28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Medusa Glare - Single Review: A Mind Reborn

26 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Medusa Glare. Note that down. No. Not later. NOW!


One of the best parts of being a music reviewer is getting introduced to new music from people that pour their hearts and soul into their work, artists that take all of their influences and bring it all together to make it their own.

And damn, Medusa Glare, why haven’t I heard of you before?

Their new track A Mind Reborn is an absolute banger. It takes everything I personally love about groove rock and throws it into a mixer, adds their own character to it and then presents it to the world.

From that bone-crunching riff that starts the track, you instantly know that these guys mean business and have a real understanding of the elements that make rock, well, rock. Even the simple things, like solid drumming that cuts through the mix, vocals that soar with passion and clarity. It all adds up. Steve Anderton has one of the best voices I have heard in rock recently. It reminds me of Ian from Deep Purple, the way he can hold belt throughout the song, yet showcase so much dynamic.

Pay attention to the details and you will hear so much happening. The tight playing on bass with the fills that add depth to the song where needed. The organ that sits in the back on the chorus but without it, that chorus wouldn’t be the same. Even things like the chords, the 7th chord after that accent. That perfectly played and well thought out guitar solo. I could just keep going on listing the gems I found here, but I would prefer it if you went and cranked it up to 11 and found them yourselves.

Medusa Glare. I added them to my playlist and will definitely be telling my class about the band today.

Incredible stuff boys!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Medusa Glare

Medusa Glare are an exciting and powerful new rock outfit.
This ambitious group was formed in Hamilton, New Zealand in 2014 by Simon Koretz-guitar/vocals, and Rick Walker-drums. They released their debut single and video "No Tomorrow" in April 2014.
The intention was always to source a fitting frontman and bassist, and within months the line -up was complete with the addition of the incredible Jason Galu on lead vocals and Nathan Waters on bass and back-up vocals.
Combining contemporary sounds with hard hitting old school rock, they deliver the perfect blend of groove and melody. Catchy hooks, driving rhythms and killer riffs are plentiful in their repertoire of exceptional original music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Medusa Glare

Releases

Medusa Glare
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Take The Fall
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Night Bus - Single Review: Fine Lines
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest track Fine Lines from self-described electronic bedroom pop artist Night Bus is a chill affair. It is a song that builds upon a simple melodic idea and explores it while a consistent beat runs through the background.
Read More...
Justin Sane - Album Review: Rising w/ Huz
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Justin Sane has been DJing at clubs and events around the world since 1997, released countless remixes and bootlegs on numerous labels, hosted Party Hard Mix on The Edge for 5 years and had singles in the Top 20 New Zealand Singles Chart. In 2020, Justin Sane again teamed up with fellow singer/Songwriter Huz and began releasing music again, both tracks of which ended up in the #3 dance singles on iTunes and in the Top 30 overall NZ singles, one reaching the #10 spot.
Read More...
Stu J - Single Review: Destination Unknown
29 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A Kiwi-born musician, producer and DJ, Stu J loves to create energetic, up-beat indie-dance songs which have an electronic feel, but still include the best parts of rock and pop. His current music feels similar to artists like MGMT and Empire of the Sun.
Read More...
SuperFly Killa - Single Review: Hold I Down
10 Dec 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
A vast array of interests, influences, and experiences have come together in an amalgamation of soul, reggae, Dub, and rock. SuperFly Killa are a fresh new sound who reside on the sunny shores of Gisborne, NZHold I Down is a fantastic, fantastic track!
Read More...
Rei - Album Review: Enjoy The Ride
29 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Enjoy The Ride showcases Rei’s diversity and prowess as a musician and producer with its mix of rap, pop, R&B and UK flavour, it’s a fusion of innovative styles. Written over the past 2 years, mixed and mastered by Kog Studio’s Chris Chetland and supported by NZ On Air, this project is a musical ride in itself.
Read More...
EP Review: Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery
06 Nov 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean and The Zooks - Live At The Surgery EP is a hat tip to live hip-hop. The band is super tight with wonderful guitar licks working wonderfully over top of the rhythm section.
Read More...
Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem