16 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down

18 Oct 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

We all go through it.

The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life. It can be absolute shite at times and, being a bit of a cynical old bastard now, it can sometimes feel like the shit times outnumber the good.

The highs though are what keep us going, even though we know there is usually a come down.

My advice, for what it is worth, is to "ride the waves, if there is a low then there is another crest on the way". 

The new single Up/Down from Auckland 3-piece Blu Fish takes us on a 3-minute roller coaster ride of emotions. It starts the same way most of us start our days, sleepy with a hint of trepidation but wanting things to go well.

As it builds we get to experience in a short space of time the changing moods we all experience every day the doubts and fears we all have to deal with, "I don’t know how to feel a thing" - then it all explodes.

The psychedelic/indie vibe of the music is countered with some deep and thoughtful lyrics that make you want to listen to the track over and over.

Blu Fish can play music, but more importantly they know how to create a melody and lyrics that are both interesting and challenging. There is no verse/chorus bridge to chorus to end formula being followed here and Up/Down is all the better for it.

Up/Down is a snapshot of the feelings we all experience over a 24 hour period. It makes you feel happy, sad, angry, confused but it ultimately makes you feel like getting up and doing it all over again.

Blu Fish have hit the nail on the head with this one and I can’t wait to see where they go from here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Blu Fish

Blu Fish are an indie heavy surfy rocky pop band from West Auckland. They released their debut 5-track EP Shments in November of 2018, and were the winners of the 2018 National Battle of the Bands.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blu Fish

Releases

Shments
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem