3 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds

12 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.

Maybe if you are on hold to Vodafone or some other inane customer support helpline for hours and they are pumping your brain full of 6 Months in a Leaky Boat then shitty speakers are a bit of a godsend preventing serious brain numbing exposure. Music like Exit Wounds though needs to be played at full ear bleed levels.

This is one hell of a tightly wound track. You can feel the pure anger seething beneath the surface ready to spring up and explode. If a song had teeth then Exit Wounds teeth would be tightly clenched with spittle flying as the words punch you in the face.

It is the aural equivalent of going toe to toe with Connor McGregor at a UFC press conference.

Exit Wounds is a short track and needs to be as the intensity is next level.

Like a lot of Amanaki's material, underneath the self-directed anger, there is a message of defiance and positivity. The constant refrain of "yes I can beat this" is punctuated by a rhythm that never lets up or slows down.

Amanaki isn't the first band to use music for cathartic release but they do it with a brutal honesty that is completely believable.

Maybe Vodafone should use it on their customer support line?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Amanaki

Comprising of scene veterans April Haines (ex-Patriot, East of Eden and Lead Us Forth) and Jared Kerr (Vanguard and ex-Lead Us Forth) with young bloods Jethro (ex-Patriot) and Ethan bringing a youthful flare.

Hardcore sound which boasts a sound comparable to the likes of heavy hitting band Counterparts.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amanaki

Releases

Engrafted
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Immutable
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Memory Foam - Album Review: Steel Magnolias
28 Jun 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Did you know that Memory Foam creates a matrix of cells through which air can move? Me neither.
Read More...
Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem