29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Troy Kingi - Single Review: Babylon Grows

01 Jul 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

The first I’ve heard of this concept 10/10/10 (ten albums in ten genres over ten years) and it’s a very cool challenge for this talented artist to set, the next installment will be called Holy Colony Burning Acres which delves into the dark corners of worldly indigenous issues and politics, weighty subject matter indeed. First cab off the rank is single/video Babylon Grows.

Diving into Bob Marley territory is never an easy thing to pull off, but these guys nail it. Even with its short running time of a mere 2:30 seconds this song still manages to pack a punch. Troy’s soulful vocal delivery underpinned by lush melodies really hits that sweet note, and with its catchy chorus Babylon Grows does indeed grow on you with repeated listening. His band The Upperclass are right on point, tight and playing with enough space to let Troy's vocal delivery shine through.

The video is simple and straight to the point, fire cascades throughout, I assume to coincide with the burning acres title theme from his forthcoming album. Troy is super imposed in silhouette as is an indigenous dancer throughout over beautiful world nature backdrops, it’s a simple mechanism but works very well to paint the picture.

Worth a mention is b-side Truganini. The song kicks off with an aboriginal man speaking as Troy soulfully sings over a sparse acoustic guitar, with laid back barely there drums this one has a stripped back Trinity Roots vibe. Truganini is a soulful spiritual lullaby that celebrates the life of the woman and her struggles and enduring strength, she was believed to be the last full-blooded Aboriginal Tasmanian.

I really enjoyed these tunes and look forward to hearing more once his third album drops.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Troy Kingi

Bay of Islands-based musician/actor Troy Kingi has embarked on an eventful few years with major acting roles in Hunt For The Wilderpeople, Pa Boys, Mt Zion and The Kick, while also enjoying a successful music career. Troy Kingi was nominated for an APRA Silver Scroll last year and earned Vodafone Music Awards for Best NZ Soul Artist and Best Maori Artist in 2018. His side project, collaborative soul band L(())VE & HOPE also received rave reviews but Troy's most recent offering is his politically charged roots/reggae record, Holy Colony Burning Acres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Troy Kingi

Releases

Holy Colony Burning Acres
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019
27 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem