8 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down

18 Oct 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We all go through it.

The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life. It can be absolute shite at times and, being a bit of a cynical old bastard now, it can sometimes feel like the shit times outnumber the good.

The highs though are what keep us going, even though we know there is usually a come down.

My advice, for what it is worth, is to "ride the waves, if there is a low then there is another crest on the way". 

The new single Up/Down from Auckland 3-piece Blu Fish takes us on a 3-minute roller coaster ride of emotions. It starts the same way most of us start our days, sleepy with a hint of trepidation but wanting things to go well.

As it builds we get to experience in a short space of time the changing moods we all experience every day the doubts and fears we all have to deal with, "I don’t know how to feel a thing" - then it all explodes.

The psychedelic/indie vibe of the music is countered with some deep and thoughtful lyrics that make you want to listen to the track over and over.

Blu Fish can play music, but more importantly they know how to create a melody and lyrics that are both interesting and challenging. There is no verse/chorus bridge to chorus to end formula being followed here and Up/Down is all the better for it.

Up/Down is a snapshot of the feelings we all experience over a 24 hour period. It makes you feel happy, sad, angry, confused but it ultimately makes you feel like getting up and doing it all over again.

Blu Fish have hit the nail on the head with this one and I can’t wait to see where they go from here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blu Fish

Blu Fish are an indie heavy surfy rocky pop band from West Auckland. They released their debut 5-track EP Shments in November of 2018, and were the winners of the 2018 National Battle of the Bands.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blu Fish

Releases

Shments
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem