2 Jun 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live

14 Jul 2019 // A review by Tony McDonald

This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising. Lucky for me, that's one thing I don't like about live EPs, phew!

Starting with the ferocious screaming in Voices, you could believe you were back in the mid 1970’s in London. The guitars in the second track 1993 have a great riff and I can picture the band playing as I am listening - the recording captured it quite brilliantly.

If you are looking for a polished piece of work you won’t find it here - this is raw and in your face. To be ultra-critical, the mix seems bass heavy and lacks some treble. But all of that is forgivable as the live songs carry themselves very well throughout the entire EP.

Be warned young peeps, they swear, OMG!!!

I love the last track on the EP too, during New York, the lead vocalist James says, "I sung the second verse twice". I thought he was just being punk and repeating things. Brilliant!

I am now hooked and looking forward to seeing them playing soon. In fact you can catch them playing live very soon.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Dead Beat Boys

Dead Beat Boys are a straight up and down rock n Roll band from Heartland New Zealand. Formed in 2010, these 5 lads are known for their high energy shows and dirty agressive sound. Drawing inspiration from great Kiwi bands before them such as Shihad and The Datsuns, they're keen to start making their mark on New Zealand's rock scene.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dead Beat Boys

Releases

Very Live
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • RAIN ON ME
    Lady Gaga And Ariana Grande
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem