18 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019

27 Sep 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.

It's always nice to get a friendly welcome when turning up to a local show, and as is the way of any underground scene, the band members are hands-on running their show.

Anthology, situated on K Rd, is a small to medium-sized venue where concrete, large metal pipes and chandeliers collide. It has a small but well-equipped bar and with friendly staff. The venue has a chic industrial vibe and I wondered how heavy bands were going to sound in this concrete/glass room and as predicted the sound was a little harsh/thin but nonetheless it was still better than some other comparable small venues I've been to.

To kick this evening's entertainment off are local five-piece Outside In. Lead singer Mikey Brown, rocking a demented accountant look before changing into a bathrobe, was very entertaining indeed. My first impressions of these guys are whilst technically proficient, they just need to work on song structures a little more, it was little hard to grasp onto any meaty choruses and unfortunately the vocals and guitars were a little thin in the mix which didn't help matters, but I do think this band have great potential, and I do like the psychedelic prog-rock direction which seems to translate better in their recorded material than live.

Next up were noisy three-piece Animalhead. I've played a couple of shows with these guys before so I knew what I was in for. These dudes seriously have enough energy between them to power a small town. I'm a big fan of the 90's sound and these guys bring the good parts of that era together in a very dynamic and energetic way, think Rage Against The Machine grooves mixed with Helmet type riffing and with a lashing of dessert rock thrown in for good measure and you'll get the cut of their gib. Drummer Dan hilariously rocking a large Panda head for the first track showcasing their humorous side, these guys kick into high gear right from the get-go. Highlights were Stoneface Killer and Rabbit Hole, a tight set with a tonne of energy, definitely check these guys out live if you haven't already, well worth it.

Crooked Royals were up next, and whilst I'm not a fan of this style of earnest screamo metal, I can see why people who dig this genre would like these guys. Their show featured two tag-teaming vocalists and technically these young guys were very proficient at their instruments, but I feel their music was lost a little with a thin mix, for some reason the guitars and bottom end were a little lost in that room.

Even though Crooked Royals are not my cup of tea they played with a lot of energy and were tight and focused. For fans of screamo math metal, this band will float your boat for sure.

Now for the main event. My band Hunt The Witch played a gig with Coridian back in 2015 and I have to say I didn't get them back then, but it's amazing what time and evolving your sound does to a band. What impressed me about these guys is that their songwriting has improved tenfold.

Live, they are a tight beast. Kraven and Ribs provide a solid bottom base to the cake for Mikee (Guitar) and Dity (Vocals) to throw their sweet icing over the top. Especially impressive was Dity's grasp of emotion and melody all the while smiling away, having the time of his life performing, you feel that he is passionate about what he's singing and believes in it and is not simply going through the motions.

Playing choices cuts from 2017's Caldera, including the excellent track Seed, Coridian also treated us to a cool new track called Redefine and a rousing rendition of 2018's Better Off before ending the set with this writer's favourite track Reflections; a song with a chorus that could easily fill any stadium. One final tune for the encore, we were treated to a sweet new track called Rite Of Passage, and it's a little ripper. Rite Of Passage is due to be released very soon, and it's sure to delight Coridian's fans.

In this genre of alt melodic hard rock these guys lead the way in New Zealand, and now that Blindspott has left the building these dudes could easily fill that void given the right opportunities. If their next album is as good as the songs debuted at this show then they can certainly reach the lofty heights they are seeking and deserve. Good luck to them I say!


Photos courtesy of Chris Morgan/Morgan Creative

 

About Coridian

Better Off equals growth, change and adapting:

Better Off represents the next chapter for NZ’s Alt Rock brothers Coridian. This brand-new single is the beginning of Coridian’s new song cycle and the work towards their debut album, set for release in 2019. Better Off was produced by Zorran Mendonsa (Blacklistt/City of Souls) who worked on last year’s release Caldera and mastered by Systematic Productions (Architects/Intervals).

The song has been recently applauded in front of huge NZ audiences, as the band has come off recent tour cycles with Devilskin, Skinny Hobos and playing main support to US rockers POD at their Auckland show.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
Pale Lady - Single Review: Never Gonna Be This Way Again
27 Aug 2019 // by Jason Peters
Winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands Pale Lady hit us with their latest creation called Never Gonna Be This Way Again. I can see why they won that competition because these young fellas know how to craft a tune and they're all kick ass at their chosen instruments.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem