14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BENEE - Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019

28 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt. With her band in all black, Benee truly stands out and the absence of elaborate clothing works so well. This show isn't about the flashy (other than the awesome glittery backdrop). No. This show is about music. There was no absence in the tightness and perfectly played songs of the night. Benee is one to be watching closely.

The moment that Benee comes out to Tough Guy the crowd is roaring with excitement. Strutting around and having fun, she gets the crowd moving and dancing before getting into Wishful Thinking. While standing near the sound desk and picking up all the nuances of the sound, Cruel showcases just how tight this band is. Every musician is contributing to in a way that does not complicate Benee's sound. The song is chilled, and everyone is moving around. It is an infectious sound. While you can clearly hear they are running a backing track, the fact that she has a live band and plays like it is a live band is incredible. Anyone who is interested in music needs to check this out.

Benee's vocals cut clear through the mix and are showcased perfectly when she performs Snake Charmer. This track is funky and watching the band have fun onstage while moving around and enjoying themselves is contagious. A lot of the songs so far have been quite funky, and it works. Snake Charmer ups it with a bit more rock and bit of an 80's rap lead line to boot.

The mood is quietened during a softer song where two stool are bought out. With Want Me Back, we hear Benee's more emotive side. With heartfelt vocals and the performance to go with it, Benee quickly threw in a 'shut up' to the crowd who didn't seem to understand what they were witnessing. The noise of the audience drowned out a lot of the softer moments which personally drove me mad. But this did not get in the way of Benee's performance. She continued to demonstrate her professionalism.

Right away when Soaked started, the entire audience came alive again, with everyone singing and phones out recording the biggest hit of the night. I loved this song already, with its jazzy and chilled out chord progression. I love it even more now. Such a huge sound from this song when played live. Incredible stuff.

The standout track for me was Monster. The way that the bass and drums connected and stayed tight during the track provided evidence around how rehearsed and practiced the whole band is. Clever guitar and keyboard parts fill the space here and it is a pleasure to watch and take it. It is music appreciation 101. Take notice of what is happening, and you will be rewarded. Definitely my favourite track and performance of the night.

It is clear to me know after having seen Benee live that she is someone to keep a close eye on. The ability to interact with the audience and have fun seems extremely natural to her. It doesn't feel fake and put on and I love that. Would you consider Benee to be pop? No. Sure, it's popular. It feels alternative to me. A mix between that and indie. Whatever it is, it is a unique sound that Benee has created and ultimately it translates perfectly live. I cannot wait to see her again.

Bravo.


Photos courtesy of Chony Musson

 

About BENEE

Vi·sion·ar·y – as defined by Google – is a (noun) person with original ideas who plans the future with imagination or wisdom. With both traits in abundance well beyond her 19 years, New Zealand’s Benee redefines the word.

“I have what’s called my Beneevision,” says the Auckland born singer. “It’s the idea that all of my music, visuals and content contribute to a greater artwork. Right now, I have a blank canvas. I want to pick different mediums, smash them all together through music and physical art, and collaborate with as many different creatives as possible. I use the example of a Jackson Pollock painting.”

Layer upon layer, Benee’s art takes shape. Carving out a space between indie pop and R&B, she deconstructs modern “pop music” to create a sonic landscape all her own.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BENEE

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Steffany Beck - Single Review: I Have A Dream
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track I Have a Dream from Steffany Beck is a wonderfully uplifting song that feels authentic and honest. The mix and overall sound of the track allow for the recording to feel natural and heart-warming.
Read More...
Lauren Gin - EP Review: Supernova
13 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The EP Supernova from Lauren Gin is subtle and done so elegantly. The opening track Need To Know showcases a more thoughtful and relaxed, almost conversational like vocal that bucks the trend for the big vocal you would typically expect from a track like this.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Beths @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 11/07/2020
12 Jul 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The Beths truly showcased why they are so beloved by so many people. The way Elizabeth Stokes and her band, made up of Jonathan Pearce, Benjamin Sinclair and Tristan Deck, commanded the stage so effortlessly was refreshing.
Read More...
And$um - Album Review: Volume 1
26 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um's album entitled Volume 1 is a trip through a whole range of ideas and concepts.Armed with an idea, a sound and a vision, And$um takes ownership of his sound and runs with it.
Read More...
Ekko Park - Single Review: All On Eyes On Me
24 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow! Hit repeat.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - EP Review: #SecondSelfie
11 Jun 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The room sound really comes through in the opening track of the new EP, #SecondSelfie, from Darryl Baser. It brings a real sense of honesty to recordings.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Devout
28 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Devout is the latest single from She Loves You, a 4-piece Auckland-based fast-talking all-action girl group.The track starts off quietly but quickly builds in a dance-rock song in the chorus.
Read More...
Mazbou Q - EP Review: Afroternity
20 May 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
The debut EP from Mazbou Q is a powerful statement. Not only musically in the world of the now trap dominated rap and hip-hop scene, but also through the lyrical ideas that make up the 6-tracks of Afroternity.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem