22 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The BackChat - Single Review: Read My Mind

11 May 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins. If we could all read each other’s minds things might be a lot simpler or a lot more honest.

Opposites attract. It creates conflict. Conflict creates excitement. It also creates friction. Friction creates resistance. Resistance results in attitude and Backchat. Aha! the circle of life all summed up in these three minutes of funky soul filled pop with a twist of ginger.

Listening to this song is akin to tasting spicy food for the first time. Drinking alcohol for the first time. Getting one of those chocolate bars where some idiot thought it would be clever to add chili to the mix.

It is silky smooth and makes you sway along to its hypnotic rhythm, but it also has a bite to it. There is a gritty attitude and intelligence running through those funk bass lines and subtle but perfectly timed drum work.

The music here would stand alone on its own as an instrumental track but by adding the sublime, smoky vocals of Bekah, who seems to be channeling everything from Lilly Allen to Sade, what we have here is something very special.

There are many bands in this genre who have great vocalists and musicians. This isn't punk. This music requires a level of control, but you can still feel the friction and grind in this song. The clash of musical influences fluctuates throughout. Everything about this is classy and sassy

Backchat is an interesting new band and one band to watch, hear and feel.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The BackChat

The BackChat is an Alt RnB band based in Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed by members from musical backgrounds, the group plays upbeat, soulful tunes through use of lyrical stories, catchy progressions and dynamic beats.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The BackChat

Releases

There are no releases to display for The BackChat.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
2 a.m. Orchestra - Album Review: Trading Graves
20 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
I am sitting in a bar in rainy Manchester, UK.Storm Dennis is about to hit.
Read More...
Arrays - Single Review: Dead Sea
20 Jan 2020 // by Paul Goddard
It’s not easy being in a band. The “it’s Ike being married to three or four other people” often rings true.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Hot Pink Paralysis
19 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Pop and punk don’t mix. Just put Simon Cowell in the same room as John Lydon (if you follow pop punk you might not know who that is, but your view of punk will be much better if you do) and ask them to discuss music and see what happens.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Thekla Bristol, UK - 30/11/2019
04 Dec 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s a cold one tonight here in Bristol as we head over to one of the UK’s most iconic and unique venues. Thekla is a ship permanently moored in Bristol’s harbour.
Read More...
Bleeders - Single Review: Darkness Falls
21 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2003 I was helping out at the now defunct Brewers Bar in Mount Maunganui. Fresh to NZ I was keen to see what music was on offer.
Read More...
Blu Fish - Single Review: Up/Down
18 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
We all go through it. The ups and downs of this beautiful thing we call life.
Read More...
Album Review: Gold Medal Famous
04 Oct 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This is a dark way to start a review but I am sure the members of Gold Medal Famous, and especially Vorn Colgan, who has unfortunately been diagnosed with terminal cancer will understand.After all, this is a band who defies convention and often tackle dark and disturbing subjects with brutal clarity and honesty.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem