22 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - Scalper x Cisco - EP Review: Tangiers Sessions

23 Jul 2019 // A review by Jamie Denton

One of my favourite past-times is ‘crate-digging’, rummaging through the bargain bins for those elusive good albums that sit within. One such day, several years ago, I came across Scalper’s first album Flesh and Bones. That CD, with its moody, trip-hop-esque beats and hypnotic grooves held steady in my CD player for a long time, but somehow I lost track of Scalper after that album. So, when I got the opportunity to review his latest EP — a collaboration with French “beatmaker”, producer, engineer, and bassist Cisco, I was immediately intrigued and anxiously excited.

Recorded in Morocco, the Tangiers Sessions EP is the result of the two collaborators blending the sounds, groove, and sensations of that city to the familiar, mature, intriguing, and cool underground/downbeat hip-hop that Scalper is known for. Unfortunately, I am unfamiliar with Cisco’s previous work, so can’t comment regarding whether his work on this EP is stylistically consistent with his other work, but I have assumed (rightly or wrongly) that some of these new elements are brought in from his vast repertoire as a producer / engineer / bassist.

The EP itself is an intriguing beast; while the whole EP consists of four individual tracks, they are arranged into two sets of two songs. The first set, entitled A Moroccan Night provides a kinetic soundtrack to nocturnal experiences as compared to the more relaxed, sun-drenched vibes of the second set, entitled A Day at the Medina. The distinctive vocal fingerprint style of Scalper provides continuity and familiarity with his previous work, however, rather than resting on his laurels and continuously doing what he does best, Scalper continues to experiment vocally – this time demonstrating his singing voice on a few melodies. Such experimentation keeps this collaborative EP fresh and interesting.

My personal favourite track, Be My Heaven, effortlessly combines traditional Moroccan sounds, minimalistic downbeat grooves, thunderously deep bass-tones, and a vocal delivery that nearly God-era Tricky would have been proud of.

Overall, an intriguing collaboration and one that serves as a progression of the artists’ individual work, as opposed to a mere diversion like most collaborations.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Jamie Denton

Proximity - Double Single Review: Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight
16 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Fresh-faced talent from Howick College in Auckland’s Eastern suburbs, three-piece rock band Proximity have come out firing on their debut double-single Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight. On these first two tracks, Proximity demonstrate a tight, lean, clear, concise, no-nonsense songwriting maturity that seemingly defies their youth.
Read More...
Black Pug - Single Review: My Enemies
11 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Black Pug, the pseudonym of solo/multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Mo Ackermann, is a one-man punk/rock/metal band from Queenstown. With Mo handling all tracking, singing, and recording duties, the music of Black Pug is a true representation of Mo’s uncompromised vision.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Home
16 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Hailing from Northland, alternative rock four-piece Tempist Fujit—their name a clever play on the Latin phrase tempus fugit, often translated to “time flies” - have been kicking around for a number of years now. Indeed, they have already released their debut album, Time Flies, in 2018.
Read More...
Odds & Ends - Single Review: Tasty
04 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Tasty, the debut single from Auckland-based rock band Odds & Ends is exactly that. Bursting out of the starting line with a confident, tight, phat, and funky groove, it takes literally seconds before I feel my body moving along with it.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: I Go Crazy
02 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Investigator, the pseudonym of Auckland-based singer/songwriter/producer Adrian Drew, has just released I Go Crazy, a collaboration with ex-Fast Crew member Jerome Fortune. This newest single follows up last year’s EP, continuing to highlight an obvious love of retro-infused-rock-guitars, electronic-flourishes, deep-driving-bass, and big-dancey-old-school-hip-hop-inspired beats.
Read More...
Album Review: n1ghtmar3cat
19 Aug 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Better known as the drummer/backing vocalist of Auckland-based rock band Villainy, Dave Johnson has stepped out from behind the kit with his solo electronic music project entitled n1ghtmar3cat. With its sights firmly set on indie-electronica, n1ghtmar3cat’s eponymous debut album is an ambitious, sonically-rewarding, and highly immersive experience.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: Blue
08 Aug 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Blue, the debut single from singer-songwriter Mema Wilda is an entrancing and intriguing mixture of highly original, yet hauntingly familiar folk-rock. Mema Wilda is a relatively fresh face on the Auckland live-music scene but she has emerged with a mature sound and approach.
Read More...
Makeshift Parachutes - Single Review: Ferrari Gosling
25 Jul 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Originally formed in 2013 after a jam session in Houston, Texas, Auckland-based ‘psych-rock’ four-piece Makeshift Parachutes have just released the first single from their upcoming debut album. The intriguingly entitled Ferrari Gosling, is an infectious, time-and-mind-bending, hook-laden, gem of a track.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jamie Denton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem