13 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools

24 May 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius.


Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.

Student Of Fools is their debut track. I've gotta say …. WOW! This is so impressive. One solid, polished band, with an awesome quality recording you can tell these guys have been at this for a while, they have all mastered their instruments, and I’m pretty sure this tune is constructed from pure gasoline, some blood, some tears, some anger, some compassion, and a whole lot of grit.

The overview of the song is that it an uncompromising and honest song about the struggles New Zealand families face living with domestic violence. I’d say that it is every single part of that. Student Of Fools literally launches into the first note with a right hook to the jawbone. It follows with a suckerpunch to the gut and finishes you off with a broken nose.

Guitars are heavy, tuned low (VERY low) – heavy bass, a Phil Anselmo reminiscent vocal line, and very crisp precise drumming with nice open space for the lead guitar to flow over the top. Intricate bell hits, cymbal grabs, snare hits fill the smaller gaps, but leave this song with heaps of open space.

Honestly? If you are a metal fan, you this will blow your eardrums. I absolutely love this track. Get it in you!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Lakius

Lakius is an Auckland based 3 piece metal band.
Formed by Broken Season founders Hemi Sachin (drums), Tony Charles (guitars,vocals),
and newcomer Caz (bass), Lakius solidified their line-up in late 2018.

Lakius combines Tony's honest, and uncompromising lyrics, grinding guitars with Hemi's drums punishing your ears with relentless double kicks, and Caz's 4 string terrorism.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lakius

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lakius.

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem