30 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stan Walker - Single Review: Give

11 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Stan Walker’s new single Give is a concrete example of how diverse and powerful his vocal ability is. I can feel him, feel his passion for change in our world, and his message about needing to be better yourself in order to see the change that you want to see. It’s powerful and it’s a message we all hear a lot, but Walker’s delivery makes it seem more urgent than ever.

The production of this track is awesome. It’s a laid back affair that has just the right amount going for it that it does not seem forced or anything less than authentic with what the song is about. A soft organ starts us off before we get crafty with some spacious snare and kick with a guitar to boot. The song gently builds into the first chorus and by the last one we are in Top gear. It’s beautiful and powerful.

Co-written by Matiu Walters, vocalist and guitarist from Six60, the song captures how they felt the day after the Christchurch Mosque Attacks earlier this year. Together they have their hearts out on their sleeves hoping to get people thinking and asking the big questions. It’s brilliant.

I absolutely love this track. It’s simple yet so effective. A job well done.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Stan Walker

Stan Walker may have kick-started his career by winning Australian Idol in 2009, but in the last decade, he’s become a genuine New Zealand idol, loved for his sense of humour, humility, and joy for life as much as he inspires in his roles as a musician and actor.

His success as a New Zealand performing artist across such a variety of mediums is unparalleled. Not only has Stan earned a total of 6 gold and 4 platinum singles as well as 1 double platinum and 1 triple platinum single in New Zealand, he’s collected 8 New Zealand Music Awards along the way and 5 ARIA Music Award nominations. He’s won the Waiata Maori Award for Radio Airplay Record of the Year 5 times, in 2010, 2011 and then 3 consecutive years in a row from 2013 - 2015. He’s now become an impressive star of our silver screen too.

In May last year, Stan released his new single New Takeover that followed by a culturally poignant video. It was a new direction for Stan, indicative of the depth of the connection he felt upon returning to live in New Zealand, and pay tribute to his family. Only a couple of months later however, Stan was diagnosed with stomach cancer.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: 2011
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Introducing
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
theajsound - Single Review: Sorrow
12 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland based Indian born singer and songwriter theajsound (AKA AJ) has released a string of singles this year which have amassed hundreds of thousands stream on Spotify, and his latest, Sorrow is a catchy new tune that instantly catches your ear.The guitar sound is clean and an instant classic.
Read More...
Sam V - EP Review: Cruisin'
08 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP from Sam V, bKidd and EDY is a blast. With a few skits interwoven into the EP, the whole package feels well thought out and it sounds great.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MONSTER
    Shawn Mendes And Justin Bieber
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem