20 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language

02 Sep 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.


Despite the meteoric rise to fame and a record deal with Sony after the X Factor, Mae Valley parted ways early 2017 leaving Abby to start all over again on her own. She has been working very hard over the last few years both here and in Australia. Her debut single Kiss Me Into Monday was released in April of this year via The Orchard (Sony Music global independent distribution).

Abby has a sweet voice, which suits the Country Pop label. If you Google this genre it will spit out a long list of well know talented artists, the lines are blurry around some of them, but if I mention the likes of Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood or maybe at a pinch Shania Twain, it might give you an idea of Abby Christo’s style of Country Pop Music.

Yes she oozes mass market appeal on many levels. She can also pen some pretty decent radio worthy songs. Abby has spent time in Nashville writing with some of “the greats” this is reflected in her music.

The video which accompanies this single mirrors the song title perfectly. It is uncomplicated and elegant, infused with a whole lot of emotion.

Honeyed vocals delivered with beautiful clarity is what I heard Abby yield on this single. As a now solo artist I believe she will continue to captivate her fans both past and present.

Body Language has shown the world yet again that Abby Christo has certainly found her own groove.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
Isla - EP Review: Weirdo
30 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem