20 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!

30 May 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle. That’s exactly what this EP is, upbeat guitar jangle and snappy lyrics.

It doesn’t take long to get hooked into the catchy vibe of That’s A Fact, a buoyant punk rock sound with a tinge of pop maintain a grungy feeling which has a uniquely Kiwi flavour, reminiscent of The Dunedin Sound.

Stephen Hillman the lead vocalist and guitarist wrote most of the lyrics on this EP, with a bit of help from Alex Borg on Six Foot Underground, and Adam Binns on (Just Like A) Millionaire (Live in the Treehouse). Honest, clear and devoid of waffle the lyrics flow cohesively. They work well with the purposeful punchy sound the band has created. There appears to be depth to the vocals with added layers of backing vocals from the guys.

Before I continue, who exactly are the “guys”? Before The Snooze is Stephen Hillman – Rhythm Guitar, Vocals, Wes Jenkins – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals, Adam Binns – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals and Scott Turnbull – Drums, Backing Vocals. This four piece band has come together to create a strong alternative rock sound which I imagine transcends well into live gigs.

The Title track, That’s A Fact also has a psychedelic music video to accompany it which is pretty trippy.

This is a solid debut release, four clean well executed songs. My personal favourite track on That’s A Fact is When You Saw Me Looking Back At You (Alternate Version), this has a very catchy rhythm and really highlights how the lad's vocals complement each other.

A nice way to round up NZ Music Month for the year. I recommend having a listen.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Before The Snooze

A group of four 30 and 40 somethings, playing original jangle guitar songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Before The Snooze

Releases

That's A Fact!
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hannah in the Wars - Single Review: Glory
19 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand singer songwriter Hannah Curwood of alternative post-punk band Hannah In The Wars, has released a new single called Glory. Hannah has an impressive body of work, both solo and with her band.
Read More...
Casey Evans - Single Review: Somewhere
07 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
A Southern girl from the Catlins, Casey Evans, formally of energetic pop duo ChanTilly, has gone out on her own with her unique blend of soulful country. Somewhere is her debut single, and it has already been added to the Hatchlings playlist on Spotify.
Read More...
Emily Riordan - Single Review: Breathe
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
It is not often a single stops me in my tracks. But that is what Emily Riordan has done with the acoustic reworking of Breathe from her EP Waves, which was released earlier in 2019.
Read More...
EP Review: Planet Hunter
01 Nov 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington four piece Planet Hunter describe themselves as stoner/alternative/prog. Named after the Planet Hunter Satellite which was launched the very same day.
Read More...
Isla - EP Review: Weirdo
30 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Hot on the heels of Isla's single release of Kids Like Me, is her new EP Weirdo. This EP follows through with the fresh and quirky sound that we were recently introduced to.
Read More...
The Kendals - Single Review: Mistakes
24 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland three-piece pop group The Kendals have released their second single Mistakes. An atmospheric analogue sounding track with a distinctive synth-pop sound.
Read More...
Isla - Single Review: Kids Like Me
21 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based indie/folk singer songwriter Isla has just released a catchy new single, Kids Like Me. She is the new "kid" on the block adding a fresh funky twist to the NZ indie pop/folk scene.
Read More...
Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem