13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe

23 Oct 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.

We’re all part-time musicians here. If music was a full-time job, we’d all leave our offices immediately. Some shouldn’t...  My introduction to Starke with the track Hope is a Universe proves he could make it in an economy that still placed value in art.

The song was born of the collaborative Outland Sessions, an annual gathering of musicians holding a week-long recording session in Pahiatua. The idea is you can contribute to as many songs as you want, but there is one that is yours. It’s not an event I’d heard of before, but it’s a concept I wholly support. I’ve enjoyed looking back over previous sessions.

This collaboration, the one Starke owns, has a hint of early Coldplay (or their musical ancestors Seal and Clapton) to it, but there’s also this 90’s Soundgardeny, alternative sensibility mixed in there, and a touch of old world soft-rock. It’s the kind of song that would be re-appropriated as a NZ Post or Kiwibank advertisement as it aged in the pre-streaming, pre-millennium world. Back when music still had substance, and lyrics meaning.

The voice and lyrics are like a Werther’s Original; distinctive, sweet and buttery, but there is a hard bite there too. He’s got some strong lungs, lending to powerful vocal belts, and sustained highs. The lyrics are reflective and clever. “Hope is a poison I hope you’ll take today.”

I can’t find anything to critique here. An instant classic. 5 of 5 stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Steve Starke Music

My music sits on an edge between Simple Rock, Blues and Heavy Rock, often with an influence of diverse time signatures, and a lot of melodic spread, with the odd rather boutique nod to jazz.

Who is Steve Starke

I am a Kiwi 51-year-old father and stepfather. My youngest is 24 and my wife and I live in rural land in South Auckland. A Project Marketer in Real Estate by day, I have been writing my own lyrics since before I turned 18 – and started recording my own work on a four track some 32 years ago!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steve Starke Music

Releases

There are no releases to display for Steve Starke Music.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Radio Coma - Single Review: All Die
07 Nov 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Well that was shocking... ...
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: White Lady
29 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I did wonder what direction Black Velvet Butterfly would take next. After their first single Oh My Goth (O.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: I Hear Sirens
05 Oct 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
September has come and passed, and you know what that means? It’s time to wake up that guy from Green Day, and for the next edition in Cruddy’s song-a-month musical odyssey (of which September brought us two!
Read More...
Black Velvet Butterfly - Single Review: O.M.G. (Oh My Goth)
03 Sep 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Do they still have clearly demarcated sub-cultures in this post-Hipster world? Are there still Goths, Nerds, Jocks, and the women who love them?
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin
29 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago. In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.
Read More...
Lake South - Album Review: Wellington - Te Upoko O Te Ika
22 Aug 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
I seldom review anything with any degree of commercial appeal, on account of my conscious attempts to avoid overt radio-bate. The music consumed by the masses hasn’t spoken to me for over a decade.
Read More...
First Move - Single Review: One Hundred Percent
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
Palmy is a small town. The six degrees of Kevin Bacon is closer to two steps to your local heroes.
Read More...
Cruddy - Single Review: One Way Please
28 Jul 2019 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been interesting watching this artist explore and develop their style over time. When I last checked in, I think it was around April – the track was Madre Naturaleza, Cruddy was still producing dark industrial sound-scapes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem