19 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tryptofunk - Album Review: Tranzendent Sheeeiit

04 Jun 2019 // A review by Jason Peters

Tryptofunk open up their latest offering with album title track Tranzendent Sheeeiit, with a De La Soul vibe, slick production and catchy soul chorus, it guides the listener into this album very nicely and with some trademark Tryptofunk humour thrown in for good measure.

Track two Freak The Funk Out steps up the pace with its groovy funky bass line. I dig the variety of singing, raps and melody lines on this one, the twin harmonies and rhyming duet of Dr Archaeo aka Dhaivat Mehta and DJ Kingz aka Kingsley Smith work very well throughout this album, and with a killer chorus this song is a cracker.

Funky beats and melodic vocal lines aren’t new to Hip-Hop, but these guys know how to use those tools well on their third album. Flame Thrower begins with a spaceship landing then the track takes off into a Funkadelic styled groove, the funk is strong on this one with a catchy chorus “You can’t hold a candle to this flame thrower” I really dig the harmonies on this tune.

Enlightenment 2.0 is a tongue in cheek funky slice of groovy humour and speaking of tongues Gene Simmons gets a hilarious mention in the chorus. Monk Mode brings the beat rpm down to a slower funky flow, forget P funk we get schooled in the T funk mode on this slippery number. Dr Archaeo raps flow with ease over a smooth beat that kicks along to chilled out keys, a very sweet track indeed.

Gonzo keeps the downbeat vibe going, with heavy space funk and another memorable chorus this tune really hits the spot. Album closer Lixir lifts up the pace again with a punchy bass line and the humorous and clever lyrics flow again, this track has a Tenacious D vibe rolling in the verses, the catchy chorus “I am your Lixir, I am your healer, I am the killer of pain” sticks to the roof off your mouth like peanut butter, a great way to end this fine album.

If you dig Funkadelic, De La Soul and Funkdoobiest then this album will spin your wheels, you can never go wrong with cranking the funk machine and these dudes have the wheels spinning hard out on this album. Overall a very well-produced album with well thought out melodies and flows. It’s awesome to see Tryptofunk using funk and grooves as their canvas opposed to flavour of the month overused trap beats, check this album out, it's good sheeeiit.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tryptofunk

A funk/hiphop collaboration, bringing cosmic vibes from the sonic dimension. Injecting the spiritual with hip-hop attitude, over funkadelic grooves.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tryptofunk

Releases

Vol 3.0: Tranzendent Sheeeiit
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Vol 2.0: Choose Your Dimension
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Vol 4.0: Funkin' Up Yo Algorhythm
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Vol 1.0: Dragon Energy
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Liquid Of The Godz
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Jason Peters

Festival Review: Good Vibes @ Soundshell, Gisborne - 11/01/2020
16 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
Good Vibes was a packed-out festival with lots of very 'happy' people, after soaking up the rays and many beverages and other herbs I suspect the audience was certainly in good vibes alright. We headed over to Three Houses Down featuring General Fiyah (pictured); their brand of soul reggae was received well and their monster hit Love & Affection went over well with the enthusiastic crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shapeshifter @ Trustspower Baypark, Mt Maunganui - 28/12/2019
09 Jan 2020 // by Jason Peters
After a small hiccup getting into the venue, we arrived to see State Of Mind hitting the stage, unfortunately we had missed Concord Dawn but I heard they had a killer set. State of Mind warmed up the throngs of summer DnB heads nicely with their heavy DnB morsels, their MC hyped the crowd and it was a great set for this mini DnB festival Shapeshifter had compiled on this warm summer night.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - EP Review: Francine
14 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Well, this is a nice surprise. One of the perks of writing for Muzic.
Read More...
Pluto - Album Review: IV
13 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Before egos ran wild and personalities clashed to derail Pluto or Pipeline Under The Ocean in 2009 they reigned supreme on the local alternative music scene and even hitting the musical jackpot with two killer singles in Dance Stamina and Long White Cross in the mid 2000's. They also released three full-length albums and played a slew of quality live shows and festivals locally and worldwide, but unfortunately it all came unraveled while recording their fourth album.
Read More...
Pale Lady - EP Review: My New Maze
01 Nov 2019 // by Jason Peters
Young Wellington 4-piece Pale Lady, winners of the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, hit us with their latest EP called My New Maze. And 6 tracks of rollicking rock n roll ensue.
Read More...
EP Review: Radio Therapy
31 Oct 2019 // by Jason Peters
If Pat Benatar and the Foo Fighters had a child it would be called Radio Therapy, that's my first impression of the first couple of tracks on Radio Therapy's second self-titled EP and that's a good thing in my books. Singer Renee Leishman is somewhat of a New Plymouth Rock legend having performed with bands Demon Dolls and 1080 in the past and her vocals in this release are crisp and full of melody, she also helps out the rhythm section by playing bass guitar too, which is impressive.
Read More...
Gig Review: Coridian @ Anthology, Auckland - 20/09/2019
27 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
I'd heard about Anthology as a new venue a couple of months back, and any new venues in Auckland that local artists can play after the demise of the legendary Kings Arms are always welcome. My buddy and I were greeted at the door by two friendly bearded characters that turned out to be the drummer and guitarist of the headline act.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Single Review: Personify
17 Sep 2019 // by Jason Peters
L.A.
Read More...
View All Articles By Jason Peters

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem