25 Nov 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Narcs - Gig Review: The Narcs @ The Jam Factory, Tauranga - 28/06/19

01 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

It was a chilly evening in Tauranga, but that didn't stop fans of Kiwi music icons, The Narcs from venturing out to what was a sold out performance at The Jam Factory boutique event space in Tauranga.


The Narcs
have been delivering outstanding pop/rock music since 1980, and still appear to have a dedicated fan base today. The unplugged stripped back version of the lad’s songs has perhaps a more mature sound then the “high energy” enthusiastic and catchy melodies of years past. Firm crowd pleasers such as Diamonds On China and Heart And Soul took on a new life and proved to us just how beautiful the arrangement of these tunes are. In my opinion The Narcs unplugged are just as good as The Narcs plugged in.

The three piece version of the band consists of Andy Dickson – guitar and vocals, Liam Ryan – keyboards and Tony Waine – bass. They still managed to deliver a full sound without the addition of a drummer (who currently is Josh Sorensen). These guys have been playing music together for a long time, which was expressed in the ease they performed together and the obvious enjoyment in what they were doing. I love watching bands that have been playing together for a lifetime of memories. It is reflected in their faces.

The crowd appeared completely absorbed by the performance; there were many calls for repeat encores at the end of the set. The popular hit Heart And Soul which peaked the NZ charts in 1984, had everyone singing along. It was a stunning rendition of this song; I even sang at the top of my lungs in between taking photos. It was a tad emotional and rather surreal, as I had these guys on high rotation embedded in my mix tape back in the day.

A few diehard fans had bought in album covers to sign and the merch desk was doing brisk business at the end of the evening. I confess to doing the fan girl thing, chasing the band around at the end of the night to get autographs on my CD.

As a slight diversion from the review of the evening, what I have discovered lately is that there appears to be resurgence in NZ bands that worked and played together in the 1980's. In a different form yes, but providing much loved musical nostalgia trips for those of a certain age, taking us for a big long walk down memory lane. So, I will take this opportunity I have been given to say thank you for the musical backgrounds of our youth.

Back to the task at hand...

It is a brave move to strip back well known classics to their bare bones, but The Narcs pulled this off effortlessly. They played “hidden gems” as well as the hits also including some tracks from lesser known side projects. Summerhill Stone, Lazy Susan, Abandoned By Love and Not Over were included in the set list as well as the aforementioned well known songs of popular appeal.

The Narcs have thrown themselves back into the tour circuit this year, prior to the unplugged gigs and coming hot on the heels of the The Not Over Summer Tour, this performance proved that these guys still have what it takes to pull in the crowds. Calls for encore rang out for a long time after the band had departed the stage for the final time.

This is a group with a rich and interesting backstory which is embedded in our Trans -Tasman musical culture. It was a pleasure to see them perform live again after all these years.

The only glitch in the night’s performance came from the lighting cutting in and out during Heart And Soul, which caused a disjointed strobe effect. It was difficult to photograph in that situation causing me to put down the camera and join in with the audience to sing along to one of my all-time favourite songs. That was probably the highlight of what was a memorable evening.

We were transported back in time a few decades on the cold Tauranga Friday evening in June. It was magical.


Photos courtesy of Corinne Rutherford/Pixel Faerie. 

 

About The Narcs

If you were to look at the New Zealand music charts anytime in the mid-80's Kiwi based band The Narcs were consistently riding high. In the golden age of touring bands, The Narcs filled pubs and concert halls, played numerous festivals and opened for iconic international acts like Queen and Elton John. They toured relentlessly up and down New Zealand and across the ditch with bands like DD Smash, Split Enz, Midnight Oil and Cold Chisel. They were also in the vanguard of bands who made music video hip.

The band started as a trio in Christchurch in 1980, scoring residencies at pubs and nightclubs. It wasn’t long before their hard-edged Australasian influenced rock sound had the band playing regularly to 800 people on Friday & Saturday nights. The trio started regular touring around the South Island where they quickly built a cult following. Their early recordings spawned power pop songs like First Chance To Dance, Over My Head, No Turning Back and Stay Away which helped define the Kiwi pub rock sound that grew with the rise of Hello Sailor, DD Smash, The Exponents and Pop Mechanics.

In 1983 the mainstay trio of Andy Dickson (guitar, lead vocal), Tony Waine (bass) and Steve Clarkson (drums) moved to Auckland and were soon joined by respected keyboardist Liam Ryan. Over the following years the band wrote a slew of radio and video hits including (You Took Me) Heart and Soul, Lazy Susan, Diamonds on China, Abandoned By Love and Missing In Action.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Narcs

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Narcs.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Na Noise - Album Review: Waiting For You
24 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Low-fi Duo-wop group from Auckland Na Noise have just released their debut album Waiting For You, giving us an insight into their sonic, original approach to music. Described as the "Thelma and Louise of modern DIY guitar based music", they have created a sound which is a unique blend of organ, percussion, call and response vocals and a whole lot of fuzzy dark carnivalesque attitude.
Read More...
Album Review: Ida Lune
17 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In 2013 Deanne Krieg (WHIM, Dawn Diver), Rose Blake (Blaek, Dawn Diver) and Anna Wooles formed Poneke/Wellington avant-folk trio Ida Lune, forming a strong bond over their shared love of harmony. The trio have released their self-titled debut album which promises to be a lush blend of three part harmonies, yet each bringing to the fore their own unique style of vocals.
Read More...
Emma Rose - Single Review: Happy
03 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Talented young native of Nelson, Emma Common (Emma Rose) has forged ahead with her music recently creating an EP of three songs for the final project in her degree in Bachelor of Commercial Music at Massey University. Happy is the opening track to her Elderflower EP, which due our early 2021.
Read More...
Bravo Bonez - EP Review: Love Blast Lounge
01 Nov 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based musician, songwriter, and producer Bravo Bonez has just released his latest lo-fi offering, reminiscent of old school lounge music which is ironic because the title of his five track EP is called Love Blast Lounge.With the intention of spreading a message of "music, hope and love", Bravo Bonez music is a mix of post-punk, ambient, shoegaze and perhaps dreampop.
Read More...
Justin Sane and Huz - Single Review: Days With You
29 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Based in Auckland, electronic dance duo Justin Sane and Huz have recently released their latest single Days With You which follows on from the feel good message of hope It’s Not Over. Keeping on with spreading the good vibes, these guys have given us another easy to listen to tune with a dance element, creating that slight edge.
Read More...
Gareth Thomas - Single Review: Wake Up
07 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Kiwi artist, Gareth Thomas well known for his past endeavours with iconic New Zealand band Goodshirt, has released his latest single following on from My Dog on the upcoming 2021 album Bits. Wake Up is described as the "morning anthem for sleepyheads everywhere".
Read More...
Threat.Meet.Protocol - Single/Video Review: The Witch Trials
02 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Lurking in the shadows since 2011, Tauranga based Threat.Meet.
Read More...
Valere - Album Review: Colours
01 Oct 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based songwriter and producer Shana Llorando is electro-pop, RnB musical artist Valere. Recently releasing her luscious debut 13 track original album Colours, full of delightfully fresh and funky tracks, each one flowing harmoniously with warmth and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THEREFORE I AM
    Billie Eilish
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • POSITIONS
    Ariana Grande
  • HOLY
    Justin Bieber feat. Chance The Rapper
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • FADE AWAY
    Six60
  • WHAT YOU KNOW BOUT LOVE
    Pop Smoke
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem