13 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019

01 Sep 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

K Rd is electric!

Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street. It’s only 3 pm, but there is already a buzz in the air as the build-up to The Others Way pt. 5 gets underway.

The many bars are starting to fill and as I sit in The Thirsty Dog people are working out which bands to see and which ones they are gutted they will miss. The line-up gets better every year but with this being the best musical pub crawl in NZ the logistics mean picking 8 to 10 bands that you really want to check out. I have mine locked and loaded and share my humble opinion with a few gents who have travelled up from Tauranga.

The Others Way is about discovery more than anything else. That it sells out every year when it could be argued that most people haven’t heard of most of the acts is a testament to the people at Flying Out who do an amazing job promoting and organising.

First up I head over to the all-ages venue on Pitt Street to check out Mermaidens (pictured) after a tip-off from one of the punters at The Thirsty Dog.

So glad I did. Impossibly young and talented, Mermaidens create a sound that has echoes of The Cure. Their mid-paced and hypnotic set shows huge potential. It wouldn’t sound out of place in a Peaky Blinders soundtrack.

Great start to the evening so I hang around to check out Moon Children. Doing a quick google of Moon Children isn’t recommended as it throws up some questionable sites and whilst they have some tunes they, unfortunately, pale in comparison to Mermaidens.

Darkness has set in and after a quick feed and bumping into familiar old faces I head down to Whammy to catch Miss June. I saw them a couple of months ago in London where they played one of the best gigs I have ever seen. Whammy is packed but it's more of a “quiet before the storm” kind of vibe. I am sitting at the back typing into my phone and then decide to head front and centre.

Miss June enter, then explode with a mixture of joyous energy and angst. The pit starts and bodies collide as the sound bangs off the walls. In a blur of sensory overload, it is all over too quickly as I race back to The Thirsty Dog to catch Sulfate (pictured).

Different venue and a different darker vibe. Peter Ruddle from (Wax Chattels) on Keyboard with just drums as backup creates a menacing soundscape that sucks you in and swallows you whole.

I walk back down to Galatos relaxed but pumped to see Wax Chattels who I first discovered at The Others Way last year. The room is full as Tom starts pummeling his stripped-back drum kit. One of the best drummers in NZ right now I don’t know where he gets the energy (he is also in Miss June)

Once again I am lost in a blur of colliding people and smiling faces as the Key’s cut through a wall of sound. Wax Chattels are one of the most interesting and challenging bands to emerge in recent years and one you need to see.

I am now shattered but there is one personal highlight that I thought I would never get to see.

Back in the 80’s in the UK I was a kid who would fall asleep listening to the legendary John Peel show. One night he played a song that gave me goosebumps. It was called She Speeds.

I went to HMV the next day and bought my first Straitjacket Fits (pictured) album. Eventually I formed a band and to soundcheck my vocals I would (and still do to this day) sing Straitjacket Fits songs. I didn’t even know they were from New Zealand until I moved here in 2003.

I walk into The Studio as they take to the stage and from the first notes I am mesmerised. Almost frozen to the spot. I don’t move and just stare at the stage smile on my face goosebumps on my arms.

Something I will never forget.

Thank you, Shayne Carter, and thank you The Others Way. You are a life-changing experience.


Photos courtesy of Chris Zwaagdyk/Zed Pics
View the full photo gallery here

 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • MY FUTURE
    Billie Eilish
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem