4 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Take Hold - EP Review: Disrepair

27 Jun 2019 // A review by Kris Raven

I have seen Take Hold’s name pop in up various social media circles, posters and events but had not had a chance to check them out. Their debut five song EP Disrepair had me instantly hooked from the first listen, reminding me of past and present melodic hardcore bands from the 00's to the 10's and more recently. This particular sub-genre has always had a really positive upbeat feel for me. While it's vocally aggressive and fast with punchy riffs, the chords and melodic lines pack so many good vibes it's hard not to have the feels.

The first track Patience begins with an opening clean riff, then kicks in half time groove with a light lead over the top, lead vocalist Jai Aronsen's harsh vocals in full swing, reminiscent of Canadian hardcore band Counterparts vocalist Brandon Murphy. You can hear the Counterparts influence throughout the record, but I also hear nods to earlier hardcore and metalcore legends like Poison the Well and Norma Jean, just in terms of certain structures and how the songs piece together. Like a lot of these more progressive core bands, the songs aren’t so much verse-chorus repeat but a series of sections that build and grow, moving between frantic intensity and then melodic atmospheric parts.

The second track Bloom wastes no time, coming in full throttle, fast punk hardcore beats with discordant guitars, reminding me of early Hundreth. The drums are manic, and the vocals are passionately violent while the lead guitar holds down and carries the melodies throughout. The offbeat guitar and tone stand out and the song stops with small breaths of lighter ambient moments. The final passage we are serenaded with the lead guitar ascending above and ending with melodic chords playing out with Jai’s screams fading in the background. The guitar duo of Josh Krisansen and Tomas Newbury provide much of the songs creative drive, providing a mix of distorted discorded notes and chords, symphonic lead lines and heavy punch hardcore riffage.

The third track Scatter has an initial groove feel with a slight metal core tinge then gains momentum quick fast. Much of the songs escalate and come back down to half time then accelerate again, keeping you on your listening toes. While Overboard had a slight progressive feel with more off beat sections, drummer Levi Wenzlick is consistently solid, I like the small flourishes of double kick and tom fills throughout with bassist Thomas Butler holding down the low end underneath some of manic chaos. The final track Diminish is another out the gate, super-fast track, a little Ghost Inside with the sweet floor tom impact. The riffs are aggressive and the break down is massive but still carries the discorded melody.

The band recorded this EP independently whilst it was mixed and mastered by Jay Maas, the man behind the likes of Counterparts and Bane. Take Hold have certainly packed this EP full, it’s a short journey but it's gonna take people all over the place. These guys know what they are doing and how to do it, wearing their influences on their sleeves. I was incredibly impressed with the composition; the passion and intensity and I cannot wait to see them do it live!

Again, I'll keep saying it, NZ metal, rock, hardcore and all its various sub genres are world class and we have some of the best bands in the world. Go listen to them and support them at theirs shows and buy their merch! EP is out now!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Disrepair
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
City of Souls - Album Review: Synaesthesia
30 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
Alright people, it’s here, it’s finally here!5 years in the making.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Album Review: This Is Not A Future
15 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
These Four Walls, a household name in NZ rock since the mid 2000's, the now Australian-based alt rock four piece are about to release their third album This Is Not A Future and the timing feels eerily perfect, an album name never seemed more real right now. Beginning with The Sound, the opening lyric "All my life I've lived this song" is a hauntingly introverted revelation that gives you an indication on where this album will take you.
Read More...
Devilskin - Album Review: Red
01 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
On album number four, RED is both a warning and a statement and Devilskin are here to deliver it in their most diverse and creative outing yet. Four years have passed since the release of their 2016 award-winning second album Be Like The River and as they come off the back of heavy national and international touring; Devilskin, one of NZ’s most beloved Rock/Metal bands is about to release their highly anticipated album in amongst the chaos of 2020.
Read More...
Crooked Royals - Single Review: Copacetic
19 Mar 2020 // by Kris Raven
Crooked Royals are back! With brand new single Copacetic about to be released, Auckland progressive metalcore five-piece Crooked Royals are continuing their meteoric rise and adding to an already brilliant 2020 of music (and its only March!
Read More...
City of Souls - Single Review: Shimmer
27 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
The time is drawing ever closer to the impending, highly anticipated release of NZ Prog/Alt Rock Metal legends City of Souls debut album Synaesthesia. Off the back of several (SIX) epic single releases in the last five years, we received not one, but two brand new singles this week, the beautifully haunting White Ghost and the groove inducing heavy banger Shimmer, which is out today!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Single Review: Wretched Tracks
13 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
It’s always a good thing to hear of new music coming from the nation's capital, having been the hub of such huge and varying artists. However, in recent years there seems to have been a steady increase in bands and artists calling it a day.
Read More...
Streakers - Single Review: Saturated
14 Oct 2019 // by Kris Raven
Christchurch 3 Piece Alternative Rock and roll machine Streakers have recently dropped their new single Saturated. The song takes me back to the 90’s, with the sounds of big chunky guitar riffs, pounding Grohl-esque drums and unique vocal stylings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • SUPALONELY
    BENEE feat. Gus Dapperton
  • SAVAGE (REMIX)
    Megan Thee Stallion feat. Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem