21 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences. And the new EP from Echo Ohs has done just that. Wild Weeds is a psychedelic trip that pays dividends with multiple listens.

The recording quality is key to this. It sounds live like any good band should. With a solid rhythm section made up to tight drums, smooth bass lines and wonderful guitar work, it lays the foundations for the vocal to sit well in the mix. Not up front, but there and perfectly placed. The delivery is distorted at times, heavily uses echo but so well. Its art man. I just wanna flick off the lights and dance around, let the music touch my soul. This is exactly what music should do!

I feel like I am sifting through my dad's record collection again and finding his 70's music. It's got a classic feel to it and it has depth. Lots going on that is worth paying attention to. I'm in love.

The standout tracks for me were Anna Ant and Dog Bone. These two are damn good, but the EP as a whole is incredible. So many musical jams going on in each song highlights the bands tightness and ability to communicate musically with each other. Music doesn't have to be about vocals all the time and Echo Ohs understand this by showcasing how they keep my attention with the breakdowns, like in The Crawl. This is a band I need to see and hear live.

Overall, the EP is a standout among a lot of today's music. It's a throwback to the psychedelic rock era. This is an EP that showcases every members musical talents and understanding of how to write catchy songs that have so many layers.

Wonderful work. I want to hear more please.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Echo Ohs.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

And$um - Single Review: Look At Me
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The beginning of Look At Me confused me at first. The vocal delivery seemed dull and with low energy, but by the time the raps kick in, it has definitely picked up and raised the level.
Read More...
Sam V - Single Review: Shawty
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The production is very slick on Shawty, the new track from Sam V. The vibe and the melodic idea captures you right from the get-go; and there's a real middle eastern vibe to it.
Read More...
Robbie Scott - Single Review: Gaze
10 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
One of the most inspiring things about songwriting is it allows for the listener to hear into the world of another artist. Such is the experience of new song Gaze from Robbie Scott.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Man On Mars
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Man On Mars is the latest single from Tony Lee.A mix between a sort of country vibe and rock, this song is well written, recorded and arranged.
Read More...
Fat Freddy's Drop @ Western Springs, Auckland - 18/01/2020
24 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
If you haven't seen Fat Freddy's Drop before, like I had not, you need to get out and see them.Walking around the crowd it was awesome to see so many parents bring their kids along to it.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Tyre Tracks In The Sky
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
“You left this world with tyre tracks in the sky.” The new single from Saurian opens with this line and it sets the tone for the song, a story about living life with no regrets.
Read More...
EP Review: Lizard Prom
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Lizard Prom is visceral. Really.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Album Review: Back Where We Started
01 Jan 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Marina Bloom’s newest album, Back Where We Started is a rock solid modern contemporary record.Starting with the title track, the upbeat pop rock creates an upbeat feel with a catch melody, driving electric guitars and a very catchy chorus.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem