20 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool

03 May 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?, garage punk, psychedelic cowboy spook!

Psychedelic or psychotic there is a theme albeit loosely lost in translation

So where does their latest single Fool sit? 

More importantly how does it make me feel? Not spooked and certainly not with an inexcusable urge to download the latest Blake Shelton Album!

It has that raw under produced feel we are used to, and the vocals of Yolanda are as always a stand out. It’s uplifting refrain of ooooooh reminds me of Kim Deal at her simplistic beautiful best. The whole song has that spaced out Pixies vibe and is a slice of pure cool summery vibes. Musically it rumbles along like a building storm and then out of the dark shine those vocals like sunlight striking through brooding clouds. (Jeez they have me waxing all lyrical now)

With Fool, The Echo Ohs have done what they do best. They have kept things simple, engaging and ultimately as entertaining as the way people like me scramble to describe what they do. 

I am not sure what Psych Spaghetti Surf is but if this is it I will have some on my toast.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Wild Weeds
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Hot Pockets
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
Churlington - EP Review: ...Or That The Hummingbird Is So Seldom Seen
13 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Why?Why is music so important?
Read More...
Transistor - Single Review: Nothing New
30 Jul 2020 // by Paul Goddard
New single Nothing New from Wellington-based Transistor is a tricky, trippy, psychedelic aural beast. A snarly bastard of a song.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Album Review: Confessions of a Pie Thief
26 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Punk music means different things to different people. Over the years like most genres it has morphed, been watered down, kicked about and spat out.
Read More...
Repairs - Single Review: Cut To The Chase
23 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
You know that feeling you get when you discover something you weren’t expecting? Not in a bad way, fuck that - we have all discovered too much badness lately.
Read More...
For The Wolves - Single Review: The Devil You Know
17 Jun 2020 // by Paul Goddard
This was just what I needed today. Pandemic lockdown here in the UK has me climbing the walls and wanting to quite frankly rip someone's head off.
Read More...
EP Review: Serious Happiness
22 Feb 2020 // by Paul Goddard
The ocean is amazing. Just about everyone in New Zealand has a connection with it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem