20 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind

11 May 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins. If we could all read each other’s minds things might be a lot simpler or a lot more honest.

Opposites attract. It creates conflict. Conflict creates excitement. It also creates friction. Friction creates resistance. Resistance results in attitude and Backchat. Aha! the circle of life all summed up in these three minutes of funky soul filled pop with a twist of ginger.

Listening to this song is akin to tasting spicy food for the first time. Drinking alcohol for the first time. Getting one of those chocolate bars where some idiot thought it would be clever to add chili to the mix.

It is silky smooth and makes you sway along to its hypnotic rhythm, but it also has a bite to it. There is a gritty attitude and intelligence running through those funk bass lines and subtle but perfectly timed drum work.

The music here would stand alone on its own as an instrumental track but by adding the sublime, smoky vocals of Bekah, who seems to be channeling everything from Lilly Allen to Sade, what we have here is something very special.

There are many bands in this genre who have great vocalists and musicians. This isn't punk. This music requires a level of control, but you can still feel the friction and grind in this song. The clash of musical influences fluctuates throughout. Everything about this is classy and sassy

Backchat is an interesting new band and one band to watch, hear and feel.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Walk of Shame
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Blue River Baby have a goal to get people moving by creating songs that make people move and playing them well to as many people as possible. It is a simple goal but one that they achieve well as they recently showed when they played to 20,000 people on NYE in Nelson.
Read More...
Ben Ruegg - EP Review: If I Had A Delorean
15 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Have you ever had those moments where you look back on a time in your life where everything you remember from that those moments just seemed to be great? Of course, those good times can’t be pinned down to a specific moment or era.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single/Video Review: Rattlesnake
04 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
DRXNES have caused quite a stir since forming a few years ago and for good reason. They have worked bloody hard and released some great music accompanied by well-produced videos.
Read More...
Undercut - Single Review: Luckily
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
There is something a little bit different about this track by Undercut. It is hard to put your finger on, it's not one part alone that stands out but the sum of all the parts adds up to something very good indeed.
Read More...
She Loves You - Single Review: Dirty Orlean
27 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
She Loves You are one of the most exciting bands in New Zealand right now. Their first show back in 2014 was a sell out and it has been an upward trajectory for them since then.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem