27 Jun 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss June - Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019

12 Jun 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Tonight just blew my mind.

Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.com) little apartments in Hoxton. It (the apartment) is actually very cool and it turns out NZ band Looking For Alaska are playing in the bar downstairs.

On any other Tuesday evening that would have been great but tonight I am heading to Shoreditch venue The Old Blue Last as Auckland’s Miss June are in the old smoke for the first of three gigs before they head off to the good ol’ US of A.

They have just played over the ditch in Aussie and after seeing Miss June play Mt Smart (Foo Fighters), The Tuning Fork (Idles), I am really looking forward to seeing how they translate to a UK crowd. London gigs can either be a one man and his dog affair or an absolute packed out blast. Tonight’s gig is free and as Cold Fins take the stage there are around 30 people in a room about the size of Auckland’s Ding Dong lounge. This is a good sign for a London gig on a Tuesday night.

The room keeps filling as Cold Fins actually warm things up with their melancholic/upbeat vibe. It’s a shame the bass was way too loud (although played well) as the volume pummelled some beautiful songs like ants being squished by a 5 year-old's fingers.

When Miss June take the stage, the room is full and expectant. I am nervous as they are relying on an in house engineer who clearly didn’t give a fuck with the first band. Here we go ........ Feedback. Amps overloaded. A statement of intent and then it explodes!!

This is all the best gigs I have been to rolled into 30 seconds of HELL YEAH.

The engineer is fucked! Everything is at full volume and full pelt, but Annabelle's vocals cut through like steel. This is one of the best starts to a gig ever.

Watching Miss June squished into this tiny room, the intensity is amplified. It is physical. You can feel it. This is like sticking your tongue on a battery. You can taste the energy in this place tonight.

I have seen Miss June many times but tonight was the first time I saw them as a full on punk band. They played the same songs, but the spit and bile came over in glorious waves. Maybe it was because this gig was back in the UK where I grew up and had seen so many incendiary first gigs but tonight this little band from little NZ gave me a buzz I thought I would never feel again.

Every single note, every single chord, every single beat and every heart felt word hit home. It gave me goosebumps. When a London crowd looks at you with jaws firmly dropped, not moving, not cheering, just gob smacked you know things are going well.

This gig was legendary.

Like Cairo Knife Fight at the Kings Arms.

Like The Mint Chicks at Brewers Bar.

Like Miss June playing London on a Tuesday night at The Old Blue Last in June 2019

You wish you could have been there.

I am lucky.

I was.

 

Releases

Matriarchy
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • YOU NEED TO CALM DOWN
    Taylor Swift
  • NO GUIDANCE
    Chris Brown feat. Drake
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem