10 Dec 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss Used - Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019

26 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound. Add to this the crunchy, driven guitar sound, tight bass and drums that interlocks and compliments the riffs, and you have Miss Used.

As a young group, it is impressive at how mature they sound. Attention to detail is evident, such as the chugging and pulsating opening track that swings between time signatures in an elegant way, not once showing any sign that they are having trouble managing it. Vocally, both Ben and Lochlan share vocal duties. A couple of tracks in and Lochlan slips off his guitar, commands the stage like a true flamboyant frontman and the audience are right there with him. It’s awesome. During the night, Lochlan encourages the audience to get down and then commands them to all jump up together when the song comes alive again. This back and forth between the audience and the band is real, honest and enjoyable to be a part of.

Throughout the set, songs complement each other, giving us all a hint of what the band still has in store for us in the future. About half way through the set, we get a taste of a more punky side blended with their blues rock sound. The last song starts a little softer then normal but then explodes into a behemoth of a slower groove that really cuts through. Each member showcases their instrumental skills. The harmonies elevate the song, the deep driving riff cuts right to the bone. There is nothing greater than a well thought out guitar solo overtop of a simple chord progression. This exactly what happens in the explosive ending of this song. It’s a fine way to end they’d show.

There are hints of Silverchair, Nirvana, Tool and groups like The Black Keys with that southern rock sound. Put all that into a blender, flick the switch to gourmet and you get this truly rocking sound.

Miss Used certainly give everything they have and the audience soaks it up and appreciates it. While playing, the audience heaves and jumps around. At the end of each song, the audience erupts with applause. It’s fantastic to see so many young people really get into raw, organic rock music. It’s grassroots and it’s inspiring. If only we still had as many live music venues we used to have in Auckland. But hey, that’s a whole other story so I’ll park that one now.

Overall, the show this evening puts Miss Used onto my list of ‘keep an eye out for this band list.’ All it takes is for a couple of A&R people to see what this band has to offer. With the right direction, vision and production, Miss Used are surely going to become a name known amongst New Zealand’s rock community.

 

About Miss Used

Miss Used is a four-piece psychedelic blues grunge band from Auckland, New Zealand. All members being in their late teens. The band started late December in 2018. Miss Used has played gigs such as the titirangi music festival, the UFO, the dogs bolix and more. The band writes about personal past and current experiences, mental health, society and many other aspects of life.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss Used

Releases

There are no releases to display for Miss Used.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Grace Duncan - Single Review: Come, We Must Go
03 Dec 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Grace Duncan's new track Come, We Must Go takes sounds from our lands and combines them into a cinematic experience that breathes with dynamics, taking us on a journey that begs to heard again. Te Reo is interwoven into the track, and transitions between languages is smooth and seamless.
Read More...
Young Gho$t - Single Review: Weed In My Lungs
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
"I got this weed in my lungs. I got this weed in my lungs.
Read More...
The Lite Works - EP Review: 11:11
29 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Lite Works newest EP, 11:11, is a prime example of quality rock music that I personally grew up on. It’s like they have taken some of my favourite rock acts from the 90's and early 2000's and captured it in a bottle.
Read More...
Viices - Single Review: Heresy
20 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Viices, Heresy, feels like a mix between low key ska and EDM. It’s a very cool mix.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Single Review: Kereru
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand dub music is something I feel is rather a special thing to New Zealand. That Reggae sound, shaped into our music, is synonymous for a sunny day on the deck with your mates having a BBQ, or hanging out at the beach.
Read More...
Chris Bates - Single Review: Chasing Kites
15 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Chasing Kites from Chris Bates is song that pulls a lot of different influences and takes the listener on a smooth ride through turbulent times.One thing that is evident from the first vocal lines are how smooth and silky they are.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • EVERYTHING I WANTED
    Billie Eilish
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • RIDE IT
    Regard
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem