24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E

16 Jul 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.V.E and it’s red hot right now.

With an impressive musical resume, Iveta Vasileva has won Eurodisc, and been the recipient of the Grand Prix of Art Rock Center. In recent years, she has paired up with Simone Brook, who has an impressive musical history herself having performed on TV talent shows such as Chickaboom and Opportunity Knocks. With this amount of experience, you’d be expecting something big right? Well you’re not wrong.

With influences such as Celine Dione, Faith Hill, Cher, Leona Lewis, and a lot of diversity in their ethnic heritage, you can imagine that this isn’t going to be your typical Taylor Swift/Miley Cyrus pop single, but it’s just as impressively produced (actually IMHO, there is probably more music-writing talent in Iveta & Simone’s music). Their vibe is very distinctly a movie soundtrack type of production. I hope I don’t offend anyone here because I mean this with the utmost respect, their music somewhat reminds me of Enigma or Deep Forest and a few other musicians from around their era (early to mid-90’s for you millennials).

Both Iveta and Simone have incredible vocal control, they clearly have mastered their instrument. Both mellow and soothing vocals but can both belt it out when they want to. Their vocals compliment very nicely too, weaving through each other distinctly but both an exact match for this single. The only criticism I have is that it sounds like maybe a little more compression has been used over Simone’s voice to Iveta’s, but I don’t think it takes away from the credibility of the track at all, it’s just sounds a little more fresh.

This track is a fantastic piece of work from the pair, and it looks like it really is going places. Well done ladies – you should be absolutely proud of this piece of work. I hope it gets the kudos it deserves.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Iveta & Simone

New Zealand’s Iveta & Simone Announce New Single, L.O.V.E. Catchy new age single slated to be a summer smash.

On the rise female vocalist duo Iveta & Simone have just announced the upcoming release of their highly anticipated new single, L.O.V.E.

The new single infuses Iveta & Simone’s signature artistry and vocals as only the duo can. They have released other tracks to great success, including the singles Sunshine and More Than A Man. The song L.O.V.E. also integrates their fusion of new age, contemporary, and alternative rock genres into a single, meaningful, and intoxicating sound that captivates audiences.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Iveta & Simone

Releases

There are no releases to display for Iveta & Simone.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem