20 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Benee - Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019

28 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt. With her band in all black, Benee truly stands out and the absence of elaborate clothing works so well. This show isn't about the flashy (other than the awesome glittery backdrop). No. This show is about music. There was no absence in the tightness and perfectly played songs of the night. Benee is one to be watching closely.

The moment that Benee comes out to Tough Guy the crowd is roaring with excitement. Strutting around and having fun, she gets the crowd moving and dancing before getting into Wishful Thinking. While standing near the sound desk and picking up all the nuances of the sound, Cruel showcases just how tight this band is. Every musician is contributing to in a way that does not complicate Benee's sound. The song is chilled, and everyone is moving around. It is an infectious sound. While you can clearly hear they are running a backing track, the fact that she has a live band and plays like it is a live band is incredible. Anyone who is interested in music needs to check this out.

Benee's vocals cut clear through the mix and are showcased perfectly when she performs Snake Charmer. This track is funky and watching the band have fun onstage while moving around and enjoying themselves is contagious. A lot of the songs so far have been quite funky, and it works. Snake Charmer ups it with a bit more rock and bit of an 80's rap lead line to boot.

The mood is quietened during a softer song where two stool are bought out. With Want Me Back, we hear Benee's more emotive side. With heartfelt vocals and the performance to go with it, Benee quickly threw in a 'shut up' to the crowd who didn't seem to understand what they were witnessing. The noise of the audience drowned out a lot of the softer moments which personally drove me mad. But this did not get in the way of Benee's performance. She continued to demonstrate her professionalism.

Right away when Soaked started, the entire audience came alive again, with everyone singing and phones out recording the biggest hit of the night. I loved this song already, with its jazzy and chilled out chord progression. I love it even more now. Such a huge sound from this song when played live. Incredible stuff.

The standout track for me was Monster. The way that the bass and drums connected and stayed tight during the track provided evidence around how rehearsed and practiced the whole band is. Clever guitar and keyboard parts fill the space here and it is a pleasure to watch and take it. It is music appreciation 101. Take notice of what is happening, and you will be rewarded. Definitely my favourite track and performance of the night.

It is clear to me know after having seen Benee live that she is someone to keep a close eye on. The ability to interact with the audience and have fun seems extremely natural to her. It doesn't feel fake and put on and I love that. Would you consider Benee to be pop? No. Sure, it's popular. It feels alternative to me. A mix between that and indie. Whatever it is, it is a unique sound that Benee has created and ultimately it translates perfectly live. I cannot wait to see her again.

Bravo.


Photos courtesy of Chony Musson

 

About Benee

August 2018 has already seen Benee step out and crush the audience at her debut Auckland performance into a bouncing ball of fun and instantly secure a slot at the sold out Others Way Festival. Feet have danced, heads have been turned. Grey Lynn’s teen star on the rise just happens to have a cracking band of Wellington-based musicians in tow and is now set to to bring her super cool attitude and remarkable set of songs to the capital city.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Benee

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Benee - EP Review: Fire On Marzz
17 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Fire On Marzz. This EP is actually on fire.
Read More...
Stan Walker - Single Review: Give
11 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Stan Walker’s new single Give is a concrete example of how diverse and powerful his vocal ability is. I can feel him, feel his passion for change in our world, and his message about needing to be better yourself in order to see the change that you want to see.
Read More...
Kings - Single Review: Flex
09 Jul 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Flex is the new single from one of New Zealand's foremost hip-hop star, Kings. The Don't Worry 'Bout It hitmaker continues to prove that he is not just a one-hit wonder and his momentum does not seem to be stopping.
Read More...
Ahjay Stelino - EP Review: Makes Me Smile
25 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Ahjay Stelino has written some fantastic songs that require to chill, find a comfy couch and listen to the way the music tells a story in each song. The is a lot of space, dynamically and instrumentally to allow for each song to breath.
Read More...
Randa - Single/Video Review: Rock Bottom
14 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
Randa is back! The new track Rock Bottom is a funky track that will catch you off guard with its catchy hook in the chorus.
Read More...
Missy - EP Review: Strange
13 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
At 25, Missy is someone that you must keep on your radar. From the moment the EP starts, it is evident that Missy means business.
Read More...
EP Review: Bailey Wiley
03 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
The Bailey Wiley EP is a fresh sound my ears needed to hear. To me, it feels totally inspired by the 90's soul and funk music of New Zealand.
Read More...
SHAYNA - Single Review: I Know
03 Jun 2019 // by Ben Ruegg
There is something about modern pop music that seems to resonate with so many people. I'm not entirely sure if it is to do with the general similarity between each pop hit that fills the airwaves that gives the listener that sense of 'having heard it before', or if it the lyrical content that, in most cases, is about getting drunk, regretting it and then singing about it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem