1 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Impending Adorations - Album Review: Allies

23 Oct 2019 // A review by Mike Alexander
Paul McLaney is one of those artists who never fails to get me where I’m most vulnerable, least alive and yet open to the possibility of being transported somewhere beyond myself.

I’ve been listening to Allies, his latest release as Impending Adorations, while attempting to rediscover a new purpose in an old life.

It has bought me unexpected solace. It whispers rather than shouts, it intimates rather than openly provokes. It has an aliveness and integrity to it that often hints at a familiar melody that you once knew but had forgotten, a fragrance that invigorates your senses but whose source you can’t quite identify and a sense of purpose to it that is open-ended enough to reveal itself as something different upon repeated listens. Construction, reconstruction. Presence, absence, Body, soul. Memory, awakening.

Allies has a simple dedication to M.R.W. and is composed of nine tracks, the most immediate of which are The Ladder, Breathe In/Breathe Out, Sons & Daughters, All At Once and A New Conversation. They are suggestive rather than obvious with lyrics, when they are perceptible (as far as I can make out), - "it’s not working, we are talking past each other, all else is an accusation" (The Ladder), "all at once it overtakes me, though I dealt with this long ago, how can the emotion travel such a distance come from my resistance, I don’t know" (All At Once) - that hang in the air, sometimes fragile at others echoing some long forgotten truth, questioning, probing and finding their own resolution in a matrix of compelling textures, earthy rhythms, over-dubbed vocals, rich electric guitar lines and found and electronically manipulated sounds.

There is no obvious road map to Allies so you just have to navigate yourself through each episode as it unfolds. Perhaps, this is what McLaney intended. As a musician and composer he is steeped in his own past influences that suggest a love of the string arrangements of Beatles arranger George Martin, the other-worldly clicks, beats and stilted rhythms of Can, while his vocal style is reminiscent of David Bowie, during his Berlin trilogy of collaborations with Brian Eno, and Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis.

What is most evident though from all of his releases as Impending Adorations is that McLaney is one of those artists who, through his music, creates the kind of spaces where you can lose something of yourself you thought you knew and find something new about yourself you might never have conceived of.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Allies
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Threshold
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Spectator
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Further
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Intentions
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Gestalt
Year: 2012
Type: EP
Broken Science
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Mike Alexander

Naircol - Single Review: Turbo Outrun
04 Feb 2021 // by Mike Alexander
In an interview with Naircol, following the release of his debut album Isolate late last year, he put collaborative ventures at the top of his wish list. It seems Santa Claus came calling in the form of Canadian producer Tokyo Rat, the result of which is the dynamic driving anthem Turbo Outrun.
Read More...
Claire Cowan - Composition Review: Hansel and Gretel
16 Dec 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The Brothers Grimm fairy tale Hansel and Gretel is, ah, rather 'grim' to say the least. It’s the story of a brother and sister who get lost in the woods and are befriended by a cannibalistic witch who lives in a house made out of sweet things, most notably gingerbread.
Read More...
Mahoney Harris - Single Review: The Shifting of the Light
19 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
There's an evocative image conjured up early on in The Shifting of the Light that beautifully illustrates the underlying theme of letting go. In referring to "paradise ducks made for life returning to their bowers time after time" singer-songwriter Mahoney Harris might well be talking about 'soul-mates' or a similarly intimate relationship that felt as if it was meant to last but didn't.
Read More...
Eden Iris - Single Review: I Just Can't Turn It Off
12 Nov 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Having exorcised a few ghosts, so to speak, on her soul stirring 2018 EP Demons, Eden Iris is finally set to release her debut album next year. It’s been an age since the now LA-based, singer-songwriter first came to national attention through Mike Chunn’s Play It Strange competition.
Read More...
Lou'ana - Album Review: Moonlight Madness
29 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
The official release date for Lou'ana's debut album is October 30. Whether by design or accident, it’s serendipitous.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Single Review: Good Things (All We Need)
22 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Feel-good grooves are part of Raw Collective’s DNA. The Wellington-based 10-piece have been sowing sunflower seeds of optimism and cheerfulness for many a year now and it seems the well of goodness never dries.
Read More...
Naircol - Album Review: Isolate
16 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Naircol is Tauranga-based synthesiser whizz Matt Hennessey. I like that it is an anagram of clarion because this is quite the impressive calling card.
Read More...
Bartells - EP Review: Let's Go
08 Oct 2020 // by Mike Alexander
Sam Bartells has a way with words. In an interview with Darryl Baser from Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Mike Alexander

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem