nirvana, Tool and groups like The Black Keys with that southern rock sound. Put all that into a blender, flick the switch to gourmet and you get this truly rocking sound.

Miss Used certainly give everything they have and the audience soaks it up and appreciates it. While playing, the audience heaves and jumps around. At the end of each song, the audience erupts with applause. It’s fantastic to see so many young people really get into raw, organic rock music. It’s grassroots and it’s inspiring. If only we still had as many live music venues we used to have in Auckland. But hey, that’s a whole other story so I’ll park that one now.

Overall, the show this evening puts Miss Used onto my list of ‘keep an eye out for this band list.’ All it takes is for a couple of A&R people to see what this band has to offer. With the right direction, vision and production, Miss Used are surely going to become a name known amongst New Zealand’s rock community.

 

About Miss Used

Miss Used is a four-piece psychedelic blues grunge band from Auckland, New Zealand. All members being in their late teens. The band started late December in 2018. Miss Used has played gigs such as the titirangi music festival, the UFO, the dogs bolix and more. The band writes about personal past and current experiences, mental health, society and many other aspects of life.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Used

Releases

There are no releases to display for Miss Used.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem