17 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change

23 May 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year.


This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune. Acoustic guitar, a nice solid but not overpowering drumline, Jason’s vocals layered intricately over the top. For those of us who are muso’s the 6/8 timing is really refreshing – it’s got a good head nodding toe tapping vibe. To give you my spin on the feel, if you’ve ever heard Incubus acoustic sessions, that’s roughly how I’d place We Change or maybe liken it to Days Of The New. The delicate electric guitar weaves its way through the tune so you almost don’t even notice that its sitting in the background, but if it wasn’t there, the track would miss all its substance.

I feel like the song lulls you into a false sense of direction, the verses have you sitting on edge feeling really unresolved, and then suddenly BOOM the song opens up into this beautiful full chorus which is such so superbly powerful.

Awesome work to see the new line up from The JMC (Jason McIver (vox, acoustic guitar) bassist Si Folkard (lead gat & harmonies) new members John Curtis (bass) Andrew Marshall (drums) kicking their new direction off with such a wicked track!

Just for a bit of kudos, We Change was recorded and mastered by Jake Booth of Mordecai Records in good old Taupo NZ!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jason McIver Collective

The Jason McIver Collective have released two highly praised and charting albums since 2015 and in 2019 that catalogue will continue to expand.

After moving bases from Auckland to Taupo Jason refreshed the line-up, featuring original bassist Si Folkard moving to lead guitar/vocals, bassist John Curtis and drummer Andrew Marshall.

The music explores the many emotions and movements occurring in life and celebrates a diverse scope of song writing.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jason McIver Collective

Releases

I May No Perf
Year: 2016
Type: Album
The Big Blue
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Mathew King MJK - Single Review: Magnetic
08 Oct 2020 // by Carl Hayman
With some pretty famous initials you might confuse MJK with Maynard James Keenan from Tool, but in fact, residing in NZ is our own professional muso MJK ‘Mathew King’ born in the ‘Naki. Performing under MJK, Mathew has just released a brand new single Magnetic, and it’s a pretty slick tune!
Read More...
Khemikal - Single Review: Unity
18 Sep 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Back in the early to mid-2000’s I was a huge fan of POD, Alterbridge, Incubus and Disturbed, and to some extent I still am. The beginning of the DJ era within rock music.
Read More...
Bad Jones - EP Review: You Are All Animals
12 May 2020 // by Carl Hayman
During these uncertain and unique times, all the self-isolation days at home trawling old music videos and posting my favourite album every day on Facebook has had me reminiscing about better times when rock was still king, and people who played live instruments were admired. By better times, I mean the days when we all used to be allowed out, get dieseled up on JD’s and coke, and watch an epic live band rip life a new one, so Bad Jones brand new EP You Are All Animals was the antidote I’ve been looking for.
Read More...
Sycophant - EP Review: Pop Frog
28 Mar 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Today I'm on Covid-19 lockdown, which has given me the opportunity to give you my spin on Sycophant's brand new EP Pop Frog. I've been listening to this EP on and off for a week to find the accurate words to describe, and here's my thoughts.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Presence Of Fear
19 Feb 2020 // by Carl Hayman
Ever heard of Dark Water? I’ve been lucky enough to play on the bill with these guys in their home town of The 'Naki and they sure know how to put a massive amount of energy into their set.
Read More...
The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem