21 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds

12 Aug 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.

Maybe if you are on hold to Vodafone or some other inane customer support helpline for hours and they are pumping your brain full of 6 Months in a Leaky Boat then shitty speakers are a bit of a godsend preventing serious brain numbing exposure. Music like Exit Wounds though needs to be played at full ear bleed levels.

This is one hell of a tightly wound track. You can feel the pure anger seething beneath the surface ready to spring up and explode. If a song had teeth then Exit Wounds teeth would be tightly clenched with spittle flying as the words punch you in the face.

It is the aural equivalent of going toe to toe with Connor McGregor at a UFC press conference.

Exit Wounds is a short track and needs to be as the intensity is next level.

Like a lot of Amanaki's material, underneath the self-directed anger, there is a message of defiance and positivity. The constant refrain of "yes I can beat this" is punctuated by a rhythm that never lets up or slows down.

Amanaki isn't the first band to use music for cathartic release but they do it with a brutal honesty that is completely believable.

Maybe Vodafone should use it on their customer support line?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Amanaki

Comprising of scene veterans April Haines (ex-Patriot, East of Eden and Lead Us Forth) and Jared Kerr (Vanguard and ex-Lead Us Forth) with young bloods Jethro (ex-Patriot) and Ethan bringing a youthful flare.

Hardcore sound which boasts a sound comparable to the likes of heavy hitting band Counterparts.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Amanaki

Releases

Immutable
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem