18 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous). I love it when raw energy is captured live and this song sounds just like that.

Driven not just by guitar or bass, but by the whole band, this song is a blues rock song with catchy melodies to boot. Tight musicianship is evident here, as is the chemistry that exists between the three members. At times the lyrics are little hard to hear but I didn’t mind. I was caught up in the experience of hearing a killer riff going from guitar to bass, and the exploration of where that riff can take a band.  The vocal delivery is real and authentic, it’s fun to listen to and I could totally see myself on the dance floor boogying along.

This is a song that will speak to people. The whole idea of being able to laugh at yourself seems to be one of the messages here and I can relate. ‘I look at myself and I shake my head.’  It’s cool. It’s catchy. It’s what blues rock should sound like. 

With a tasty blues solo breakdown to boot, this song is an absolute banger. One of my favourite tracks this year and one I need to hear live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Violet Highway

Violet Highway is a female fronted three piece that plies a fiery blend of Rock, Pop and Blues that will leave you torn between dancing up a storm and drunk texting your ex.

They match passionate lyrics with catchy melodies and powerful instrumentation. Lead vocalist Jacqui Munro belts out a tone described by listeners as "PJ Harvey meets Joan Jett" alongside her own gritty guitar work. The band’s rhythm section is defined by attention grabbing bass riffs from Ant Deane and heavy, energetic drumming from James Rimmer.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Violet Highway

Releases

Breathe
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Violet Highway
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem