24 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

BENEE - Gig Review: Benee @ The Powerstation, Auckland - 28/06/2019

28 Jun 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Benee knows how to own the stage. Tonight, playing at a sold-out Powerstation, she commands the stage in baggy pants and a light blue t-shirt. With her band in all black, Benee truly stands out and the absence of elaborate clothing works so well. This show isn't about the flashy (other than the awesome glittery backdrop). No. This show is about music. There was no absence in the tightness and perfectly played songs of the night. Benee is one to be watching closely.

The moment that Benee comes out to Tough Guy the crowd is roaring with excitement. Strutting around and having fun, she gets the crowd moving and dancing before getting into Wishful Thinking. While standing near the sound desk and picking up all the nuances of the sound, Cruel showcases just how tight this band is. Every musician is contributing to in a way that does not complicate Benee's sound. The song is chilled, and everyone is moving around. It is an infectious sound. While you can clearly hear they are running a backing track, the fact that she has a live band and plays like it is a live band is incredible. Anyone who is interested in music needs to check this out.

Benee's vocals cut clear through the mix and are showcased perfectly when she performs Snake Charmer. This track is funky and watching the band have fun onstage while moving around and enjoying themselves is contagious. A lot of the songs so far have been quite funky, and it works. Snake Charmer ups it with a bit more rock and bit of an 80's rap lead line to boot.

The mood is quietened during a softer song where two stool are bought out. With Want Me Back, we hear Benee's more emotive side. With heartfelt vocals and the performance to go with it, Benee quickly threw in a 'shut up' to the crowd who didn't seem to understand what they were witnessing. The noise of the audience drowned out a lot of the softer moments which personally drove me mad. But this did not get in the way of Benee's performance. She continued to demonstrate her professionalism.

Right away when Soaked started, the entire audience came alive again, with everyone singing and phones out recording the biggest hit of the night. I loved this song already, with its jazzy and chilled out chord progression. I love it even more now. Such a huge sound from this song when played live. Incredible stuff.

The standout track for me was Monster. The way that the bass and drums connected and stayed tight during the track provided evidence around how rehearsed and practiced the whole band is. Clever guitar and keyboard parts fill the space here and it is a pleasure to watch and take it. It is music appreciation 101. Take notice of what is happening, and you will be rewarded. Definitely my favourite track and performance of the night.

It is clear to me know after having seen Benee live that she is someone to keep a close eye on. The ability to interact with the audience and have fun seems extremely natural to her. It doesn't feel fake and put on and I love that. Would you consider Benee to be pop? No. Sure, it's popular. It feels alternative to me. A mix between that and indie. Whatever it is, it is a unique sound that Benee has created and ultimately it translates perfectly live. I cannot wait to see her again.

Bravo.


Photos courtesy of Chony Musson

 

About BENEE

From her hometown in Auckland, New Zealand, breakthrough popstar Stella Bennett, aka BENEE, sounds unphased, unchanged and almost impervious to the cataclysmic success coming her way since releasing her debut EP last summer. Already her tale is one of eye-watering statistics and achievements with half a billion streams of her latest single Supalonely featuring Gus Dapperton, a track that is still camped at the top of Spotify and radio airplay charts all over the world, collecting platinum records as it goes and seeing her make her U.S. TV debut on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon in June. Her story is international and expanding on the hour, across modern and traditional platforms. Her audience seems endless. BENEE, however, remains easygoing, centered and—most importantly—herself.

It’s not yet six months since the release of her second EP of 2019, Stella & Steve (follow-up to debut Fire On Marzz), garnered knockout reviews. Breakthrough track Supalonely is a slice of upbeat and original pop—like its creator, a little exotic and cheerfully weird. The song hits like a ray of sunshine, jammed to the hilt with personality and punctuated by BENEE’s verbal tics. Her loneliness is not just empowering, it becomes super-powered as she sings, “I've been lonely, mm, ah, yeah...Lonely (I'm a lonely bitch)”

“I had broken up with my boyfriend,” recalls BENEE. “I wanted to twist the fact that I was sad and irritated about the relationship ending—so I wrote the song poking fun at myself.” Self-deprecation comes naturally to BENEE, expressed through her playful personality both on stage and online, an explosive riot of randomness that makes her all the more intriguing. However, if we can’t pin Stella down, who is this STEVE?

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for BENEE

Releases

Fire On Marzz
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Stella & Steve
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
Gig Review: Th' Dudes @ Town Hall, Auckland - 19/11/2020
21 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Arriving at the Auckland Town Hall and subsequently finding parking was a lot easier than I had anticipated. The town seems very quiet at around 7:30 pm, although there is a large gathering of people around the Town Hall, an indication that something big is happening.
Read More...
Boy Virgo - Single Review: Psycho
15 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Here is a track that takes what you think you know about genres of music and says, "Nope, you are wrong". On the new track Psycho from Boy Virgo, I think this is the one thing I really enjoyed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Jordan Luck Band @ Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club, Pukekohe - 6/11/2020
08 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
It’s a Friday night in Pukekohe and as I walk into the Pukekohe Cosmopolitan Club just before 8 pm you can feel the anticipation in the air. Looking like a high school ball, there is a large dance floor in front of the stage while the rest of the venue is lined vertically with tables.
Read More...
Krispy & The Pooch - EP Review Drop The Needle
06 Nov 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
Wow. Krispy & The Pooch have quite the EP here.
Read More...
And$um - EP Review: Late Nights
29 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
And$um has returned with a new EP. Made up of six tracks, this is yet another collection of songs that demonstrate the sound Sam brings to this project.
Read More...
Gig Review: BENEE @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 16/10/2020
17 Oct 2020 // by Ben Ruegg
As I got to Spark Arena for the first time since February this year, I couldn't help but notice how many families were there with smiling kids, and parents alike, all waiting for doors to open. BENEE has become quite a superstar over this past year which has been awesome to see.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • 34+35
    Ariana Grande
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem