27 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences. And the new EP from Echo Ohs has done just that. Wild Weeds is a psychedelic trip that pays dividends with multiple listens.

The recording quality is key to this. It sounds live like any good band should. With a solid rhythm section made up to tight drums, smooth bass lines and wonderful guitar work, it lays the foundations for the vocal to sit well in the mix. Not up front, but there and perfectly placed. The delivery is distorted at times, heavily uses echo but so well. Its art man. I just wanna flick off the lights and dance around, let the music touch my soul. This is exactly what music should do!

I feel like I am sifting through my dad's record collection again and finding his 70's music. It's got a classic feel to it and it has depth. Lots going on that is worth paying attention to. I'm in love.

The standout tracks for me were Anna Ant and Dog Bone. These two are damn good, but the EP as a whole is incredible. So many musical jams going on in each song highlights the bands tightness and ability to communicate musically with each other. Music doesn't have to be about vocals all the time and Echo Ohs understand this by showcasing how they keep my attention with the breakdowns, like in The Crawl. This is a band I need to see and hear live.

Overall, the EP is a standout among a lot of today's music. It's a throwback to the psychedelic rock era. This is an EP that showcases every members musical talents and understanding of how to write catchy songs that have so many layers.

Wonderful work. I want to hear more please.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away
10 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ah. That's refreshing.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem