20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Villainy - Villany @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 27/07/2019

31 Jul 2019 // A review by Lou Clement
The Powerstation was packed and as the clocked ticked on, the anticipation felt almost palpable. Villainy were there to play the last date on their tour, which was named after their new and third album Raised In The Dark, which, four years after the last one, was unleashed into the hands of their fans only three weeks prior.


Villainy's album reviews have been more than positive, gushing at times, and it seems the fans agree; a buzz of excitement laced the crowd, including a burgeoning mosh pit. The crowd were well warmed up after two excellent support acts Dead Favours and Sit Down in Front.

First up were newcomers Sit Down in Front. These Gisborne punk rockers made it to the top of list to support the band via Smokefreerockquest, the longstanding nationwide music event, supporting young musicians. The four-piece took to the stage with their catchy punk songs, catching the attention of the crowd and setting the scene for an intense night of music. They were abrasive, fun and included a singalong to the Ghostbusters theme tune, we were all ready for rock and Sit Down in Front provided a metaphorical shakedown – in that way that punk gets your attention, yes we really were present.

They were followed by main support act Dead Favours, whose raucous blend of heavy guitar and drums had the crowd moshing and dancing in equal amounts. Vocalist Jared Wrennall reminded me of the Killers front man Brandon Flowers. Their sound is heavier though but reflects a flexibility in Wrennall’s vocals that lends itself both to heavier rock sounds and more pop-influenced intonations. This band were new to me, I was pleasantly surprised. There are nods to some of my favourite bands, especially when the drums ramped up and bass was pummelled. They played music from their recently released first album Misbehavior. The title track Misbehaviour is a foot stomping, smasher, with vocals, that almost scream at you over heavier riffs. Another, great opener.

The gig took place, to me, in a venue at the heart of the Auckland music scene; but it felt intimate for a band like Villainy, whose sound is anthemic by design and who moved around the stage all the way to the edges, addressing the crowd and really performing, rather than just playing. What makes their sound attractive to me is the emotion in their lyrics and vocals. Their songwriting, which probably demands some soul searching, comes out sounding glorious; it feels like an epiphany delivered through a cathartic process. That works for me.

They made a big sound and there was theatricality to their performance in not only how they dress, but also the way they play together: orchestrated as one instrument at times. And of course, confetti and inflatables, what every gig needs! As a front man, Neill Fraser has it all. He flew across the stage nimbly, playing to the crowd: the front row, the stalls and even to those, like me, at the back. During the opening songs, Fraser warned us we were in for a long night. In the press, the band had said their 10-track album had been whittled down from the choice of 100 songs (I’m waiting for that deluxe edition), I can’t imagine the hard work and preparation that has gone into getting to that moment, live front of the baying Auckland crowd. Villainy's intention was obvious to the start: to give the fans an amazing night of music and performance, face to face. Amongst the long set, with tracks from all three albums I particularly enjoyed heavier track Syria which vibrated through the crowd, as well as Ammunition, Alligator Skin and the closing track, Safe Passage.

This was a night of music in which were bathed in the luxuriant sound of rock: Villainy's antecedents were some of the most successful bands around, and yet they sewed together an original sound. This tour gave the fans a chance to see their continuing energy and commitment to their performances.


Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Villainy

Villainy
vill·uh·nee /?vil?nç/
Noun: 1. The actions or conduct of a villain; outrageous wickedness.
2. Maniacal rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Villainy

Releases

Dead Sides (The Lost EP)
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Beggar
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Raised In The Dark
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dead Sight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mode. Set. Clear.
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Renee Millner - Single Review: So Much
01 Oct 2021 // by Lou Clement
Taranaki-based artist, Renee Millner, brings substantial quality to her music – it’s effortlessly sung, lyrically modest and full of emotional impact, because of her unique and skillful talent. Her new single So Much was self-penned and produced by Sam Johnson.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Fishtank
27 Jul 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty have launched their new video for Fishtank, their latest single which was released earlier this year. The track itself is catchy with warm electric guitar chords framing the laidback lyrics -  dare I say it – it’s refreshing.
Read More...
OddJive - Album Review: Hell Yeah Nah
31 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre mining act OddJive released their second album in May 2021, and the release is accompanied by vibrant, beautiful artwork by Alex Hoare. Titled Hell Yeah Nah, it is birthed by the five members of the band and promoted as a work created with the ongoing support of friends and family.
Read More...
Gig Review: Merk @ Cassette 9, Auckland - 15/05/2021
18 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Merk is Mark Perkins and he played alongside four accompanying musicians for this his first headline tour, celebrating the recent release of his second album Infinite Youth.The first date of his tour was at Auckland’s Cassette 9, nestled above Vulcan Lane on a busy Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dr.Reknaw @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 16/04/2021
19 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Epic eight-piece, Dr.Reknaw, took to the stage at Anthology Lounge on a wet Friday evening for their only Auckland gig.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Album Review: Rektified
14 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Dr.Reknaw are an eight-piece psychedelic group who happily straddle genres: funk, soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Album Review: Funk’t Up
06 Mar 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty is a musical project from solo-artist Iain Chamberlain and Funk’t Up, released in early 2021, is his debut album. It offers a mix of easy going funk riffs and enjoyable guitar-infused tracks overlaid with urban vocals.
Read More...
Single Review: Cherry Blind
16 Dec 2020 // by Lou Clement
Cherry Blind's new single; a pace, energy and a dash of screamo. I recently attended a punk-weekender: two days of what seemed like seven minute sets, where there were really only fans and no bystanders and bands that moved from one song to the next as quickly as the flip of a pancake.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem