22 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings

26 Aug 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric videoSomethings.

The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack. Zane has been singing from the age of two and it is reflected in the clear, polished and melodic vocals delivered on this track.

Based in Auckland, Zane has entered and won a variety of singing competitions across the city, branching out to the musical theatre scene from age 12, which explains his flair for aesthetic lyrics and beautiful melodies. His vocal range is impressive which adds to the drama of the track.

Somethings provides a message of hope. It is “not just a song” but heartfelt consideration about the struggles of depression, social anxiety and life in general.

This is a warm soulful track, elegantly delivered.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • DON'T CALL ME ANGEL (CHARLIE'S ANGELS)
    Ariana Grande, Miley Cyrus And Lana Del Rey
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem