28 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down

18 Oct 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We all go through it.

The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life. It can be absolute shite at times and, being a bit of a cynical old bastard now, it can sometimes feel like the shit times outnumber the good.

The highs though are what keep us going, even though we know there is usually a come down.

My advice, for what it is worth, is to "ride the waves, if there is a low then there is another crest on the way". 

The new single Up/Down from Auckland 3-piece Blu Fish takes us on a 3-minute roller coaster ride of emotions. It starts the same way most of us start our days, sleepy with a hint of trepidation but wanting things to go well.

As it builds we get to experience in a short space of time the changing moods we all experience every day the doubts and fears we all have to deal with, "I don’t know how to feel a thing" - then it all explodes.

The psychedelic/indie vibe of the music is countered with some deep and thoughtful lyrics that make you want to listen to the track over and over.

Blu Fish can play music, but more importantly they know how to create a melody and lyrics that are both interesting and challenging. There is no verse/chorus bridge to chorus to end formula being followed here and Up/Down is all the better for it.

Up/Down is a snapshot of the feelings we all experience over a 24 hour period. It makes you feel happy, sad, angry, confused but it ultimately makes you feel like getting up and doing it all over again.

Blu Fish have hit the nail on the head with this one and I can’t wait to see where they go from here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blu Fish

Blu Fish are an indie heavy surfy rocky pop band from West Auckland. They released their debut 5-track EP Shments in November of 2018, and were the winners of the 2018 National Battle of the Bands.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blu Fish

Releases

Shments
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem