7 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker

08 Oct 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.

Shortly after, I opened up The Lost Boys Soundcloud page to review their brand new single Hook, Line & Sinker and it totally changed my mood. This brand new song is pure awesome. It reminds me so much of Mumsdollar, 48May and Goodnight Nurse, all of who will always be some of my favourite Kiwi acts.

If you haven't heard of any of these bands, The Lost Boys would be completely at home on stage alongside Simple Plan, Refused At The Drive In, or Pan!c At The Disco with one slight difference ... their energy is JUST MASSIVE.

Hats off to the drummer with his tight fast chops, and the guitar/bass lines virtually becoming a rhythm section all of their own. The singer Joseph Hoskin has a perfect voice for this style of music, and Jake, Felix and Jordan have clearly mastered their instruments also. Jake's grooves ooze steaze, their 'Ooh's & Aah's are second to none, and if you listen closely, you can hear Joseph smiling throughout the whole tune.

Legitimately, I haven't heard a new punk tune this good since Story Of The Year dropped their last album. Well done lads! Love your work.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Lost Boys

The Lost Boys are New Zealand's latest pop punk band to explode onto the scene.

The Lost Boys originated as Joseph's brain child which stayed his brain child until he was fortunate enough to get lost and meet his now "Lost Boys".

Taking influence from pop punk greats such as All Time Low and State Champs, The Lost Boys have created a punchy, tight sound of their own.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Lost Boys

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Lost Boys.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem