28 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019

27 Sep 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.

It's always nice to get a friendly welcome when turning up to a local show, and as is the way of any underground scene, the band members are hands-on running their show.

Anthology, situated on K Rd, is a small to medium-sized venue where concrete, large metal pipes and chandeliers collide. It has a small but well-equipped bar and with friendly staff. The venue has a chic industrial vibe and I wondered how heavy bands were going to sound in this concrete/glass room and as predicted the sound was a little harsh/thin but nonetheless it was still better than some other comparable small venues I've been to.

To kick this evening's entertainment off are local five-piece Outside In. Lead singer Mikey Brown, rocking a demented accountant look before changing into a bathrobe, was very entertaining indeed. My first impressions of these guys are whilst technically proficient, they just need to work on song structures a little more, it was little hard to grasp onto any meaty choruses and unfortunately the vocals and guitars were a little thin in the mix which didn't help matters, but I do think this band have great potential, and I do like the psychedelic prog-rock direction which seems to translate better in their recorded material than live.

Next up were noisy three-piece Animalhead. I've played a couple of shows with these guys before so I knew what I was in for. These dudes seriously have enough energy between them to power a small town. I'm a big fan of the 90's sound and these guys bring the good parts of that era together in a very dynamic and energetic way, think Rage Against The Machine grooves mixed with Helmet type riffing and with a lashing of dessert rock thrown in for good measure and you'll get the cut of their gib. Drummer Dan hilariously rocking a large Panda head for the first track showcasing their humorous side, these guys kick into high gear right from the get-go. Highlights were Stoneface Killer and Rabbit Hole, a tight set with a tonne of energy, definitely check these guys out live if you haven't already, well worth it.

Crooked Royals were up next, and whilst I'm not a fan of this style of earnest screamo metal, I can see why people who dig this genre would like these guys. Their show featured two tag-teaming vocalists and technically these young guys were very proficient at their instruments, but I feel their music was lost a little with a thin mix, for some reason the guitars and bottom end were a little lost in that room.

Even though Crooked Royals are not my cup of tea they played with a lot of energy and were tight and focused. For fans of screamo math metal, this band will float your boat for sure.

Now for the main event. My band Hunt The Witch played a gig with Coridian back in 2015 and I have to say I didn't get them back then, but it's amazing what time and evolving your sound does to a band. What impressed me about these guys is that their songwriting has improved tenfold.

Live, they are a tight beast. Kraven and Ribs provide a solid bottom base to the cake for Mikee (Guitar) and Dity (Vocals) to throw their sweet icing over the top. Especially impressive was Dity's grasp of emotion and melody all the while smiling away, having the time of his life performing, you feel that he is passionate about what he's singing and believes in it and is not simply going through the motions.

Playing choices cuts from 2017's Caldera, including the excellent track Seed, Coridian also treated us to a cool new track called Redefine and a rousing rendition of 2018's Better Off before ending the set with this writer's favourite track Reflections; a song with a chorus that could easily fill any stadium. One final tune for the encore, we were treated to a sweet new track called Rite Of Passage, and it's a little ripper. Rite Of Passage is due to be released very soon, and it's sure to delight Coridian's fans.

In this genre of alt melodic hard rock these guys lead the way in New Zealand, and now that Blindspott has left the building these dudes could easily fill that void given the right opportunities. If their next album is as good as the songs debuted at this show then they can certainly reach the lofty heights they are seeking and deserve. Good luck to them I say!


Photos courtesy of Chris Morgan/Morgan Creative

 

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four-piece Auckland based who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

They've worked with some of the best names in NZ and Australian music including Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City Of Souls), Paul Lawrence (His Master’s Voice), Forrester Savell (Karnivool, Shihad) and Ermin Hamidovic (Architects/Intervals).

They've toured extensively around NZ, including their own headlining tours and performing with high profile NZ acts such as Devilskin, City of Souls, I Am Giant, Skinny Hobos and Written by Wolves, as well as international acts such as P.O.D (USA), Fuel (USA), Fozzy (USA), Sumo Cyco (CAN) & Red Sea (AUS).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Gig Review: Gramsci @ ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland - 16/10/2020
18 Oct 2020 // by Jason Peters
The anticipation was high for this show for two reasons. One, it was the first gig out for us since Auckland was locked down for the second time this year.
Read More...
Sonar.Suite - Single Review: Flip Siide
09 Sep 2020 // by Jason Peters
Flip Siide kicks off with a lone chilled blues guitar before a sweet vocal style similar to Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes) kicks into gear. Brendon Thomas is the mastermind behind this slippery little funk number.
Read More...
The Vibes - Single Review: Funk Blaster
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
Hot of the press this latest offering from The Vibes. Funk Blaster is a tribute to James Brown and the Red Hot Chili Peppers and it's a great big slice of funky fun.
Read More...
SOJØURN - Single Review: Stand Up
20 Aug 2020 // by Jason Peters
As with a lot of established and up and coming Kiwi artists, the pandemic that is Covid-19 has thrown a spanner in the works for recording, releases and live shows and SOJØURN have also been in the same boat. But here it is, the latest offering from these young Northland lads.
Read More...
Summer Thieves - EP Review: Bandaids and Lipstick
30 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Much like their contemporaries Six60, Summer Thieves started from humble beginnings in Dunedin many moons ago. Starting as a high school band of sorts, Jake and Johnny have been jamming together since the ripe age of 15.
Read More...
Gig Review: L.A.B. @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 3/07/2020
05 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
First off, congrats to L.A.
Read More...
Sola Rosa - Single Review: For The Mighty Dollar Feat. Kevin Mark Trail
01 Jul 2020 // by Jason Peters
Sola Rosa aka Andrew Spraggon is in a unique position in his career to be able to collaborate with some of the planet's best musicians, and on the second single from the forthcoming album Chasing The Sun he has hit the musical jackpot. The track kicks off with horns, sparse funk guitar and classic strings before kicking into the cool and catchy chorus.
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem