18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bad Jones - Single Review: Soul, No Body

05 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Bad Jones is a hard rock band from South Auckland aiming to release “the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe its way out of Aotearoa”, However you will have to contain your excitement until early 2020 for the band’s debut album. In the meantime, check out their first single, Soul, No Body, as it's guaranteed to blast the winter cobwebs away.

I haven’t reviewed a screaming loud heavy rock song for a while and this fit the bill nicely for my fix of nerve jangling, in your face old school type shouty rock. “Bad Jones like to make things as abrasive and weird as possible without ever sacrificing straight-up, 4/4 rock grooves” their words not mine. The track is abrasive, but not unpleasant. Perfectly acceptable for a mosh pit if that is still a thing. Weird sure, but I have heard weirder so I will reserve judgment on that until I hear the rest of their album. My words not theirs.

The guys have managed to keep the integrity of the 4/4 rock groove intact. Which is a blessing. This track is not a sloppy offering; Bad Jones sounds tight. Sorry guys, I know you are aiming for warped and feral, but in my opinion, those who like their lyrics screamed at them will probably dig your groove.

This is a solid first release from the band. Best enjoyed loud.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bad Jones

Twisted, hard rock n roll straight out of a barn in the bowels of rural South Auckland. Bad Jones like to make things as abrasive and weird as possible without ever sacrificing straight-up, 4/4 rock grooves. If bands like The Bronx, Idles, Refused, and old-school Shihad are your cup of tea then get your teeth into some Bad Jones.

The band spent 2018 writing music and gigging. They released first single Soul, No Body on the 28th of June. They're currently recording their debut album with Dave Rhodes at Depot Sound. The album is slated for release in early 2020 and the band is aiming to make it the most warped, feral rock n roll record ever to writhe it’s way out of Aotearoa.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bad Jones

Releases

There are no releases to display for Bad Jones.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem