20 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Benee - Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019

28 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt. With her band in all black, Benee truly stands out and the absence of elaborate clothing works so well. This show isn't about the flashy (other than the awesome glittery backdrop). No. This show is about music. There was no absence in the tightness and perfectly played songs of the night. Benee is one to be watching closely.

The moment that Benee comes out to Tough Guy the crowd is roaring with excitement. Strutting around and having fun, she gets the crowd moving and dancing before getting into Wishful Thinking. While standing near the sound desk and picking up all the nuances of the sound, Cruel showcases just how tight this band is. Every musician is contributing to in a way that does not complicate Benee's sound. The song is chilled, and everyone is moving around. It is an infectious sound. While you can clearly hear they are running a backing track, the fact that she has a live band and plays like it is a live band is incredible. Anyone who is interested in music needs to check this out.

Benee's vocals cut clear through the mix and are showcased perfectly when she performs Snake Charmer. This track is funky and watching the band have fun onstage while moving around and enjoying themselves is contagious. A lot of the songs so far have been quite funky, and it works. Snake Charmer ups it with a bit more rock and bit of an 80's rap lead line to boot.

The mood is quietened during a softer song where two stool are bought out. With Want Me Back, we hear Benee's more emotive side. With heartfelt vocals and the performance to go with it, Benee quickly threw in a 'shut up' to the crowd who didn't seem to understand what they were witnessing. The noise of the audience drowned out a lot of the softer moments which personally drove me mad. But this did not get in the way of Benee's performance. She continued to demonstrate her professionalism.

Right away when Soaked started, the entire audience came alive again, with everyone singing and phones out recording the biggest hit of the night. I loved this song already, with its jazzy and chilled out chord progression. I love it even more now. Such a huge sound from this song when played live. Incredible stuff.

The standout track for me was Monster. The way that the bass and drums connected and stayed tight during the track provided evidence around how rehearsed and practiced the whole band is. Clever guitar and keyboard parts fill the space here and it is a pleasure to watch and take it. It is music appreciation 101. Take notice of what is happening, and you will be rewarded. Definitely my favourite track and performance of the night.

It is clear to me know after having seen Benee live that she is someone to keep a close eye on. The ability to interact with the audience and have fun seems extremely natural to her. It doesn't feel fake and put on and I love that. Would you consider Benee to be pop? No. Sure, it's popular. It feels alternative to me. A mix between that and indie. Whatever it is, it is a unique sound that Benee has created and ultimately it translates perfectly live. I cannot wait to see her again.

Bravo.


Photos courtesy of Chony Musson

 

About Benee

August 2018 has already seen Benee step out and crush the audience at her debut Auckland performance into a bouncing ball of fun and instantly secure a slot at the sold out Others Way Festival. Feet have danced, heads have been turned. Grey Lynn’s teen star on the rise just happens to have a cracking band of Wellington-based musicians in tow and is now set to to bring her super cool attitude and remarkable set of songs to the capital city.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Benee

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

The Echo Ohs - EP Review: Wild Weeds
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Man, I love music. I love how it can take me back to different memories, times in my life and past experiences.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Greetings from Sydney
11 Sep 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
In her latest track, Greetings From Sydney, Marina Bloom paints a delicate picture about the feelings of longing to spending time with another. It is an instant classic that ebbs and flows with dynamic.
Read More...
The RVMES - Single Review: Callin' My Name
31 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Context. It is everything.
Read More...
Gig Review: Kings @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 24/08/2019
25 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
If you had told me that the ‘sold out’ Kings show at the Tuning Fork in Auckland was the last date on his very first tour, I would have probably slapped you. Why?
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single Review: All The Hours
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Geoff Ong's new single and video is a flashback to so much great 80's sounds, but yet it still sounds fresh like it's from Geoff. His unique approach to pop music is commendable.
Read More...
Corduroy. - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Corduroy. are releasing their newest single Good Intentions from their upcoming EP.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - EP Review: Awkwardly Eccentric
13 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Hybrid Rose’s EP, Awkwardly Eccentric, is an enjoyable ride through different emotions. On the opening track Pearl, featuring Jahleel, the passionate lyrics and delivery take this song through different waves of emotion.
Read More...
Gig Review: Louis Baker @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 9/08/2019
09 Aug 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Tight. That would be one of the simplest and most effective ways to describe Louis Baker's sound.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem