28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will Saunders - EP Review: Oh It's A Sound

09 May 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will Saunders EP Oh, It's A Sound is an experience from start to finish.

Beginning with the title track, machine-like drums reverberate and create a landscape in which guitars start to play all over.  With a simple riff on one side and some guitar noodling on the other, the song calls out to be experienced live. I wouldn't go so far as to say it is like a 'trance-like experience' as I would leave that to the very awesome and 'Swans' inspired track Hope and Survival. 

The second track, Weightlosslollipop completely changes the tone up. With a more accessible guitar and drum sound, you expect to be welcomed with lyrics and melody that would be considered almost alt-pop. Will is singing about Kim Kardashian and the Weightloss lollipop. It is done so well that it sounds catchy, even if you don't always catch the lyrics as they seem sort of hidden in the back. Reading them, it makes sense and it's funny. This sounds a lot like art-rock, having fun with genre, timbre and current events. I'm thinking of a sort of Darcy Clay vibe here.

As mentioned, Hope and Survival feels like a trance-like state. The drums build up and day down constantly. As it starts to get going, the song quickly ends. I can just tell these songs would be perfect for the live situation.  

Finally, Will switches it up with a more acoustic track called Pancho and Lefty. The vocals are clearer than any other track. I can hear more clearly the songwriting ability that Will Saunders has here. Lyrically, it is a story about Pancho and Lefty, two characters who seem to be tied up with the Federales. It is nice to hear a simple refrain in this song, 'out of kindness, I suppose.'

This is an EP that screams a live performance. It would allow for more room to play with the song structure on songs like Hope and Survival. While this music might not appeal to everyone, music is about expression and creativity and this certainly ticks all those boxes for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will Saunders

Will Saunders is a solo musician writing, recording, producing and performing his music live.

He has released four full length albums and ten solo EP's.

He was the lead singer, songwriter and guitarist for Auckland bands The Quick and the Dead, Bearhat and The Lowest Fidelity.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will Saunders

Releases

Oh It's A Sound
Year: 2019
Type: EP
All That Has Ever Been
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Hopeful Objects
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Covers Four
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Nothing Wrong
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem