13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney

11 Sep 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.

From the moment the piano introduces us to the song, there is an ear for detail in to how the vocals sit in the mix. Care has been taken in every way; from the string arrangement that swells in and out, the light snare brushes and the vocal delivery itself. It is all perfectly captures and expressed in the song. This only adds to the effect of the song. I can feel the desire Marina has to spend time with someone else in Sydney. The vocal is truly the standout in this beautiful ballad. And yet, that doesn't mean anyone else gets less attention. Together, it's a whole team effort to tell this story.

Structure is used perfectly as any ballad should. Build up in the first chorus slightly, have a bridge that pays off and then a final chorus to follow. It is pop ballad perfection. Suspended chords help create then sense of tension, use of chords in a progression that is not A-Typical all help write this postcard from Sydney.

Absolutely one of the most heartfelt songs I have heard in a long time. The problem with ballads sometimes is that they lose authenticity, yet, Marina Bloom has delivered one that is real and truly emotive.

I will be showing this one to my seniors at my school. A perfect ballad. A perfect song.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Marina Bloom and her band Moving Stuff are an experienced group of musicians of diverse backgrounds playing an eclectic blend of original songs.

Marina grew up in Russia singing and performing the traditional songs of her homeland. She continued singing after migrating to New Zealand. In the last couple of years she discovered songwriting and started collaborating with a local lyricist, Michael Davis and they’ve now penned over 60 songs, many of which have been recorded.

Her debut album When I Am Gone was released in Dec 2016 via New Zealand label Lost By Design. Currently getting a regular airplay on Radio NZ.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff

Releases

When I Am Gone
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Sequence Two: Our Secret, Silent Storms
11 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
I remember it vividly. I woke up on the ground, face down, looking directly under my dresser.
Read More...
EP Review: Screw Jack III
04 Nov 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Yes. Christmas is coming.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss Used @ Ophir Street, Auckland - 26/10/2019
26 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Miss Used is a group that you should take notice of. Powerful, driving rhythms are just one part of their blues rock influenced sound.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Powerstation, Auckland - 19/10/2019
20 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Rock is alive in well. The sea of black was ready for rock at the Powerstation tonight.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: Picture Undefined
17 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Response’s new song Picture Undefined is a blend of pop, alt rock and electronic music that works brilliantly. The guitar tone, the way it’s played and how the effects are layered help build an atmosphere which is wonderfully captured in the video shot by Johnny Knopp.
Read More...
Corduroy. - EP Review: Good Intentions
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy.’s new EP is a journey through that demonstrates the bands ability to write catchy songs that are also deep and entertaining.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: The Enemy
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Enemy is the new track from Arrays, the studio project headed up by JP Carroll. One of the most important elements of rock is to have a riff that stands out and cuts clear through the mix so you get a feel for the song.
Read More...
Violet Highway - Single Review: Shake My Head
03 Oct 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Violet Highway’s new song Shake My Head had me smiling. It’s nice and exciting to hear a band having fun and giving a nod to some of my favourite artists (which will remain anonymous).
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem