20 May 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl

06 May 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.

For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.

The first thing I did was have a quick listen to the EP back to front, and I have to admit, quite blown away at the level of songwriting. It’s not your typical garage band production, or a quick 3 chord hit, this EP sounds like it’s taken many nights, and many bottles of Merlot to craft to a very high level of song writing, which has been scrutinized, perfected, and set in stone for eternity.

If I were to try and describe Lee’s style to you, I would ask you to close your eyes and think about a starry clear and cool night, a bonfire, a few whiskey and red-wine’s (which is subsequently track 3), a guitar, some good mates, and a bit of a singalong. At the risk of comparing the two artists because they are quite different, yet have big similarities, if you’ve heard Miley Cyrus’s backyard sessions rendition of Jolene, you’ll be in ballpark. A little bit country, a little bit folk, a little bit blues. It would probably be fair to throw another name to the mix would be Carrie Underwood If you’ve heard any of her acoustic stuff.

Lee’s voice is beautiful and quite gentle, but very controlled and precise. She’s absolutely pitch perfect. Just a girl and her guitar. I don’t know who the band are, but full credit to them also – the bass lines and drum beats supporting her are perfectly matched to her song-writing in every form.

This EP is great! Some cruisy Sunday afternoon hot coffee in hand feelgood stuff, but also has some tunes that I think Lee has really had to dig down and write from the heart. Lost Girl is a tearjerker, and Whiskey and Red Wine is a slow dance to save for the end of the night when you are the only ones left on the dance floor at sunrise.

I’m not going to lump this EP into a specific genre, I really feel like anyone music related or otherwise can relate to this EP, and for that, I recommend you get amongst it and just add it to your favourite playlist whatever that may be. You won’t be disappointed.

Big up’s Lee, I really think you’ve put your heart and soul into Lost Girl, and you’ve had a fantastic result.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
If He Dies He Dies - The Medusa
11 Sep 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A while back, I had the privilege of reviewing The Jason McIver Collective, and having watched Jason McIver’s movements with music ever since, I jumped at the chance of getting to review his new band If He Dies He Dies single The Medusa. Now first things first, make sure your speakers are set as loud as they will go without distorting.
Read More...
LA Thompson - Single Review: It's Raining
27 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
LA Thompson is a very accomplished musician having performed all around the country in various capacities, and this is her latest single release It’s Raining. I’ve never heard LA play before as it’s a completely different genre to what I would normally listen to, but what a pleasant surprise for me - I feel quite honoured to get the opportunity to listen to this brand-new single before the general public do.
Read More...
Michael Signal - EP Review: Direct Injection
21 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Take the members of Motley Crue, slide an IV Drip into their veins, fill the bag with pure full caffeinated coffee, then let them write an album. That’s probably the best description I can come up with for this EP.
Read More...
Album Review: Hive Mind
07 Aug 2018 // by Carl Hayman
Hive Mind the five-piece rock act based out of Wellington have just dropped their brand new self-titled 12 track album, and it is quite simply superb. I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I opened the first track War Story.
Read More...
Chazz Valentine - Album Review: Generation Y
28 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
Remember when bands such as Blink 182, Sum 41, Frenzal Rhomb, Mighty Mighty Bosstones and Reel Big Fish were the epitome of summer? Throwing the surfboards in the back of the wagon, cranking the tunes, and heading to the beach for an epic day in the sun with the boys and even the occasional girl?
Read More...
Bic Runga - Album Review: Close Your Eyes
05 Dec 2016 // by Carl Hayman
There isn’t many people in New Zealand that have had have stood out as solo artists with such finesse or success as our very own Bic Runga. After many years of waiting and reminiscing about her earlier singles such as Sway and Good Morning Baby from her massively successful debut album Drive Bic has finally delivered an exceptional new album on the year of her 40th birthday titled Close Your Eyes.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • IF I CAN'T HAVE YOU
    Shawn Mendes
  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • HOMICIDE
    Logic feat. Eminem
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • 3 NIGHTS
    Dominic Fike
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem