2 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pluto - Single/Video review: Oh My Lonely

09 Jul 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

Just when you thought this band were dead and buried, Pluto once again rise from the ashes and hit us with another sweet slice of Kiwi indie alt rock. These guys had two very successful singles from 2005’s album Pipeline Under The Ocean; Long White Cross and Dance Stamina and it’s great to hear almost 15 years later they still haven’t lost their knack for crafting cool pop sonic tunes that retain a groove.

Oh My Lonely is the first single and video from a brand new album by Pluto due out in September this year, the single was recorded at The Lab with Nick Abbott picking up the production duties. Oh My Lonely kicks off with reverse guitars that meld into a catchy upbeat whistled intro. Laced with fuzzed out guitars that cascade over multiple layers of pop vocals in the chorus, this is a band that show no signs of rust given that it’s been almost ten years since they have graced NZ’s airwaves.

This new single has a crisp sound that retains maximum groove, if the band Racing spins your wheels then this new single by Pluto will definitely float your boat. The video directed my singer Milan Borich is simple but effective. The band play half naked and the film is reversed in negative and all the whites are turned way up and colourful paint is splattered all over the band as they perform the song. I bet that was a bunch of fun to make, much like this song... fun, uplifting and danceable.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Pluto

Pluto is a New Zealand rock band (mostly) based in Auckland. The group played their first concert together opening for Neil Finn in 2001 and have gone on to support the likes of Duran Duran, Crowded House, Muse, Gomez and The Dandy Warhols. They
performed at the SXSW music festival in Austin, Texas twice, and made regular appearances at the Big Day Out.

Pluto’s most successful commercial release to date is their second album, Pipeline Under the Ocean (2005), which went double platinum on the RIA NZ albums chart. The album’s lead single Long White Cross won the 2006 Tui Award for Best Song of the Year. From the same album, Dance Stamina took out the 2006 B-Net Award for Best Song of the Year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pluto

Releases

IV
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Sunken Water
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Pipeline Under The Ocean
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Redlight Syndrome
Year: 2001
Type: Album
A1 A2
Year: 2000
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Riqi Harawira - Single Review: Ruapekapeka
11 Jun 2020 // by Jason Peters
Back in another life (during the 90's), Riqi Harawira used to let my bandmate and I crash at his pad on Fort Street in Auckland whenever we were on tour. He was a good dude, played lead guitar for Dead Flowers and both our bands were on the same label (Wildside).
Read More...
The Slider - Album Review: He Calls Your Name
16 Mar 2020 // by Jason Peters
The Slider features two tortured souls from Auckland heavy rock/blues band His Masters Voice (The Devil's Blues). Rene Black and Az Burns have created a down and dirty little beast here, featuring Rene on lead vocals and drums, with Az tackling all guitars/bass and keys, and there is a stack of talent on display within.
Read More...
Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem