6 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous). I love it when raw energy is captured live and this song sounds just like that.

Driven not just by guitar or bass, but by the whole band, this song is a blues rock song with catchy melodies to boot. Tight musicianship is evident here, as is the chemistry that exists between the three members. At times the lyrics are little hard to hear but I didn’t mind. I was caught up in the experience of hearing a killer riff going from guitar to bass, and the exploration of where that riff can take a band.  The vocal delivery is real and authentic, it’s fun to listen to and I could totally see myself on the dance floor boogying along.

This is a song that will speak to people. The whole idea of being able to laugh at yourself seems to be one of the messages here and I can relate. ‘I look at myself and I shake my head.’  It’s cool. It’s catchy. It’s what blues rock should sound like. 

With a tasty blues solo breakdown to boot, this song is an absolute banger. One of my favourite tracks this year and one I need to hear live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Violet Highway

Violet Highway is a female fronted three piece that plies a fiery blend of Rock, Pop and Blues that will leave you torn between dancing up a storm and drunk texting your ex.

They match passionate lyrics with catchy melodies and powerful instrumentation. Lead vocalist Jacqui Munro belts out a tone described by listeners as "PJ Harvey meets Joan Jett" alongside her own gritty guitar work. The band’s rhythm section is defined by attention grabbing bass riffs from Ant Deane and heavy, energetic drumming from James Rimmer.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Violet Highway

Releases

Breathe
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Violet Highway
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
Outside In - Album Review: Karmatrain
17 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut release from Outside In is incredible, and it's currently up there as of the greatest debuts from a New Zealand band. Ok, let me explain.
Read More...
Dharma Dan - EP Review: Sotapatti
12 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
On the latest release, Sotapatti, from Dharma Dan, the artist finds himself with a set of beats reminiscent of the early New York hip-hop scene. Over the top, Dharma Dan lays down cool, chilled and thoughtful lyrics; "Just a drop of h2o just trying to find its way home to the ocean".
Read More...
Demons of Noon - EP Review: The Summoning
30 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Doom rock, metal or whatever you want to call it has been a fascination of mine since hearing it on a Guitar Hero game a while ago as a young lad. There was something about that wall of sound guitar and bass sludge sound that was almost hypnotic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem