24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin

09 Sep 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.

First off in true Punk fashion this song does not pull any punches and the lyrics are crass, so if you are looking for a “nice” wee tune you came to the wrong place.

Napkin is full of surprises, described as being “firmly in the punk rock genre with a pretty classic soft/loud 90's curve”. It is in your face loud vocals shouting “I’m gonna use you like a napkin…then throw you away”, it is fast paced with a great hook, it is catchy and energetic and I can see why it would be a crowd favourite. I can practically feel the body slamming, hair flying, head nodding hordes getting down and dirty to this ripper.

In other words, I really liked the energy of this song.

Bittercup is the “personal catharsis machine” of Callum Wagstaff. “Growing up with chronic kidney disease informs much of Bittercup’s musical and tonal character, both directly and indirectly”. Working on perfecting the performances for two months, he went on to sacrifice body and mind recording and documenting the whole song in one day of free studio time. Receiving a kidney transplant in late 2018 he can now commit himself to performing regularly and has also began recording songs he had been making demos of since he became ill. I personally look forward to hearing what he has on offer.

This is a lively, bold single which slashes it back to the bare bones with the lyrics. Tinged with a slightly dark brush but delivered on point. Fervent Intense outbursts add to the energetic vibe of this song. “He’s frail. Like a buttercup, but he’s not happy about it”.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Bittercup

He’s frail, like a buttercup, but he’s not happy about it.

Bittercup is the personal catharsis machine of Callum Wagstaff. He hates himself and has found people enjoy the fruits of his shameful confessions, related in sweet serenades, intense outbursts and rarely anything in between.

Bittercup (Wagstaff) started out fronting a band of the same name in 2015 before ailing health and renal dialysis forced him to give it up. Despite that he continued to write music and work the New Plymouth scene as regularly as he could in local cover bands Dodgy Jack (drums), The Feelgood Beatdown (Guitar) and Shed: The Tool Tribute (Vocals).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bittercup

Releases

Negative Space
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem