24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Villainy - Villany @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 27/07/2019

31 Jul 2019 // A review by Lou Clement
The Powerstation was packed and as the clocked ticked on, the anticipation felt almost palpable. Villainy were there to play the last date on their tour, which was named after their new and third album Raised In The Dark, which, four years after the last one, was unleashed into the hands of their fans only three weeks prior.


Villainy's album reviews have been more than positive, gushing at times, and it seems the fans agree; a buzz of excitement laced the crowd, including a burgeoning mosh pit. The crowd were well warmed up after two excellent support acts Dead Favours and Sit Down in Front.

First up were newcomers Sit Down in Front. These Gisborne punk rockers made it to the top of list to support the band via Smokefreerockquest, the longstanding nationwide music event, supporting young musicians. The four-piece took to the stage with their catchy punk songs, catching the attention of the crowd and setting the scene for an intense night of music. They were abrasive, fun and included a singalong to the Ghostbusters theme tune, we were all ready for rock and Sit Down in Front provided a metaphorical shakedown – in that way that punk gets your attention, yes we really were present.

They were followed by main support act Dead Favours, whose raucous blend of heavy guitar and drums had the crowd moshing and dancing in equal amounts. Vocalist Jared Wrennall reminded me of the Killers front man Brandon Flowers. Their sound is heavier though but reflects a flexibility in Wrennall’s vocals that lends itself both to heavier rock sounds and more pop-influenced intonations. This band were new to me, I was pleasantly surprised. There are nods to some of my favourite bands, especially when the drums ramped up and bass was pummelled. They played music from their recently released first album Misbehavior. The title track Misbehaviour is a foot stomping, smasher, with vocals, that almost scream at you over heavier riffs. Another, great opener.

The gig took place, to me, in a venue at the heart of the Auckland music scene; but it felt intimate for a band like Villainy, whose sound is anthemic by design and who moved around the stage all the way to the edges, addressing the crowd and really performing, rather than just playing. What makes their sound attractive to me is the emotion in their lyrics and vocals. Their songwriting, which probably demands some soul searching, comes out sounding glorious; it feels like an epiphany delivered through a cathartic process. That works for me.

They made a big sound and there was theatricality to their performance in not only how they dress, but also the way they play together: orchestrated as one instrument at times. And of course, confetti and inflatables, what every gig needs! As a front man, Neill Fraser has it all. He flew across the stage nimbly, playing to the crowd: the front row, the stalls and even to those, like me, at the back. During the opening songs, Fraser warned us we were in for a long night. In the press, the band had said their 10-track album had been whittled down from the choice of 100 songs (I’m waiting for that deluxe edition), I can’t imagine the hard work and preparation that has gone into getting to that moment, live front of the baying Auckland crowd. Villainy's intention was obvious to the start: to give the fans an amazing night of music and performance, face to face. Amongst the long set, with tracks from all three albums I particularly enjoyed heavier track Syria which vibrated through the crowd, as well as Ammunition, Alligator Skin and the closing track, Safe Passage.

This was a night of music in which were bathed in the luxuriant sound of rock: Villainy's antecedents were some of the most successful bands around, and yet they sewed together an original sound. This tour gave the fans a chance to see their continuing energy and commitment to their performances.


Photos courtesy of Nikita Weir/Antonia Pearl Photography

 

About Villainy

Villainy
vill·uh·nee /?vil?nç/
Noun: 1. The actions or conduct of a villain; outrageous wickedness.
2. Maniacal rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Villainy

Releases

Beggar
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Raised In The Dark
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dead Sight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mode. Set. Clear.
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences
30 Mar 2020 // by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop.
Read More...
Sam Wave - Album Review: Rhetorical What
13 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
Sam Wave is the moniker of musician Sam Mehrtens. Sam's 13-track debut album Rhetorical What was released in late December.
Read More...
Gig Review: Fat Freddy's Drop @ Thames Racecourse, Thames - 28/12/2019
08 Jan 2020 // by Lou Clement
When Fat Freddy’s Drop announced their Summer Album tour, with dates across New Zealand, I had the feeling of the holiday season beginning. I went along to the first of the tour dates that began their extensive list of stop offs and took place in the lazy in between days of the Christmas-New Year break.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Little Penny @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 15/11/2019
29 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny played their album launch gig at the Wine Cellar on K Road. Their debut album, Urge Surfing, was released the week of the gig and received many positive reviews, including my review for Muzic.
Read More...
Dead Little Penny - Album River: Urge Surfing
13 Nov 2019 // by Lou Clement
Dead Little Penny released their debut album Urge Surfing on 13 November 2019. It’s nine tracks of electro-industrial, synthesiser-infused melodic, dirge-drifting fun.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pitch Black @ Neck of the Woods, Auckland - 17/10/2019
18 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
The legendary Christchurch act Pitch Black whipped up an electronica storm at Neck of Woods, Auckland on their Third Light Tour on 17 October 2019. Taking the audience with them on a visual and musical journey, the duo kicked off their international tour, with this, their first date of twelve, which will take them to London, Amsterdam and Berlin over the coming months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 26/09/2019
04 Oct 2019 // by Lou Clement
Troy Kingi delivered a mash up of reggae, funk and soul as he debuted an album of politically laced tracks and performed for an enthusiastic crowd at the Tuning Fork in Auckland. This was the first of a three date New Zealand tour, following the release of his latest album Holy Colony Burning Acres and tonight he played to a sold out crowd.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem