1 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous). I love it when raw energy is captured live and this song sounds just like that.

Driven not just by guitar or bass, but by the whole band, this song is a blues rock song with catchy melodies to boot. Tight musicianship is evident here, as is the chemistry that exists between the three members. At times the lyrics are little hard to hear but I didn’t mind. I was caught up in the experience of hearing a killer riff going from guitar to bass, and the exploration of where that riff can take a band.  The vocal delivery is real and authentic, it’s fun to listen to and I could totally see myself on the dance floor boogying along.

This is a song that will speak to people. The whole idea of being able to laugh at yourself seems to be one of the messages here and I can relate. ‘I look at myself and I shake my head.’  It’s cool. It’s catchy. It’s what blues rock should sound like. 

With a tasty blues solo breakdown to boot, this song is an absolute banger. One of my favourite tracks this year and one I need to hear live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Violet Highway

Violet Highway is a female fronted three piece that plies a fiery blend of Rock, Pop and Blues that will leave you torn between dancing up a storm and drunk texting your ex.

They match passionate lyrics with catchy melodies and powerful instrumentation. Lead vocalist Jacqui Munro belts out a tone described by listeners as "PJ Harvey meets Joan Jett" alongside her own gritty guitar work. The band’s rhythm section is defined by attention grabbing bass riffs from Ant Deane and heavy, energetic drumming from James Rimmer.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Violet Highway

Releases

Breathe
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Violet Highway
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem