13 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - Scalper x Cisco - EP Review: Tangiers Sessions

23 Jul 2019 // A review by Jamie Denton

One of my favourite past-times is ‘crate-digging’, rummaging through the bargain bins for those elusive good albums that sit within. One such day, several years ago, I came across Scalper’s first album Flesh and Bones. That CD, with its moody, trip-hop-esque beats and hypnotic grooves held steady in my CD player for a long time, but somehow I lost track of Scalper after that album. So, when I got the opportunity to review his latest EP — a collaboration with French “beatmaker”, producer, engineer, and bassist Cisco, I was immediately intrigued and anxiously excited.

Recorded in Morocco, the Tangiers Sessions EP is the result of the two collaborators blending the sounds, groove, and sensations of that city to the familiar, mature, intriguing, and cool underground/downbeat hip-hop that Scalper is known for. Unfortunately, I am unfamiliar with Cisco’s previous work, so can’t comment regarding whether his work on this EP is stylistically consistent with his other work, but I have assumed (rightly or wrongly) that some of these new elements are brought in from his vast repertoire as a producer / engineer / bassist.

The EP itself is an intriguing beast; while the whole EP consists of four individual tracks, they are arranged into two sets of two songs. The first set, entitled A Moroccan Night provides a kinetic soundtrack to nocturnal experiences as compared to the more relaxed, sun-drenched vibes of the second set, entitled A Day at the Medina. The distinctive vocal fingerprint style of Scalper provides continuity and familiarity with his previous work, however, rather than resting on his laurels and continuously doing what he does best, Scalper continues to experiment vocally – this time demonstrating his singing voice on a few melodies. Such experimentation keeps this collaborative EP fresh and interesting.

My personal favourite track, Be My Heaven, effortlessly combines traditional Moroccan sounds, minimalistic downbeat grooves, thunderously deep bass-tones, and a vocal delivery that nearly God-era Tricky would have been proud of.

Overall, an intriguing collaboration and one that serves as a progression of the artists’ individual work, as opposed to a mere diversion like most collaborations.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jamie Denton

Fanfickk - EP Review: Skull Pocket
07 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
In a much earlier review that I did for another artist, which had included a remixed Fanfickk track, I was taken aback by the vocals. Wonderfully off-kilter delivery, coupled with a luscious range and tone, that voice, Fanfickk’s voice, was quite simply stunning.
Read More...
Lee Mvtthews - Album Review: Bones
05 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Lee Mvtthews, the award-winning Auckland based producer/DJ duo of Graham Matthews and Tom Lee, have been making waves for themselves over the last few years. Self-described as “high energy bass music”, Lee Mvtthews’ debut album, Bones, is solid, slick, lean, hungry, and infectious follow-up to their previous singles and EP.
Read More...
Proximity - Double Single Review: Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight
16 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Fresh-faced talent from Howick College in Auckland’s Eastern suburbs, three-piece rock band Proximity have come out firing on their debut double-single Odyssey and Picnic at Midnight. On these first two tracks, Proximity demonstrate a tight, lean, clear, concise, no-nonsense songwriting maturity that seemingly defies their youth.
Read More...
Black Pug - Single Review: My Enemies
11 Oct 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Black Pug, the pseudonym of solo/multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Mo Ackermann, is a one-man punk/rock/metal band from Queenstown. With Mo handling all tracking, singing, and recording duties, the music of Black Pug is a true representation of Mo’s uncompromised vision.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - Single Review: Home
16 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Hailing from Northland, alternative rock four-piece Tempist Fujit—their name a clever play on the Latin phrase tempus fugit, often translated to “time flies” - have been kicking around for a number of years now. Indeed, they have already released their debut album, Time Flies, in 2018.
Read More...
Odds & Ends - Single Review: Tasty
04 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Tasty, the debut single from Auckland-based rock band Odds & Ends is exactly that. Bursting out of the starting line with a confident, tight, phat, and funky groove, it takes literally seconds before I feel my body moving along with it.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: I Go Crazy
02 Sep 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Investigator, the pseudonym of Auckland-based singer/songwriter/producer Adrian Drew, has just released I Go Crazy, a collaboration with ex-Fast Crew member Jerome Fortune. This newest single follows up last year’s EP, continuing to highlight an obvious love of retro-infused-rock-guitars, electronic-flourishes, deep-driving-bass, and big-dancey-old-school-hip-hop-inspired beats.
Read More...
Album Review: n1ghtmar3cat
19 Aug 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Better known as the drummer/backing vocalist of Auckland-based rock band Villainy, Dave Johnson has stepped out from behind the kit with his solo electronic music project entitled n1ghtmar3cat. With its sights firmly set on indie-electronica, n1ghtmar3cat’s eponymous debut album is an ambitious, sonically-rewarding, and highly immersive experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jamie Denton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • LOSE YOU TO LOVE ME
    Selena Gomez
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • GOOD AS HELL (REMIX)
    Lizzo feat. Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem