19 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019

16 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise. So, I was honoured to be invited to sit in on the Grant Haua Trio at their band practice session. One of Tauranga’s latest musical triads to hit the gig circuit.

This is real sexy sounding original rocking blues. These guys are seasoned musicians and well known to many, they have been around for a long time. Grant Haua ex-Swamp Thing is a local legend of rich and soulful blues. Brian Franks of such bands as Briilleaux and Toner, Franks And Beano is brilliant on the bass guitar. Jeff Nilson drummer for The Shirleybyrds and Electric Universe rounds off the tight trio perfectly.

The three friends from way back told me that they “hooked up at a party”, decided to “have a jam” and the rest was history. They have the time at present to dedicate to the newly formed band and dedicated they are judging by the disciplined way they conduct their practice. No such thing as “she’ll be right” in the way these guys play, professionalism and an obvious passion for the creative process of making music shine through.

The Grant Haua Trio are filling a void in our local music scene by offering locals exceptional funky blues music twice a month at the popular boutique beer establishment The Hop House. The hint of an album is on the cards, so there is plenty to get excited about.

Grant is magic to watch, the way he plays his guitar is rather mesmerising. It is far different watching and hearing musicians in what is essentially a lounge room setting, not a pub, club or venue. You get to see and hear everything without distraction. What was very obvious to me was the love and joy music brings to Grant, at times I saw him get lost in the music. That love radiates through in his guitar playing, vocals and harmonica.  

Brian has also been on the local music scene for number of years; widely known for his base guitar Skills playing in the high energy British style Rhythm and Blues band Brilleaux. Brian had contacted me earlier in the week with an invitation for me to sit in on the bands practice session. I am pretty lucky to have the opportunity to hear them up close and personal. Brian’s bass playing and vocals complemented Grant very well. I don’t play guitar, but if I did I reckon it would be a bass, I admire the rich warm chords produced and Brian did that effortlessly enhancing the funky blues sound.

0Jeff was the only one out of the three I didn’t recall seeing perform live although I knew of him through The Shirleybyrds and more recently drumming for Electric Universe. He provides the rhythm section for the trio and is sounding pretty tight. I look forward to hearing him play on a full kit.

The band will be playing a mix of Swamp Thing tracks which have been collaboratively restructured as The Grant Haua Trio. Collectively the trio have nine songs in their repertoire within the three months they have been jamming together, however Grant wrote all the lyrics and melodies for the numbers. We are also going to be hearing some of Grants latest solo recordings in the mix at the upcoming gigs.

The very next Wednesday at my local drinking establishment Jack Dusty’s, I was invited along to the Tauranga Blues Jam. The boys are giving Tauranga a sneak peek of what they have been working on.

This was an opportunity for me to see them in action as a trio out in the field (so to speak) and get some photos to go with my article. As some people have described it was “next level” for the trio. The boys wowed us; there is a natural cohesion in the way they play together and a slick delivery. Like I mentioned earlier on the article. Mesmerizing.

There is tangible excitement for the 20th of July, when they unleash the full force of their awesomeness on Tauranga. It has been a privilege hanging out with these guys the last few weeks. I have not only come to know them and their music, but also my eyes have been well and truly opened to the wider Tauranga blues community.


Photos courtesy of Corinne Rutherford/Pixel Faerie Photography

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car
21 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.
Read More...
Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body
05 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.
Read More...
The Narcs Unplugged @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19
01 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga. The Narcs have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today.
Read More...
Tony Lee - Single Review: Substitute
27 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Tony Lee, originally from Auckland but now residing in Hamilton has delivered some pretty memorable and heartfelt alternative Country Rock tunes over the years. With two albums already under his belt Substitute is the third single to be released from his latest album So Far From The Truth.
Read More...
Older - Album Review: Silence
18 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It may have taken a few years in the making (four to be exact), but the band from the Waikato with a tight post-punk sound, Older have finally released their original fifteen track debut album Silence. This has been a culmination of years of experience in song writing and producing.
Read More...
Peyton Morete - Single Review: Am I Blind To Love
04 Jun 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Sixteen year old Peyton Morete from The Kapiti Coast, is a singer-songwriter who has been making music since she was nine. This is her new single; Am I Blind To Love, and it is a stunning representation of her hard work and dedication to her music.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • IT'S THE THOUGHT THAT COUNTS
    Mzwètwo feat. Rei
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem