5 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Miss June - Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019

12 Jun 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Tonight just blew my mind.

Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.com) little apartments in Hoxton. It (the apartment) is actually very cool and it turns out NZ band Looking For Alaska are playing in the bar downstairs.

On any other Tuesday evening that would have been great but tonight I am heading to Shoreditch venue The Old Blue Last as Auckland’s Miss June are in the old smoke for the first of three gigs before they head off to the good ol’ US of A.

They have just played over the ditch in Aussie and after seeing Miss June play Mt Smart (Foo Fighters), The Tuning Fork (Idles), I am really looking forward to seeing how they translate to a UK crowd. London gigs can either be a one man and his dog affair or an absolute packed out blast. Tonight’s gig is free and as Cold Fins take the stage there are around 30 people in a room about the size of Auckland’s Ding Dong lounge. This is a good sign for a London gig on a Tuesday night.

The room keeps filling as Cold Fins actually warm things up with their melancholic/upbeat vibe. It’s a shame the bass was way too loud (although played well) as the volume pummelled some beautiful songs like ants being squished by a 5 year-old's fingers.

When Miss June take the stage, the room is full and expectant. I am nervous as they are relying on an in house engineer who clearly didn’t give a fuck with the first band. Here we go ........ Feedback. Amps overloaded. A statement of intent and then it explodes!!

This is all the best gigs I have been to rolled into 30 seconds of HELL YEAH.

The engineer is fucked! Everything is at full volume and full pelt, but Annabelle's vocals cut through like steel. This is one of the best starts to a gig ever.

Watching Miss June squished into this tiny room, the intensity is amplified. It is physical. You can feel it. This is like sticking your tongue on a battery. You can taste the energy in this place tonight.

I have seen Miss June many times but tonight was the first time I saw them as a full on punk band. They played the same songs, but the spit and bile came over in glorious waves. Maybe it was because this gig was back in the UK where I grew up and had seen so many incendiary first gigs but tonight this little band from little NZ gave me a buzz I thought I would never feel again.

Every single note, every single chord, every single beat and every heart felt word hit home. It gave me goosebumps. When a London crowd looks at you with jaws firmly dropped, not moving, not cheering, just gob smacked you know things are going well.

This gig was legendary.

Like Cairo Knife Fight at the Kings Arms.

Like The Mint Chicks at Brewers Bar.

Like Miss June playing London on a Tuesday night at The Old Blue Last in June 2019

You wish you could have been there.

I am lucky.

I was.

 

About Miss June

Miss June is what happens when angst matures. Raised in the embers of punk rock, Miss June harness jagged, noisy guitars filtered through the unrivalled stage presence of frontperson Annabel Liddell, unafraid, unapologetic and ready to wake up the music scene.

Described as "some unholy union between Sonic Youth and Le Tigre", the NZ four piece, completed by the music school alumni recruited by Liddell – guitarist Jun Park, bass player Chris Marshall and drummer Tom Leggett – has built a reputation for fierce, formidable and head-spinning live shows.

Miss June have caught the attention of acts like The Foo Fighters, Shellac, Wolf Alice, Idles and Die! Die! Die!, who have all eagerly harnessed their support on stage.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Miss June

Releases

Bad Luck Party
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Matriarchy
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem