13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences. And the new EP from Echo Ohs has done just that. Wild Weeds is a psychedelic trip that pays dividends with multiple listens.

The recording quality is key to this. It sounds live like any good band should. With a solid rhythm section made up to tight drums, smooth bass lines and wonderful guitar work, it lays the foundations for the vocal to sit well in the mix. Not up front, but there and perfectly placed. The delivery is distorted at times, heavily uses echo but so well. Its art man. I just wanna flick off the lights and dance around, let the music touch my soul. This is exactly what music should do!

I feel like I am sifting through my dad's record collection again and finding his 70's music. It's got a classic feel to it and it has depth. Lots going on that is worth paying attention to. I'm in love.

The standout tracks for me were Anna Ant and Dog Bone. These two are damn good, but the EP as a whole is incredible. So many musical jams going on in each song highlights the bands tightness and ability to communicate musically with each other. Music doesn't have to be about vocals all the time and Echo Ohs understand this by showcasing how they keep my attention with the breakdowns, like in The Crawl. This is a band I need to see and hear live.

Overall, the EP is a standout among a lot of today's music. It's a throwback to the psychedelic rock era. This is an EP that showcases every members musical talents and understanding of how to write catchy songs that have so many layers.

Wonderful work. I want to hear more please.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Echo Ohs.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019
26 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Powerstation, Auckland - 19/10/2019
20 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Rock is alive in well. The sea of black was ready for rock at the Powerstation tonight.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: Picture Undefined
17 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Response’s new song Picture Undefined is a blend of pop, alt rock and electronic music that works brilliantly. The guitar tone, the way it’s played and how the effects are layered help build an atmosphere which is wonderfully captured in the video shot by Johnny Knopp.
Read More...
Corduroy. - EP Review: Good Intentions
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy.’s new EP is a journey through that demonstrates the bands ability to write catchy songs that are also deep and entertaining.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll. One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song.
Read More...
Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous).
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem