17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Written by Wolves - Single Review: Tell Me What You're Running From?

29 Jul 2019 // A review by Shade

There's a lot of crazy in this world - it can test you, put you through all sorts of hardship and adversity, and drain all your energy within minutes. It can feel defeating, overwhelming and downright scary, and sometimes we can feel a very real need to run away.

Every song ever written has meaning and purpose. There's a reason behind the lyrics, an intention behind the message and an inspiration that triggered the first spark of creativity. Whilst this makes every song unique from the next, some songs have an extra je ne sais quoi. This is one of those songs.

Tell Me What You're Running From? plays out in traditional Written by Wolves fashion, which is sure to make it a fast fan-favourite. The powerful rock elements combined with delicious coatings of electronica take this song to incredible heights while it attacks the very core of your senses in the most unsubtle way possible.

The accompanying video is also a stunner and uses some very cool effects to give it a point of difference. It's not just the song itself that is so relevant, the video also delivers a relatable element while accompanying the music effortlessly. Displaying WBW in Morse Code is also a very nice touch.

There's no doubt about it, Tell Me What You're Running From? is a very solid track and it will surely tear the house down when performed live. The question isn't what are you running from, it's why would you want to run away from a song as incredible as this.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Written by Wolves

Written By Wolves are a progressive, new, rock band hailing from Auckland. All their members have devoted their lives to Rock music, and it is out of this shared love for the genre that Written By Wolves was born. They are a band that have set out to do things slightly differently, to create music that is new, unique and perhaps pushes the boundaries of what is expected from the rock genre.

WBW's new album Secrets is out now!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Written by Wolves

Releases

Secrets
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Prologue
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Shade

Coridian - Single Review: Seed II
21 Oct 2020 // by Shade
There's an implicit line in Rock music between the head-banging craze that makes you want to raid the mosh pit, and the refined preciseness of a subtle yet powerful tune. Very few bands can master both.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: No Way Out
13 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Arrays is JP Carroll, a multi-instrumentalist man of many talents, and here we have his new single No Way Out in all its foot-stomping, head-banging and dance-inducing quality.From the very first drop of sound, it's evident that this song is not going to disappoint.
Read More...
Jessy & The Volunteers - Single Review: Time Is Laughing
08 Oct 2020 // by Shade
Some songs stand out more than others, cementing themselves in your mind for days on end. This is one such song.
Read More...
In The Shallows - Single Review: Take It Easy
03 Oct 2020 // by Shade
The opening lyrics set the scene well for this charming little number - "I can't help but wonder is this the only way? Get so caught up in the drama that we forget to play.
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Rite of Passage
24 Oct 2019 // by Shade
Home.Adverb - deep; to the heart.
Read More...
Channeled - Single Review: Deeper
06 Aug 2019 // by Shade
Sometimes life gets to the point where we can have trouble standing on our own two feet. The headache-inducing stresses of life can knock the breath right out from our lungs, while we struggle to retain some sense of normality.
Read More...
Gig Review: Freaky Meat @ Backbeat, Auckland - 18/05/2019
20 May 2019 // by Shade
Wordcore at its finest: Freaky Meat Fugu EP Release Party, Saturday 18th May 2019, Backbeat, Auckland. I have never regretted going to see a band play live, especially when it’s to celebrate a new release, and one band I consistently make an effort for are local Wordcore masters: Freaky Meat, and the release of their new EP, Fugu, was no exception.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Absentee
29 Mar 2019 // by Shade
The truth can be many things - challenging, concerning, infuriating or even thought-provoking. It may be all of these things, or something completely different.
Read More...
View All Articles By Shade

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem