27 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Will Saunders - EP Review: Oh It's A Sound

09 May 2019 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Will Saunders EP Oh, It's A Sound is an experience from start to finish.

Beginning with the title track, machine-like drums reverberate and create a landscape in which guitars start to play all over.  With a simple riff on one side and some guitar noodling on the other, the song calls out to be experienced live. I wouldn't go so far as to say it is like a 'trance-like experience' as I would leave that to the very awesome and 'Swans' inspired track Hope and Survival. 

The second track, Weightlosslollipop completely changes the tone up. With a more accessible guitar and drum sound, you expect to be welcomed with lyrics and melody that would be considered almost alt-pop. Will is singing about Kim Kardashian and the Weightloss lollipop. It is done so well that it sounds catchy, even if you don't always catch the lyrics as they seem sort of hidden in the back. Reading them, it makes sense and it's funny. This sounds a lot like art-rock, having fun with genre, timbre and current events. I'm thinking of a sort of Darcy Clay vibe here.

As mentioned, Hope and Survival feels like a trance-like state. The drums build up and day down constantly. As it starts to get going, the song quickly ends. I can just tell these songs would be perfect for the live situation.  

Finally, Will switches it up with a more acoustic track called Pancho and Lefty. The vocals are clearer than any other track. I can hear more clearly the songwriting ability that Will Saunders has here. Lyrically, it is a story about Pancho and Lefty, two characters who seem to be tied up with the Federales. It is nice to hear a simple refrain in this song, 'out of kindness, I suppose.'

This is an EP that screams a live performance. It would allow for more room to play with the song structure on songs like Hope and Survival. While this music might not appeal to everyone, music is about expression and creativity and this certainly ticks all those boxes for me.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Will Saunders

Will Saunders is a solo musician writing, recording, producing and performing his music live.

He has released four full length albums and ten solo EP's.

He was the lead singer, songwriter and guitarist for Auckland bands The Quick and the Dead, Bearhat and The Lowest Fidelity.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Will Saunders

Releases

Oh It's A Sound
Year: 2019
Type: EP
All That Has Ever Been
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Hopeful Objects
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Covers Four
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Nothing Wrong
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: Cotton Candy
16 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Tracks like this deserve a good amount of attention. It's funky, groovy and makes you feel good.
Read More...
Y$O - Single Review: M.I.A
23 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Combining the forces of artists Sam V, Aidan Fine, JARNA, Brokeboi Ace and producers EDY, CreationKit & M4, Young & $lept On (Y$O) is New Zealand's newest supergroup. This stable of talent is set to disrupt airwaves and social media with their eclectic sense of style, talent and vision - demonstrated by the group's first release M.
Read More...
Ryan Farrell - Single Review: Teenage Dreamer
22 May 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I love it when these sorts of things happen. At just 18, the new track Teenage Dreamer from Ryan Farrell is another example of a young artist who had a vision for their sound and delivers on it.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem