3 Apr 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name

31 Aug 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Context. It is everything. Did you hear something? But under what context does it make sense? To me, the new single Callin' My Name from The Rvmes played me like this. That opening guitar had me hearing one way, but once the bass and drums come in, it's changed. Context.

And just as you think you are listening to the next big reggae soaked, 'summers in the air' vibes song, you start Latin dancing! And it flows so seamlessly that you may just find yourself dancing in a manner you do not normally find yourself doing.

And to throw a spanner in the works, even more, the breakdown section brings it up a whole other notch. All the while, it keeps that sound that you heard right from the get-go.

The sound of the single is vintage yet clear. It's funky, yet vibing with all sorts of different genres. Everything about this single oozes professionalism and a clear understanding of what crafting a song is about. It has a catchy melody and hook "Who's that calling my name? I said I told you once, I will not tell you again." But it also has qualities that reflect a band that understand each other, how to play as a group and how to allow each person to keep their parts interesting without overdoing it and making it hard for the listener to know what to pay attention to. The vocals are clear and have a wonderful tone that brings me back to listening to the John Butler Trio.

Having worked with the legendary Daniel Martin and recording it at Parachute Music in Kingsland, this is a single they should be proud of. It is definitely something you can groove to. And when you get to that bridge, 'Dance.'

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (say it with us 'The Rooms' nice!) is a freshly formed band to the New Zealand scene and are reaching out as far as their little fingertips will reach to pluck the ripe apple of music and share it with everybody they can in New Zealand, and of course, beyond.

Taking everything into consideration from Psychedelic Blues, Gypsy Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Reggae, Soul and many more flavours, they weave together their songs with ultimate freedom and feel.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

There are no releases to display for The RVMES.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

DRXNES - Video Review: Zero
02 Apr 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. This video is an incredible insight into the life of DRXNES.
Read More...
EP Review: Enter Venus
26 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The explosive start of Throw It Away is hard to ignore. Right away, the guitar and bass smashes you in the face with a killer riff, accentuated further by the pounding drums.
Read More...
Column of Sand - EP Review: Head Damage
18 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wide-open space greets the ear from the opening track Head Damage. In the modern world of music, sometimes I forget just how much has changed so it is so nice to hear reverb-soaked guitar lead lines over the top of a driving rhythm section.
Read More...
Kong Fooey - Single Review: Charade
13 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Kong Fooey, Charade, has got a lot going for it. Full of detail and a mash-up of genres I am blown away by how authentic this track is, coupled with its catchy melodies and tasty lead lines sprinkled all over the place.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Dark Horse
06 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
This new single from The Wake Up is a solid pop rock/pop punk track with a fantastic chorus. From the moment Dark Horse starts, you can tell you are about to have a rocking good time and I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Too Late
03 Mar 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Array's newest single Too Late is a solid track that continues the rock sound that JP Carroll is exploring through this solo studio project.From the chugging guitar part that sets up the verse, the focus here is on the lyric with a mantra like 'over and over' repeated after each line.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Swimming
25 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
New Zealand hip-hop is a thriving collection of artists who bring who we are and present it in musical form. The latest track Swimming from The Settlers is a fine example of what NZ can do.
Read More...
Gig Review: Six60 @ Western Springs, Auckland - 22/02/2020
24 Feb 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
"We are the mighty, mighty Six60", proclaims Maitu Walters, lead singer of Six60. And he is in right to say so.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • DEATH BED
    Powfu feat. beabadoobee
  • SUNDAY BEST
    Surfaces
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem