28 Jan 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gold Medal Famous - Album Review: Gold Medal Famous

04 Oct 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.

After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty. Just take a listen to Have You Ever Heard to get a glimpse of what I mean. It makes some lyrics from David Bowie's Lazarus from his final album Blackstar seem positively ambiguous.

The opening track is the rather cheery dreary It’s A Waste Of Time takes no prisoners with its jarring line-suicide is common especially in New Zealand. The track comes across like Art Garfunkel singing at a gathering of the Manson Family.

It’s catchy quirky and startling in equal measure and probably the stand out “song” on this album which is a collection of sound bites punctuated with occasional vocals that leaves you feeling depressed, confused and optimistic in equal measure.

1st Waltz is another that grabbed my attention and is akin to listening to nails being dragged down a chalkboard while someone is strumming a lullaby.

This is uneasy listening and I must admit that around half way through enduring the kind of sonic noodling that saw Radiohead lose half its fan base, I had largely given up.

I like a challenge though, so went back for a second and third listen until I ended up feeling decidedly down and a little disorientated. My advice is turn the volume up and use this album sparingly. Do not take more than the recommended dose or there could be side effects.

There is always a need for bands like Gold Medal Famous who simply dare to be different and do the unexpected, screwing with any musical conventions.

Gold Medal Famous may be a swan song for a band that never played the game and are all the better for doing that. It is a glimpse into the collective minds of people who refused to let their music be categorised.

Do yourself a favour and listen to the band who got famous for not being famous in NZ. They will be missed but have a legacy that will live on.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Gold Medal Famous

Gold Medal Famous is a three-piece genre fluid electropop act founded in Wellington in 2008. Known for their captivating live performances, complete with intense audience interaction and comedic stunts, you might love or hate them, but you won’t forget what you’ve seen.

Signed to Auckland indie label Powertool Records, Gold Medal Famous will be releasing their sixth album Activity on May 27 2017.

Gold Medal Famous are prolific recorders with 28 releases available on their own Bandcamp page in addition to their releases on Powertool.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gold Medal Famous

Releases

Five Track
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Gold Medal Famous
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Activity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem