4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gold Medal Famous - Album Review: Gold Medal Famous

04 Oct 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.

After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty. Just take a listen to Have You Ever Heard to get a glimpse of what I mean. It makes some lyrics from David Bowie's Lazarus from his final album Blackstar seem positively ambiguous.

The opening track is the rather cheery dreary It’s A Waste Of Time takes no prisoners with its jarring line-suicide is common especially in New Zealand. The track comes across like Art Garfunkel singing at a gathering of the Manson Family.

It’s catchy quirky and startling in equal measure and probably the stand out “song” on this album which is a collection of sound bites punctuated with occasional vocals that leaves you feeling depressed, confused and optimistic in equal measure.

1st Waltz is another that grabbed my attention and is akin to listening to nails being dragged down a chalkboard while someone is strumming a lullaby.

This is uneasy listening and I must admit that around half way through enduring the kind of sonic noodling that saw Radiohead lose half its fan base, I had largely given up.

I like a challenge though, so went back for a second and third listen until I ended up feeling decidedly down and a little disorientated. My advice is turn the volume up and use this album sparingly. Do not take more than the recommended dose or there could be side effects.

There is always a need for bands like Gold Medal Famous who simply dare to be different and do the unexpected, screwing with any musical conventions.

Gold Medal Famous may be a swan song for a band that never played the game and are all the better for doing that. It is a glimpse into the collective minds of people who refused to let their music be categorised.

Do yourself a favour and listen to the band who got famous for not being famous in NZ. They will be missed but have a legacy that will live on.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Gold Medal Famous

Gold Medal Famous is a three-piece genre fluid electropop act founded in Wellington in 2008. Known for their captivating live performances, complete with intense audience interaction and comedic stunts, you might love or hate them, but you won’t forget what you’ve seen.

Signed to Auckland indie label Powertool Records, Gold Medal Famous will be releasing their sixth album Activity on May 27 2017.

Gold Medal Famous are prolific recorders with 28 releases available on their own Bandcamp page in addition to their releases on Powertool.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Gold Medal Famous

Releases

Five Track
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Gold Medal Famous
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Activity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem