30 Mar 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe

18 Sep 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe.

The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat. The first thing that came into my head as I started listening to this track and watching the video was how well mixed the track is. Surprise surprise, it’s engineered and mixed by Dave Rhodes.

Dave and I go way back as we’ve worked together many times, and I can tell you, he is nothing short of a perfectionist. He has worked with Blindspott, Head Like A Hole, Push Push and heaps of others, so there's no surprises that he has captured Ginzu and the Steak Knives' sound perfectly.

It’s been mastered by Luke Finlay from Primal Mastering, and he’s done a great job at not over-compressing and losing any of the sound spectrum.

The video is dark. Really dark. It’s so moody. If you shut your eyes for a second, I’d almost place Lemmy from Motorhead at the front of the band and he wouldn’t be out of place at all. The video is really very cool, really moody, a bit stabby, and involves a dude getting kicked in the nuts, which is all you could want in a music video from my perspective.

The storyline looks to me like a guy breaking out of a satanic style ritual, having won the fight to walk straight into the arms of a much bigger battle.

My only criticism (and it's probably not really one, but I'm being pretty picky here) – I would have liked the colour grading just to be a little brighter so you could see a little more of what’s going on, it's just a touch dark, however, that could totally be the monitor on my computer.

I have to say, I think they’ve matched the story & style of the vid perfectly to the gutsy raw feel that you get out of the song, which I might add is absolutely killer! The tune is a ripper, and I found myself listening it about 10 times back to back without getting sick of it. It’s got a massive amount of energy, and all of the chops are so clean. As a drummer I have to think about how much time got sunk into getting all the double kicks in sync because there is quite a lot of it going on! (AWESOME).

Definitely check this track out. It’s absolutely sick.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ginzu and the Steak Knives

Ginzu and the Steak Knives are a 3 piece band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Their loud, yet catchy songs showcase punk, metal, and doom riffs that will smash your face in, and beats that will melt your brain.

Formed in 2015.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ginzu and the Steak Knives

Releases

Kavanak
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Final Form
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Ginzu In Charge
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Adventure Time
Year: 2015
Type: EP
Murder She Scrote
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl
06 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem