20 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Take Hold - EP Review: Disrepair

27 Jun 2019 // A review by Kris Raven

I have seen Take Hold’s name pop in up various social media circles, posters and events but had not had a chance to check them out. Their debut five song EP Disrepair had me instantly hooked from the first listen, reminding me of past and present melodic hardcore bands from the 00's to the 10's and more recently. This particular sub-genre has always had a really positive upbeat feel for me. While it's vocally aggressive and fast with punchy riffs, the chords and melodic lines pack so many good vibes it's hard not to have the feels.

The first track Patience begins with an opening clean riff, then kicks in half time groove with a light lead over the top, lead vocalist Jai Aronsen's harsh vocals in full swing, reminiscent of Canadian hardcore band Counterparts vocalist Brandon Murphy. You can hear the Counterparts influence throughout the record, but I also hear nods to earlier hardcore and metalcore legends like Poison the Well and Norma Jean, just in terms of certain structures and how the songs piece together. Like a lot of these more progressive core bands, the songs aren’t so much verse-chorus repeat but a series of sections that build and grow, moving between frantic intensity and then melodic atmospheric parts.

The second track Bloom wastes no time, coming in full throttle, fast punk hardcore beats with discordant guitars, reminding me of early Hundreth. The drums are manic, and the vocals are passionately violent while the lead guitar holds down and carries the melodies throughout. The offbeat guitar and tone stand out and the song stops with small breaths of lighter ambient moments. The final passage we are serenaded with the lead guitar ascending above and ending with melodic chords playing out with Jai’s screams fading in the background. The guitar duo of Josh Krisansen and Tomas Newbury provide much of the songs creative drive, providing a mix of distorted discorded notes and chords, symphonic lead lines and heavy punch hardcore riffage.

The third track Scatter has an initial groove feel with a slight metal core tinge then gains momentum quick fast. Much of the songs escalate and come back down to half time then accelerate again, keeping you on your listening toes. While Overboard had a slight progressive feel with more off beat sections, drummer Levi Wenzlick is consistently solid, I like the small flourishes of double kick and tom fills throughout with bassist Thomas Butler holding down the low end underneath some of manic chaos. The final track Diminish is another out the gate, super-fast track, a little Ghost Inside with the sweet floor tom impact. The riffs are aggressive and the break down is massive but still carries the discorded melody.

The band recorded this EP independently whilst it was mixed and mastered by Jay Maas, the man behind the likes of Counterparts and Bane. Take Hold have certainly packed this EP full, it’s a short journey but it's gonna take people all over the place. These guys know what they are doing and how to do it, wearing their influences on their sleeves. I was incredibly impressed with the composition; the passion and intensity and I cannot wait to see them do it live!

Again, I'll keep saying it, NZ metal, rock, hardcore and all its various sub genres are world class and we have some of the best bands in the world. Go listen to them and support them at theirs shows and buy their merch! EP is out now!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Disrepair
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Sex Beard - Single Review: Undress for Success
18 Sep 2019 // by Kris Raven
One of Christchurch’s (possibly the only) most notorious sexiest bearded quartets Sex Beard have just released their follow up single to Hauraki Radio’s Anthem Wakachangi Baby entitled Undress for Success. A song that is perfect for busting out your hip swinging moves, drinking a beer, rocking out and singing loud.
Read More...
REI (band) - Single Review: Vore
11 Sep 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland 5 piece REI (not to be confused with Rei the NZ Hip-Hop artist) have just released their debut single Vore. Crossing genre lines by blending mathcore and emo is no easy feat but this is an example of original fusion done well and sounding unique.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - Single Review: Prometheus/Eventide
28 Aug 2019 // by Kris Raven
For anyone familiar with Seas of Conflict’s live shows, you will know that throughout the last year Prometheus has been the song that has been leaving fans in awe, pummelled by its sheer brutality. It is one of their heaviest songs to date and a crowd favourite with many people eagerly waiting for the song to be recorded.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Blue Dragon
01 Aug 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland 5-piece Outside In have just released their third single Blue Dragon from their upcoming debut album. The progressive rock quintet has been busy this year after taking a lengthy sabbatical, reintroducing NZ audiences to their intellectually crafted brand of alternative prog rock.
Read More...
Pale Flag - EP Review: Emergence
25 Jul 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland’s Pale Flag are about to release their debut EP Emergence, which is aptly named considering their already stacked gigging CV. Having released their brutal first single In This Moment, their growing fan base can expect to hear 6 brand new heavy af bangers.
Read More...
Animalhead - Single Review: Stone Face Killer
22 May 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland’s favourite lads Animalhead on the lash are back with their massive third single Stone Face Killer. The ferocious trio are known for their chunky and funky riffs, massive groove, dabs of rap and blues, soaking it in rock and roll and turning out the party bangers for a throw down.
Read More...
Claemus - Singles Review: 'Rule of Two' and 'Progenitor'
16 May 2019 // by Kris Raven
Hutt Valley's finest, Claemus, have just dropped the first two singles from their forthcoming EP. If the singles and previous works are anything to go by then our ears are in for some of the finest progressive rock/metal this year.
Read More...
Pale Lady - Single Review: Fear the Fun
18 Apr 2019 // by Kris Raven
From the first listen of Pale Lady’s latest single Fear The Fun it instantly reminded me of Medieval times, with the harpsichord keys playing a little jig which is the intro theme to the whole song, it's fun and I did not fear it. Then the epicness begins, how can anyone not like duel guitars wailing and soloing melodically together carrying the anthemic tune into the battle.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem