26 Aug 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live

14 Jul 2019 // A review by Tony McDonald

This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising. Lucky for me, that's one thing I don't like about live EPs, phew!

Starting with the ferocious screaming in Voices, you could believe you were back in the mid 1970’s in London. The guitars in the second track 1993 have a great riff and I can picture the band playing as I am listening - the recording captured it quite brilliantly.

If you are looking for a polished piece of work you won’t find it here - this is raw and in your face. To be ultra-critical, the mix seems bass heavy and lacks some treble. But all of that is forgivable as the live songs carry themselves very well throughout the entire EP.

Be warned young peeps, they swear, OMG!!!

I love the last track on the EP too, during New York, the lead vocalist James says, "I sung the second verse twice". I thought he was just being punk and repeating things. Brilliant!

I am now hooked and looking forward to seeing them playing soon. In fact you can catch them playing live very soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dead Beat Boys

Dead Beat Boys are a straight up and down rock n Roll band from Heartland New Zealand. Formed in 2010, these 5 lads are known for their high energy shows and dirty agressive sound. Drawing inspiration from great Kiwi bands before them such as Shihad and The Datsuns, they're keen to start making their mark on New Zealand's rock scene.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Beat Boys

Releases

Very Live
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
Gig Review: Darryl Baser @ Moon, Wellington - 18/08/2018
19 Aug 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Unfortunately, Moon wasn't rocking this Saturday night in Newtown. The crowds may have been watching the All Blacks in a nearby bar.
Read More...
Radio Coma - Single Review: Too Young To Die
06 Nov 2017 // by Tony McDonald
Head banging on the front row, covered in beer, sweat and waves of pushing & shoving. Too Young To Die instantly transports you to a live venue.
Read More...
The Whiskey Show - Single Review: Vengeance
12 Oct 2017 // by Tony McDonald
This is a classic old school rock song with a modern 'Black Keys' style drum and bass feel thrown in. Dene's vocals are great for this genre, and Scott's guitaring is stunningly good.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • HOW DO YOU SLEEP?
    Sam Smith
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish And Justin Bieber
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem