20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stan Walker - Single Review: Give

11 Jul 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Stan Walker’s new single Give is a concrete example of how diverse and powerful his vocal ability is. I can feel him, feel his passion for change in our world, and his message about needing to be better yourself in order to see the change that you want to see. It’s powerful and it’s a message we all hear a lot, but Walker’s delivery makes it seem more urgent than ever.

The production of this track is awesome. It’s a laid back affair that has just the right amount going for it that it does not seem forced or anything less than authentic with what the song is about. A soft organ starts us off before we get crafty with some spacious snare and kick with a guitar to boot. The song gently builds into the first chorus and by the last one we are in Top gear. It’s beautiful and powerful.

Co-written by Matiu Walters, vocalist and guitarist from Six60, the song captures how they felt the day after the Christchurch Mosque Attacks earlier this year. Together they have their hearts out on their sleeves hoping to get people thinking and asking the big questions. It’s brilliant.

I absolutely love this track. It’s simple yet so effective. A job well done.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Stan Walker

Stan Walker may have kick-started his career by winning Australian Idol in 2009, but in the last decade, he’s become a genuine New Zealand idol, loved for his sense of humour, humility, and joy for life as much as he inspires in his roles as a musician and actor.

His success as a New Zealand performing artist across such a variety of mediums is unparalleled. Not only has Stan earned a total of 6 gold and 4 platinum singles as well as 1 double platinum and 1 triple platinum single in New Zealand, he’s collected 8 New Zealand Music Awards along the way and 5 ARIA Music Award nominations. He’s won the Waiata Maori Award for Radio Airplay Record of the Year 5 times, in 2010, 2011 and then 3 consecutive years in a row from 2013 - 2015. He’s now become an impressive star of our silver screen too.

In May last year, Stan released his new single New Takeover that followed by a culturally poignant video. It was a new direction for Stan, indicative of the depth of the connection he felt upon returning to live in New Zealand, and pay tribute to his family. Only a couple of months later however, Stan was diagnosed with stomach cancer.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stan Walker

Releases

Stan
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Truth and Soul
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Inventing Myself
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Let The Music Play
Year: 2011
Type: Album
From The Inside Out
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Introducing
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The RVMES - Single Review: Big Bam Boom
14 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The RVMES newest track Big Bam Boom is a good time that deserves your attention.The rawness and realness of this track cannot be denied.
Read More...
Troy Kingi - Album Review: The Ghost of Freddie Cesar
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Genius. Honestly.
Read More...
Dub Boys - EP Review: Fortune Favours The Bold
10 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The newest EP from the Dub Boys is fantastic. As someone who appreciates all styles of music, Hip-Hop continues to be one I stay fascinated with due to the current climate and success of certain artists.
Read More...
The Settlers - Single Review: Love
06 Sep 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Driven by a catchy guitar loop and backed up with a beat that ebbs and flows, the new track Love from The Settlers really puts its focus on its lyrics and delivery.Keeping the vocal effects to the minimum here allows the verses to sound authentic and real.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Album Review: Horizon
24 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The latest album from Ekko Park is an absolute blast of a time to listen to from beginning to end.All Eyes On Me sets the scene by just giving it everything.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Bad Luck Shoebox
17 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Classic rock vibes crossed with modern rock sound drives this new track from Investigator. Driven by Adrian Drew, Investigator has a sound that is clear and defined and Bad Luck Shoebox adds another track to an ever-growing catalogue that showcases his ideas and sounds that make up Investigator.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Can't Sleep I'm Dreaming
07 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new album from Will McClean takes a lot of well-produced beats and combines them with his flow and lyrics. It's a smooth ride most of the time as is demonstrated in the opening track Front Desk featuring JClean.
Read More...
TheOpHilus - Single Review: My Little Rugrat
02 Aug 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Authentic and real; that’s the best way to describe the new track My Little Rugrat from TheOpHilus. True Hip-Hop has always been, in my mind, sampling and talking about how things are where you are right now.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem