16 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steve Starke Music - Single Review: Hope is a Universe

23 Oct 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Like Peter Weller’s Buckaroo Banzai - neurosurgeon, rockstar, and experimental hypersonic vehicle pilot - Steve Starke is a man of many talents. Crack realtor by day, hit musician on other days, nights, and probably weekends.

We’re all part-time musicians here. If music was a full-time job, we’d all leave our offices immediately. Some shouldn’t...  My introduction to Starke with the track Hope is a Universe proves he could make it in an economy that still placed value in art.

The song was born of the collaborative Outland Sessions, an annual gathering of musicians holding a week-long recording session in Pahiatua. The idea is you can contribute to as many songs as you want, but there is one that is yours. It’s not an event I’d heard of before, but it’s a concept I wholly support. I’ve enjoyed looking back over previous sessions.

This collaboration, the one Starke owns, has a hint of early Coldplay (or their musical ancestors Seal and Clapton) to it, but there’s also this 90’s Soundgardeny, alternative sensibility mixed in there, and a touch of old world soft-rock. It’s the kind of song that would be re-appropriated as a NZ Post or Kiwibank advertisement as it aged in the pre-streaming, pre-millennium world. Back when music still had substance, and lyrics meaning.

The voice and lyrics are like a Werther’s Original; distinctive, sweet and buttery, but there is a hard bite there too. He’s got some strong lungs, lending to powerful vocal belts, and sustained highs. The lyrics are reflective and clever. “Hope is a poison I hope you’ll take today.”

I can’t find anything to critique here. An instant classic. 5 of 5 stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Steve Starke Music

My music sits on an edge between Simple Rock, Blues and Heavy Rock, often with an influence of diverse time signatures, and a lot of melodic spread, with the odd rather boutique nod to jazz.

Who is Steve Starke

I am a Kiwi 51-year-old father and stepfather. My youngest is 24 and my wife and I live in rural land in South Auckland. A Project Marketer in Real Estate by day, I have been writing my own lyrics since before I turned 18 – and started recording my own work on a four track some 32 years ago!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steve Starke Music

Releases

There are no releases to display for Steve Starke Music.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
Needless Cane - Album Review: The Red Masquerade
16 Apr 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery. Fan fiction.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • DREAMS
    Fleetwood Mac
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem