29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - Scalper x Cisco - EP Review: Tangiers Sessions

23 Jul 2019 // A review by Jamie Denton

One of my favourite past-times is ‘crate-digging’, rummaging through the bargain bins for those elusive good albums that sit within. One such day, several years ago, I came across Scalper’s first album Flesh and Bones. That CD, with its moody, trip-hop-esque beats and hypnotic grooves held steady in my CD player for a long time, but somehow I lost track of Scalper after that album. So, when I got the opportunity to review his latest EP — a collaboration with French “beatmaker”, producer, engineer, and bassist Cisco, I was immediately intrigued and anxiously excited.

Recorded in Morocco, the Tangiers Sessions EP is the result of the two collaborators blending the sounds, groove, and sensations of that city to the familiar, mature, intriguing, and cool underground/downbeat hip-hop that Scalper is known for. Unfortunately, I am unfamiliar with Cisco’s previous work, so can’t comment regarding whether his work on this EP is stylistically consistent with his other work, but I have assumed (rightly or wrongly) that some of these new elements are brought in from his vast repertoire as a producer / engineer / bassist.

The EP itself is an intriguing beast; while the whole EP consists of four individual tracks, they are arranged into two sets of two songs. The first set, entitled A Moroccan Night provides a kinetic soundtrack to nocturnal experiences as compared to the more relaxed, sun-drenched vibes of the second set, entitled A Day at the Medina. The distinctive vocal fingerprint style of Scalper provides continuity and familiarity with his previous work, however, rather than resting on his laurels and continuously doing what he does best, Scalper continues to experiment vocally – this time demonstrating his singing voice on a few melodies. Such experimentation keeps this collaborative EP fresh and interesting.

My personal favourite track, Be My Heaven, effortlessly combines traditional Moroccan sounds, minimalistic downbeat grooves, thunderously deep bass-tones, and a vocal delivery that nearly God-era Tricky would have been proud of.

Overall, an intriguing collaboration and one that serves as a progression of the artists’ individual work, as opposed to a mere diversion like most collaborations.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want More
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Jamie Denton

CoReZ - Single Review: CTRL
02 Feb 2020 // by Jamie Denton
Auckland-based musician Corey Friedlander has had a long and impressive musical career to date. He has been the drummer/percussionist for some of the best bands to come out of Auckland for a long time.
Read More...
The Upbeats - EP Review: No Sleep 'Til... New Zealand
17 Jan 2020 // by Jamie Denton
Wellington-based drum and bass duo, The Upbeats, have been steadily carving out a place for themselves in the dance music scene both in Aotearoa New Zealand and overseas. Perhaps because of the increased international gigs coming their way, The Upbeats, in what I assume is a generous and potentially cheeky nod to the Beastie Boys, launched their No Sleep ‘Til… E.
Read More...
SOJØURN - EP Review: Summer Tape
17 Dec 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Hailing from the beautiful, sun-drenched, surf-town of Mangawhai, seven-piece “psychedelic surf rock reggae band” Sojøurn have just released their latest Summer Tape EP. Consisting of two tracks Still a Mess and Take a Drive, the Summer Tape EP aims to capture the sounds, feeling, and overall vibe of an Aotearoa summer.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Tell No Lies
23 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Earlier this month, Christchurch hip-hop artist And$um dropped Tell No Lies, the first single from his forthcoming debut album. Produced by scene-legend Dera Meelan, this is not your stock-standard approach to hip-hop/rap.
Read More...
Stateside Heroes - Album Review: Echoes and Answers
19 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Stateside Heroes is the neo-soul/hip-hop/downbeat project of drummer, percussionist, multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, music-scholar, and producer Tom Pierard (Strike, Amygdala) and second-vocalist Cleavelin Manaena-Cook. Released slightly earlier in 2019, their debut album Echoes and Answers feels tailor-made for the forthcoming Kiwi summer.
Read More...
EP Review: Odds & Ends
14 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Earlier this year, I was fortuitous enough to have reviewed the debut single Tasty from Auckland-based genre-defying-‘rock’-band Odds & Ends. Having been impressed with the debut single, I was anxious to hear what else this young band had up their sleeves.
Read More...
Fanfickk - EP Review: Skull Pocket
07 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
In a much earlier review that I did for another artist, which had included a remixed Fanfickk track, I was taken aback by the vocals. Wonderfully off-kilter delivery, coupled with a luscious range and tone, that voice, Fanfickk’s voice, was quite simply stunning.
Read More...
Lee Mvtthews - Album Review: Bones
05 Nov 2019 // by Jamie Denton
Lee Mvtthews, the award-winning Auckland based producer/DJ duo of Graham Matthews and Tom Lee, have been making waves for themselves over the last few years. Self-described as “high energy bass music”, Lee Mvtthews’ debut album, Bones, is solid, slick, lean, hungry, and infectious follow-up to their previous singles and EP.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jamie Denton

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem