18 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Powerstation, Auckland - 19/10/2019

20 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Rock is alive in well.

The sea of black was ready for rock at the Powerstation tonight. With a solid line up made of Black Smoke Trigger, Like A Storm and the headliner Devilskin, the audience in Auckland wasn't ready for just how good this show was.

Devilskin are celebrating their 10th year as a group and they certainly proved why they are well respected within, not only the New Zealand rock scene but the global scene too. The way the group commands the stage, with the duo of Paul Martin and Nail roaming the stage like any rockstar should and Jennie just completely demonstrating why she is one of our greatest vocalists, Devilskin showed us all why they are still around. From the opening track, all the way through to the end of the encore, the power, and energy levels never once dropped. It's moments like these when a band as tight as Devilskin are, remind me just how great our New Zealand rock scene is. Not only was the energy alive and breathing on stage, but that energy was consistently transferred back and forth with the incredibly active audience. I watched and listened in the mosh pit as we all sung our hearts out to tracks like All Fall Down, Start A Revolution and Pray. The mosh pit was pushing and shoving, people throwing themselves around, yet if someone fell everyone went to pick them up. It was a beautiful sight.

Halfway through the show, Nic Martin performed one hell of a drum solo. It was tight, loud and technically sound. It highlighted one of the most striking elements of Devilskin's performance: they are super tight. Their sound is incredibly huge. Each instrument was clearly heard, guitar solos ringing out, drums cracking through, bass holding the low end together. Jennie's vocals sat perfectly in the mix the entire time. Watching her sing her heart out is refreshing. Rock music has really seen a decline over the last decade, but it is performers like Jennie that give me hope that she will inspire the new generation. It looked like she was having a lot of fun, as did the whole band. It was contagious. Every single person in the venue was caught under her spell.

Hit after hit after hit, Devilskin worked their way through their catalogue, including introducing some new songs along the way. The new songs were powerful and felt right at home in their set. The audience certainly got right into them too.

Both of the opening acts Black Smoke Trigger and Like A Storm rocked hard. Again, the quality of their sound was superb. A stand out moment was when Marcus from City Of Souls joined Jennie with Like A Storm and performed Nil By Mouth. It was a surprise that completely stole the first part of the night. The whole audience was singing at the top of their lungs. This was also the case when Like A Storm's guitarist, Matt Brooks, slowed things down and sung Crawling by Linkin Park as a tribute to Chester Bennington. We all sang with so much passion. Mental Health is an important issue and both Like A Storm and Devilskin talked about this in their sets, encouraging people to speak up and take care of each other. It was humbling, awesome and honest.

Overall, the entire night was a blast and certainly one of the best rock shows I have seen and heard in years. I will be looking up Black Smoke Trigger after seeing them rip up the stage as the opening act, and I will continue to blast both Like A Storm and Devilskin. Jennie and her band demonstrated why they are one of New Zealand's premier rock acts. If you get the chance to see them, do it. You will get blown away.


Photos by Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem