19 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lee Martin - EP Review: Lost Girl

06 May 2019 // A review by Carl Hayman

This morning I had the privilege of being one of the first to hear Lee Martin’s brand new EP Lost Girl.

For those of you who know my tastes in music, this is a little bit removed from my normal mixtape of rock, pop, and classics, and to do a review on something more folk influenced is quite a pleasure.

The first thing I did was have a quick listen to the EP back to front, and I have to admit, quite blown away at the level of songwriting. It’s not your typical garage band production, or a quick 3 chord hit, this EP sounds like it’s taken many nights, and many bottles of Merlot to craft to a very high level of song writing, which has been scrutinized, perfected, and set in stone for eternity.

If I were to try and describe Lee’s style to you, I would ask you to close your eyes and think about a starry clear and cool night, a bonfire, a few whiskey and red-wine’s (which is subsequently track 3), a guitar, some good mates, and a bit of a singalong. At the risk of comparing the two artists because they are quite different, yet have big similarities, if you’ve heard Miley Cyrus’s backyard sessions rendition of Jolene, you’ll be in ballpark. A little bit country, a little bit folk, a little bit blues. It would probably be fair to throw another name to the mix would be Carrie Underwood If you’ve heard any of her acoustic stuff.

Lee’s voice is beautiful and quite gentle, but very controlled and precise. She’s absolutely pitch perfect. Just a girl and her guitar. I don’t know who the band are, but full credit to them also – the bass lines and drum beats supporting her are perfectly matched to her song-writing in every form.

This EP is great! Some cruisy Sunday afternoon hot coffee in hand feelgood stuff, but also has some tunes that I think Lee has really had to dig down and write from the heart. Lost Girl is a tearjerker, and Whiskey and Red Wine is a slow dance to save for the end of the night when you are the only ones left on the dance floor at sunrise.

I’m not going to lump this EP into a specific genre, I really feel like anyone music related or otherwise can relate to this EP, and for that, I recommend you get amongst it and just add it to your favourite playlist whatever that may be. You won’t be disappointed.

Big up’s Lee, I really think you’ve put your heart and soul into Lost Girl, and you’ve had a fantastic result.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Carl Hayman

The Lost Boys - Single Review: Hook, Line And Sinker
08 Oct 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I was absolutely gutted this morning to see two of my favourite bands are coming to NZ this December while I'm out of the country; Bad Religion and Frenzal Rhomb. I started hunting through playlists on Spotify and ended up listening to some of my favourite Kiwi punk/pop/rock acts from years gone by.
Read More...
Ginzu and the Steak Knives - Single/Video Review: Edge Of The Universe
18 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
This morning I got the pleasure of being one of the very first people to see the latest release from Ginzu and the Steak Knives – Edge Of The Universe. The second that you see a guy tied up on a chair inside a Pentacle, you know you are in for a treat.
Read More...
Glow Becky - Single Review: Fade Back
10 Sep 2019 // by Carl Hayman
For the last couple of years, a previous bandmate and good friend Nate has been telling me about this awesome rock band called Glow Becky that I have to hear. The team at Muzic.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: L.O.V.E
16 Jul 2019 // by Carl Hayman
Iveta & Simone have just dropped their hot new single L.O.
Read More...
Lakius - Single Review: Student Of Fools
24 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I haven’t reviewed anything heavy for a while, so I was pretty lucky to get handed the brand new single by Lakius. Broken Season has been one of my favourite Kiwi heavy (very heavy) rock/metal acts for ages, and Lakius is the sequel born from what Broken Season used to be.
Read More...
Jason McIver Collective - Single Review: We Change
23 May 2019 // by Carl Hayman
I’ve been following The Jason McIver Collective for a few years now; I met Jason a few years ago at one of my own gigs, and then had the privilege of reviewing another project of his If He Dies He Dies, then got finally got to see him play solo at the Lake Taupo Cycle Challenge last year. This latest release from The JMC is titled We Change and it’s a bloody solid tune.
Read More...
Hault - EP Review: Brother
19 Feb 2019 // by Carl Hayman
The new EP from Hault, Brother, kicks off with a massive amount of energy! Track one Red Dress is all about distorted gats, over a fast, thick drum line at something like 180BPM which just oozes that thrashy feel that all of us rock fans love.
Read More...
Empire To Ashes - Album Review: Beneath
15 Nov 2018 // by Carl Hayman
A few of you may have heard the name Jamie Denton from some of NZ’s most powerful underground rock bands from the last 15 to 20 years. Jamie has always laid down the heavy hitting basslines for rock bands ranging in genre from dark moody metal-based bands, to straight up radio rock, to borderline punk.
Read More...
View All Articles By Carl Hayman

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
  • GODZILLA
    Eminem feat. Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem