27 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Mojo Alice - Album Review: Liquid Sin

29 Aug 2019 // A review by Peter-James Dries

This is the music that formed me, but I lost my relevance over a decade ago.

In the same way the trickle-down model of wealth means those at the bottom get a kick to the teeth with a leather dress shoe, or how topping up your parent’s bourbon with water gradually dilutes the bottle, the music of each generation after the golden age of rock has progressively devolved.

The coffin’s final nail came when the gatekeepers of the mass music media realised they could tap into the true holders of a household’s purse strings; tweens. This has had the cultural effect of sculling drain cleaner.

But Mojo Alice isn’t a band that play for the media, or the unenlightened held in its thrall. If they were we wouldn’t be hearing music like this. This is a boot stomping blues rock band for fans of music before whinging became cool. A time when we idolised anarchy, not realising that this future world is the physical embodiment. A time when Lemmy was still with us.

Liquid Sin, Mojo Alice’s debut, reminds me of Lemmy. The vocalist has a voice that sounds like she spent a lifetime gargled gravel, yet at the same time has a touch of that whiskey sweetness before the burn hits.

It reminds me of Motorhead in general actually. No pretence, not gimmicks, this album is a tight set that would translate directly to the live stage.

The band play off each other’s strength. The powerful back-breaking, hard-hitting drums, the eye-popping growls and wails behind the microphone, the bone-shattering driving bass, and the face-peeling riffage and shredding licks of the guitar come together as one beast. Obeying the riff and groove, a single big ego in four leather jackets. Hey ho, let’s go Ramones style. Walking out of the mosh pit to pick up their instruments for their set. You don’t hear music like this anymore, not outside a bar.

They’re not here to piss about. Mojo Alice know what they’re doing and they do it well.

It has the unapologetic balls of AC/DC, the darkness and soul of Robert Johnson, and the tightness of Led Zeppelin. It’s music to drink and raise hell to

Dust off your leather jacket. Put on your Doc Martins. Put on Liquid Sin. Rock out. Five out of five.

A free download of the first single Liquid Sin is available here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Mojo Alice

Mojo Alice is an original four-member blues/rock band from Wellington. Formed in May 2016, they a guitar-based rock band with a heavy blue groove. Some of the band's influences include AC/DC, ZZ Top, Motorhead, Pantera, Warlock and Halestorm.

Individually very experienced and proficient musicians in their own right,  collectively the band are a force of nature.  Their following is growing quickly because of the consistently tight energetic live performances and engaging the audience with their infectious riffs, powerful vocals, and heavy grooves.

Brodie, the guitar wizard, defines our theme with the thunderous riffs and magic he performs on the guitar;

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mojo Alice

Releases

Liquid Sin
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
Michael Ferriss and Hedley Marks - Album Review: Interlude In The House Of Life
01 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When released, Ghosts I – IV was one of the more obscure Nine Inch Nails releases in an expansive discography. Instrumental and cinematic, lacking the abrasive angst and grit of all that came before, it felt out of step compared to their previous releases.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem