20 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grant Haua Trio @ Jack Dusty's, Tauranga - 03/07/2019

16 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Tauranga’s musical landscape is constantly changing and evolving, new bands morph from old bands, they get bigger and they get smaller. Some of the musicians have been around since the 1970's/80's and some are just starting out, many disappear only to re-emerge years later in a different guise. So, I was honoured to be invited to sit in on the Grant Haua Trio at their band practice session. One of Tauranga’s latest musical triads to hit the gig circuit.

This is real sexy sounding original rocking blues. These guys are seasoned musicians and well known to many, they have been around for a long time. Grant Haua ex-Swamp Thing is a local legend of rich and soulful blues. Brian Franks of such bands as Briilleaux and Toner, Franks And Beano is brilliant on the bass guitar. Jeff Nilson drummer for The Shirleybyrds and Electric Universe rounds off the tight trio perfectly.

The three friends from way back told me that they “hooked up at a party”, decided to “have a jam” and the rest was history. They have the time at present to dedicate to the newly formed band and dedicated they are judging by the disciplined way they conduct their practice. No such thing as “she’ll be right” in the way these guys play, professionalism and an obvious passion for the creative process of making music shine through.

The Grant Haua Trio are filling a void in our local music scene by offering locals exceptional funky blues music twice a month at the popular boutique beer establishment The Hop House. The hint of an album is on the cards, so there is plenty to get excited about.

Grant is magic to watch, the way he plays his guitar is rather mesmerising. It is far different watching and hearing musicians in what is essentially a lounge room setting, not a pub, club or venue. You get to see and hear everything without distraction. What was very obvious to me was the love and joy music brings to Grant, at times I saw him get lost in the music. That love radiates through in his guitar playing, vocals and harmonica.  

Brian has also been on the local music scene for number of years; widely known for his base guitar Skills playing in the high energy British style Rhythm and Blues band Brilleaux. Brian had contacted me earlier in the week with an invitation for me to sit in on the bands practice session. I am pretty lucky to have the opportunity to hear them up close and personal. Brian’s bass playing and vocals complemented Grant very well. I don’t play guitar, but if I did I reckon it would be a bass, I admire the rich warm chords produced and Brian did that effortlessly enhancing the funky blues sound.

0Jeff was the only one out of the three I didn’t recall seeing perform live although I knew of him through The Shirleybyrds and more recently drumming for Electric Universe. He provides the rhythm section for the trio and is sounding pretty tight. I look forward to hearing him play on a full kit.

The band will be playing a mix of Swamp Thing tracks which have been collaboratively restructured as The Grant Haua Trio. Collectively the trio have nine songs in their repertoire within the three months they have been jamming together, however Grant wrote all the lyrics and melodies for the numbers. We are also going to be hearing some of Grants latest solo recordings in the mix at the upcoming gigs.

The very next Wednesday at my local drinking establishment Jack Dusty’s, I was invited along to the Tauranga Blues Jam. The boys are giving Tauranga a sneak peek of what they have been working on.

This was an opportunity for me to see them in action as a trio out in the field (so to speak) and get some photos to go with my article. As some people have described it was “next level” for the trio. The boys wowed us; there is a natural cohesion in the way they play together and a slick delivery. Like I mentioned earlier on the article. Mesmerizing.

There is tangible excitement for the 20th of July, when they unleash the full force of their awesomeness on Tauranga. It has been a privilege hanging out with these guys the last few weeks. I have not only come to know them and their music, but also my eyes have been well and truly opened to the wider Tauranga blues community.


Photos courtesy of Corinne Rutherford/Pixel Faerie Photography

 

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem