29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Quinn The Human - Album Review: Shade Queen

26 Jul 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

Following on from their EP Mission Helsinki released in 2018, Quinn The Human release their first full length album Shade Queen and it doesn’t disappoint. A heady mixture of alternative and dessert rock with sprinkles of trademark Quinn humour and some sweet vocal harmonies to boot.

They kick off their album with Party Gaol, on this track lead singer Rusty Steele vocals remind me of 90’s British indie band Mansun, especially combined with the smooth BV’s provided by Rowan on Guitar and Phoenix on Bass, the layered vocal treatment is a prominent feature throughout the album and sets them apart from other bands of similar ilk. Single Hoon is up next, with a chorus Josh Homme would love to steal for himself I’m sure, it’s a catchy beast that you can equally rock out and groove to.

Another mint track is Mansexer featuring some nice melody lines, a fuzzy pop rocker that chugs along like a manic locomotive out of control, this will get heads nodding live I’m sure. 40/40/80/90 is another track show casing these guys vocal harmonies that work very well within the Quinn sound. 40/40/80/90 rolls into Shade Queen #2 providing an expansive instrumental outro to lead us into another cool track on the album, Hong Kong Medicine; this one has a retro vibe, think the best bits of 60's and 70's rock and you’ll get the picture.

There are three songs on this album called Shade Queen #1, Shade Queen #2 and Shade Queen #3 respectively and they provide the ying to the other track's yang, moody and atmospheric instrumentals that create a nice balance to the album. #3 is my favourite, equal parts heavy, sonic and experimental, while Bad Deads has a QOTSA vibe, a sweet rocker of a tune that hits the right spot.

Natalie Imbroglio closes out the album on a heavier sonic/stoner rock note, this tune is draped in tripped out psychedelic guitars, heavy bass and features some tasty drumming by drummer Mikee.

Overall Shade Queen is a very solid album by this Auckland quinntet (pun intended). They say variety is the spice of life, and this album offers variety in spades. Shade Queen has killer riffs, tight production and driving alt rock that’s injected with equal parts humour and harmonic melodies. Their queen may be shady, but she certainly knows how to pack one hell of a punch.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Shade Queen
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Mission Helsinki
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Good News, Everyone!
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019
27 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem