14 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head

03 Oct 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous). I love it when raw energy is captured live and this song sounds just like that.

Driven not just by guitar or bass, but by the whole band, this song is a blues rock song with catchy melodies to boot. Tight musicianship is evident here, as is the chemistry that exists between the three members. At times the lyrics are little hard to hear but I didn’t mind. I was caught up in the experience of hearing a killer riff going from guitar to bass, and the exploration of where that riff can take a band.  The vocal delivery is real and authentic, it’s fun to listen to and I could totally see myself on the dance floor boogying along.

This is a song that will speak to people. The whole idea of being able to laugh at yourself seems to be one of the messages here and I can relate. ‘I look at myself and I shake my head.’  It’s cool. It’s catchy. It’s what blues rock should sound like. 

With a tasty blues solo breakdown to boot, this song is an absolute banger. One of my favourite tracks this year and one I need to hear live.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Violet Highway

Violet Highway is a female fronted three piece that plies a fiery blend of Rock, Pop and Blues that will leave you torn between dancing up a storm and drunk texting your ex.

They match passionate lyrics with catchy melodies and powerful instrumentation. Lead vocalist Jacqui Munro belts out a tone described by listeners as "PJ Harvey meets Joan Jett" alongside her own gritty guitar work. The band’s rhythm section is defined by attention grabbing bass riffs from Ant Deane and heavy, energetic drumming from James Rimmer.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Violet Highway

Releases

Breathe
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Violet Highway
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem