29 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corduroy. - EP Review: Good Intentions

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Corduroy.’s new EP is a journey through that demonstrates the bands ability to write catchy songs that are also deep and entertaining. A lot of today’s popular music is bombarded with the same sort of sounding songs, while Corduroy. sound modern and popular but buck that trend with clever arrangements and silky smooth vocals.

From the moment Good Intentions starts you can hear the influence of Arctic Monkeys in a subtle nod with the timbre of the guitar and the riff in general. Riffs are a standout amongst the first two songs. Even still, there is a lot more happening in each song than just a riff. Pay attention to the funky bass, tight drumming or the low level synth lurking in the background. It showcases craftsmanship.

Loose Ends is a little slower and has a prominent bass line that perfectly settles down to lead into the vocal. Very much soul inspired, the verse is a true calm before the storm. The chorus opens up sonically which is a feast for the ears. The shuffle on the drums before heading back into verse 2 gets my thumbs up. I’m a big fan of when shuffles are used well.

All the while there is this eerie X-files synth vibe going on in the verses. It all adds to mood of Loose Ends which is the stand out track to me, it has so much going on but all done in moderation. When played live, I would expect the coda to really develop and blow up. I will need to hear it live.

Closing the EP, Childish Dreams is a ballad that works its way through a chord progression in the chorus that would get a nod from any songwriter. All the while, the instrumental arrangements help to create a mood that matches the lyrical content and title. Singing about drinking and dreaming up big plans, this song will resonate with those of us who know this feeling all too well.

Overall, the EP is a showcase of Corduroy. It gives us a taste of what is to come. A great listen and one I recommend to all.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corduroy.

Corduroy. are a 5 piece band formed in 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.

Since forming, they have gained a large following in Wellington, and a loyal fan base all around New Zealand. They have played sold out shows at Venues such as Caroline and Meow, and played alongside bands such as Mako Road and Mild Orange.

Corduroy. have two singles released on all streaming platforms, with their first single The Usual already gaining over 50,000 streams on Spotify. Their new single Waiting Game has recently been released, be sure to check them out!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corduroy.

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corduroy..

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem