16 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss June - Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019

12 Jun 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Tonight just blew my mind.

Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.com) little apartments in Hoxton. It (the apartment) is actually very cool and it turns out NZ band Looking For Alaska are playing in the bar downstairs.

On any other Tuesday evening that would have been great but tonight I am heading to Shoreditch venue The Old Blue Last as Auckland’s Miss June are in the old smoke for the first of three gigs before they head off to the good ol’ US of A.

They have just played over the ditch in Aussie and after seeing Miss June play Mt Smart (Foo Fighters), The Tuning Fork (Idles), I am really looking forward to seeing how they translate to a UK crowd. London gigs can either be a one man and his dog affair or an absolute packed out blast. Tonight’s gig is free and as Cold Fins take the stage there are around 30 people in a room about the size of Auckland’s Ding Dong lounge. This is a good sign for a London gig on a Tuesday night.

The room keeps filling as Cold Fins actually warm things up with their melancholic/upbeat vibe. It’s a shame the bass was way too loud (although played well) as the volume pummelled some beautiful songs like ants being squished by a 5 year-old's fingers.

When Miss June take the stage, the room is full and expectant. I am nervous as they are relying on an in house engineer who clearly didn’t give a fuck with the first band. Here we go ........ Feedback. Amps overloaded. A statement of intent and then it explodes!!

This is all the best gigs I have been to rolled into 30 seconds of HELL YEAH.

The engineer is fucked! Everything is at full volume and full pelt, but Annabelle's vocals cut through like steel. This is one of the best starts to a gig ever.

Watching Miss June squished into this tiny room, the intensity is amplified. It is physical. You can feel it. This is like sticking your tongue on a battery. You can taste the energy in this place tonight.

I have seen Miss June many times but tonight was the first time I saw them as a full on punk band. They played the same songs, but the spit and bile came over in glorious waves. Maybe it was because this gig was back in the UK where I grew up and had seen so many incendiary first gigs but tonight this little band from little NZ gave me a buzz I thought I would never feel again.

Every single note, every single chord, every single beat and every heart felt word hit home. It gave me goosebumps. When a London crowd looks at you with jaws firmly dropped, not moving, not cheering, just gob smacked you know things are going well.

This gig was legendary.

Like Cairo Knife Fight at the Kings Arms.

Like The Mint Chicks at Brewers Bar.

Like Miss June playing London on a Tuesday night at The Old Blue Last in June 2019

You wish you could have been there.

I am lucky.

I was.

 

Releases

Bad Luck Party
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Matriarchy
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
Miss June - Album Review: Bad Luck Party
17 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Where do I even start? OK let’s start at a Foo Fighters gig where the sound was shite and the atmosphere was way more sterile than the toilets.
Read More...
Royal Jackets - EP Review: ...Again
09 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Music should never fit in a box. It should refuse to be pigeon-holed.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Others Way Festival @ K'Road, Auckland - 30/08/2019
01 Sep 2019 // by Paul Goddard
K Rd is electric! Even Tesla has opened up its Auckland branch on Auckland’s most (in)famous street.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Wild Weeds
19 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We live in an age of instant gratification.Wake up.
Read More...
Amanaki - Single Review: Exit Wounds
12 Aug 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Some music should never be played through shitty little speakers. In fact, I would argue that no music should ever be played through them.
Read More...
Old Loaves - Album Review: Banks
30 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Erm, the name Old Loaves conjures up an image of staleness, decay, the end of things. Apparently it was a name that came about as a friend of the band spotted some old loaves in cupboard.
Read More...
Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem