18 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Before The Snooze - EP Review: That’s A Fact!

30 May 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Dunedin based band Before The Snooze have just released their 4 track debut EP That’s A Fact. A relative newcomer to the NZ music scene, the band formed in early 2018 producing a sound which has been described as indie guitar jangle. That’s exactly what this EP is, upbeat guitar jangle and snappy lyrics.

It doesn’t take long to get hooked into the catchy vibe of That’s A Fact, a buoyant punk rock sound with a tinge of pop maintain a grungy feeling which has a uniquely Kiwi flavour, reminiscent of The Dunedin Sound.

Stephen Hillman the lead vocalist and guitarist wrote most of the lyrics on this EP, with a bit of help from Alex Borg on Six Foot Underground, and Adam Binns on (Just Like A) Millionaire (Live in the Treehouse). Honest, clear and devoid of waffle the lyrics flow cohesively. They work well with the purposeful punchy sound the band has created. There appears to be depth to the vocals with added layers of backing vocals from the guys.

Before I continue, who exactly are the “guys”? Before The Snooze is Stephen Hillman – Rhythm Guitar, Vocals, Wes Jenkins – Lead Guitar, Backing Vocals, Adam Binns – Bass Guitar, Backing Vocals and Scott Turnbull – Drums, Backing Vocals. This four piece band has come together to create a strong alternative rock sound which I imagine transcends well into live gigs.

The Title track, That’s A Fact also has a psychedelic music video to accompany it which is pretty trippy.

This is a solid debut release, four clean well executed songs. My personal favourite track on That’s A Fact is When You Saw Me Looking Back At You (Alternate Version), this has a very catchy rhythm and really highlights how the lad's vocals complement each other.

A nice way to round up NZ Music Month for the year. I recommend having a listen.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Before The Snooze

A group of four 30 and 40 somethings, playing original jangle guitar songs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Before The Snooze

Releases

That's A Fact!
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
Zane Nathan - Single Review: Somethings
26 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Malaysian born young New Zealand singer/songwriter Zane Nathan has just released his brand new original single, which is accompanied by a lyric video; Somethings. The song has a somewhat theatrical sound to it, which would not be out of place on a Disney musical soundtrack.
Read More...
Late Model European - Album Review: It’s Time
11 Aug 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Life-long best friends John Nelson and Tones Thorburn are a couple of Scottish guys who now live in New Zealand, One in Auckland, the other in Marlborough. Together they make up Late Model European, a band with a sound I would describe as Pop Rock mixed with Classic New Wave.
Read More...
Marina Bloom and Moving Stuff - Single Review: Lions Fighting In A Church
25 Jul 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Russian born Kiwi singer/songwriter Marina Bloom has just released her extraordinary new single with the impressive title Lions Fighting In A Church. Inspired by epic battles, fairy-tale endings and big love songs such as Bat Out Of Hell by Meatloaf , this is a dramatic and beautiful song which shoots a musical arrow straight to the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem