22 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Villainy - Villany @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 27/07/2019

31 Jul 2019 // A review by Lou Clement
The Powerstation was packed and as the clocked ticked on, the anticipation felt almost palpable. Villainy were there to play the last date on their tour, which was named after their new and third album Raised In The Dark, which, four years after the last one, was unleashed into the hands of their fans only three weeks prior.


Villainy's album reviews have been more than positive, gushing at times, and it seems the fans agree; a buzz of excitement laced the crowd, including a burgeoning mosh pit. The crowd were well warmed up after two excellent support acts Dead Favours and Sit Down in Front.

First up were newcomers Sit Down in Front. These Gisborne punk rockers made it to the top of list to support the band via Smokefreerockquest, the longstanding nationwide music event, supporting young musicians. The four-piece took to the stage with their catchy punk songs, catching the attention of the crowd and setting the scene for an intense night of music. They were abrasive, fun and included a singalong to the Ghostbusters theme tune, we were all ready for rock and Sit Down in Front provided a metaphorical shakedown – in that way that punk gets your attention, yes we really were present.

They were followed by main support act Dead Favours, whose raucous blend of heavy guitar and drums had the crowd moshing and dancing in equal amounts. Vocalist Jared Wrennall reminded me of the Killers front man Brandon Flowers. Their sound is heavier though but reflects a flexibility in Wrennall’s vocals that lends itself both to heavier rock sounds and more pop-influenced intonations. This band were new to me, I was pleasantly surprised. There are nods to some of my favourite bands, especially when the drums ramped up and bass was pummelled. They played music from their recently released first album Misbehavior. The title track Misbehaviour is a foot stomping, smasher, with vocals, that almost scream at you over heavier riffs. Another, great opener.

The gig took place, to me, in a venue at the heart of the Auckland music scene; but it felt intimate for a band like Villainy, whose sound is anthemic by design and who moved around the stage all the way to the edges, addressing the crowd and really performing, rather than just playing. What makes their sound attractive to me is the emotion in their lyrics and vocals. Their songwriting, which probably demands some soul searching, comes out sounding glorious; it feels like an epiphany delivered through a cathartic process. That works for me.

They made a big sound and there was theatricality to their performance in not only how they dress, but also the way they play together: orchestrated as one instrument at times. And of course, confetti and inflatables, what every gig needs! As a front man, Neill Fraser has it all. He flew across the stage nimbly, playing to the crowd: the front row, the stalls and even to those, like me, at the back. During the opening songs, Fraser warned us we were in for a long night. In the press, the band had said their 10-track album had been whittled down from the choice of 100 songs (I’m waiting for that deluxe edition), I can’t imagine the hard work and preparation that has gone into getting to that moment, live front of the baying Auckland crowd. Villainy's intention was obvious to the start: to give the fans an amazing night of music and performance, face to face. Amongst the long set, with tracks from all three albums I particularly enjoyed heavier track Syria which vibrated through the crowd, as well as Ammunition, Alligator Skin and the closing track, Safe Passage.

This was a night of music in which were bathed in the luxuriant sound of rock: Villainy's antecedents were some of the most successful bands around, and yet they sewed together an original sound. This tour gave the fans a chance to see their continuing energy and commitment to their performances.


Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Villainy

Villainy
vill·uh·nee /?vil?nç/
Noun: 1. The actions or conduct of a villain; outrageous wickedness.
2. Maniacal rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Villainy

Releases

Dead Sides (The Lost EP)
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Beggar
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Raised In The Dark
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dead Sight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mode. Set. Clear.
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Carb on Carb @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 17/05/2024
19 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Carb On Carb took to the Wine Cellar stage in Auckland on Friday night to showcase their album Take Time which was released on the same day, 17 May, 2024. As soon as I heard this band I instantly thought they would be amazing live, and I wasn’t wrong.
Read More...
Gig Review: Tess Liautaud @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 4/05/2024
06 May 2024 // by Lou Clement
Otautahi-based singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Tess Liautaud took to the stage of the Wine Cellar, a basement venue, on Karangahape Road, on an autumnal Saturday evening. Tonight was the Tamaki Makaurau show of her nine-date nationwide Gold Digger tour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bach Musica NZ @ Auckland Town Hall - 14/04/2024
15 Apr 2024 // by Lou Clement
The historic setting of Auckland Town Hall, with its long and celebrated history of live music, was the ideal location for Bach Musica NZ. This was the first of a program of performances taking place throughout the year and bringing to the stage some favourite classical music pieces.
Read More...
Festival Review: The Others Way @ Auckland - 01/12/2023
02 Dec 2023 // by Lou Clement
Music venue haven that Karangahape Road is, it’s the perfect location for a festival takeover. Stopping short of closing the main street The Others Way festival seeks to fill every venue, at times simultaneously, with music.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ebony Lamb @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2023
12 Nov 2023 // by Lou Clement
Singer songwriter Ebony Lamb treated the tightly packed Auckland, Tamaki Makaurau crowd to a night of new music from her self-titled debut solo album. The gig was part of a seven-date Aotearoa tour which began October 27th, and finished in Paekakariki on Saturday, November 11th.
Read More...
Gig Review: Princess Chelsea @ Neck Of The Woods, Auckland - 19/10/2023
20 Oct 2023 // by Lou Clement
Princess Chelsea began her international Everything Is Going To Be Alright tour, at Neck of the Woods in Auckland with a full house on Thursday 19 October. Bringing her 2022 album of the same title in its entirety to the stage, with her band Jasmine Balmer, Joshua Worthington-Church, David Harris, Joe Kaptein, Kate Tindall, and Simeon Kavanagh-Vincent.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clementine Valentine @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 16/09/2023
16 Sep 2023 // by Lou Clement
Clementine Valentine took to the Whammy stage in Auckland on the fourth and final date of their nationwide album release tour. Their new album entitled The Coin That Broke The Fountain Floor, was released through Flying Nun Records in August 2023.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sofia Machray @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 19/08/2023
21 Aug 2023 // by Lou Clement
Sofia Machray brought her Language of Flowers show, the last of a five-night nationwide tour, to Whammy Bar in Auckland. Machray has recently released her debut 6-track EP and tonight was the premier of her music for Tamaki Makarau.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem