24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Corduroy. - EP Review: Good Intentions

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Corduroy.’s new EP is a journey through that demonstrates the bands ability to write catchy songs that are also deep and entertaining. A lot of today’s popular music is bombarded with the same sort of sounding songs, while Corduroy. sound modern and popular but buck that trend with clever arrangements and silky smooth vocals.

From the moment Good Intentions starts you can hear the influence of Arctic Monkeys in a subtle nod with the timbre of the guitar and the riff in general. Riffs are a standout amongst the first two songs. Even still, there is a lot more happening in each song than just a riff. Pay attention to the funky bass, tight drumming or the low level synth lurking in the background. It showcases craftsmanship.

Loose Ends is a little slower and has a prominent bass line that perfectly settles down to lead into the vocal. Very much soul inspired, the verse is a true calm before the storm. The chorus opens up sonically which is a feast for the ears. The shuffle on the drums before heading back into verse 2 gets my thumbs up. I’m a big fan of when shuffles are used well.

All the while there is this eerie X-files synth vibe going on in the verses. It all adds to mood of Loose Ends which is the stand out track to me, it has so much going on but all done in moderation. When played live, I would expect the coda to really develop and blow up. I will need to hear it live.

Closing the EP, Childish Dreams is a ballad that works its way through a chord progression in the chorus that would get a nod from any songwriter. All the while, the instrumental arrangements help to create a mood that matches the lyrical content and title. Singing about drinking and dreaming up big plans, this song will resonate with those of us who know this feeling all too well.

Overall, the EP is a showcase of Corduroy. It gives us a taste of what is to come. A great listen and one I recommend to all.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Corduroy.

Corduroy. are a 5 piece band formed in 2017 in Wellington, New Zealand.

Since forming, they have gained a large following in Wellington, and a loyal fan base all around New Zealand. They have played sold out shows at Venues such as Caroline and Meow, and played alongside bands such as Mako Road and Mild Orange.

Corduroy. have two singles released on all streaming platforms, with their first single The Usual already gaining over 50,000 streams on Spotify. Their new single Waiting Game has recently been released, be sure to check them out!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Corduroy.

Releases

There are no releases to display for Corduroy..

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem