24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences. And the new EP from Echo Ohs has done just that. Wild Weeds is a psychedelic trip that pays dividends with multiple listens.

The recording quality is key to this. It sounds live like any good band should. With a solid rhythm section made up to tight drums, smooth bass lines and wonderful guitar work, it lays the foundations for the vocal to sit well in the mix. Not up front, but there and perfectly placed. The delivery is distorted at times, heavily uses echo but so well. Its art man. I just wanna flick off the lights and dance around, let the music touch my soul. This is exactly what music should do!

I feel like I am sifting through my dad's record collection again and finding his 70's music. It's got a classic feel to it and it has depth. Lots going on that is worth paying attention to. I'm in love.

The standout tracks for me were Anna Ant and Dog Bone. These two are damn good, but the EP as a whole is incredible. So many musical jams going on in each song highlights the bands tightness and ability to communicate musically with each other. Music doesn't have to be about vocals all the time and Echo Ohs understand this by showcasing how they keep my attention with the breakdowns, like in The Crawl. This is a band I need to see and hear live.

Overall, the EP is a standout among a lot of today's music. It's a throwback to the psychedelic rock era. This is an EP that showcases every members musical talents and understanding of how to write catchy songs that have so many layers.

Wonderful work. I want to hear more please.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem