18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.

From the moment the piano introduces us to the song, there is an ear for detail in to how the vocals sit in the mix. Care has been taken in every way; from the string arrangement that swells in and out, the light snare brushes and the vocal delivery itself. It is all perfectly captures and expressed in the song. This only adds to the effect of the song. I can feel the desire Marina has to spend time with someone else in Sydney. The vocal is truly the standout in this beautiful ballad. And yet, that doesn't mean anyone else gets less attention. Together, it's a whole team effort to tell this story.

Structure is used perfectly as any ballad should. Build up in the first chorus slightly, have a bridge that pays off and then a final chorus to follow. It is pop ballad perfection. Suspended chords help create then sense of tension, use of chords in a progression that is not A-Typical all help write this postcard from Sydney.

Absolutely one of the most heartfelt songs I have heard in a long time. The problem with ballads sometimes is that they lose authenticity, yet, Marina Bloom has delivered one that is real and truly emotive.

I will be showing this one to my seniors at my school. A perfect ballad. A perfect song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name
31 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Context. It is everything.
Read More...
Gig Review: Kings @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 24/08/2019
25 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
If you had told me that the ‘sold out’ Kings show at the Tuning Fork in Auckland was the last date on his very first tour, I would have probably slapped you. Why?
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz
17 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem