13 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pale Lady - Single Review: Fear the Fun

18 Apr 2019 // A review by Kris Raven

From the first listen of Pale Lady’s latest single Fear The Fun it instantly reminded me of Medieval times, with the harpsichord keys playing a little jig which is the intro theme to the whole song, it's fun and I did not fear it. Then the epicness begins, how can anyone not like duel guitars wailing and soloing melodically together carrying the anthemic tune into the battle. Its modern prog rock, with little hints of influence from various rock genres and sub genres.

The overall song is very hooky and catchy and has a great balance of groove carried by the drummer Sam Higham- who also provides the keys! The Pale Lady musicianship shines throughout. The guitarist duo of Jack Shalders & Jan Minot are very technically proficient on their chosen axes, while vocally Kaptain Konarucchi vocals soar without outshining the feel and theme of the song. The background vocals in the verses remind me a little of Queen with a sing along feel, there is a bit of multi-instrumentalism going on through the band. The chorus is a little more straight forward compared with the verse vocally but with the guitars post chorus carrying the infectious melody it balances out well.

The second part of the song kicks things up a notch, some sweet double time, further escalating the journey through this baroque jaunt. Once again the riffs are super dope, some sweet squeals reminding me a little of that classic 80’s metal vibe and some very well composed lead guitar work, intertwining with the already technical rhythm guitar. It reminded me a little of Between the Buried and Me's Selkies, just an awesome journey of inspired riffage. My only tiny criticism was while I thought the production was solid and clear, I would like to hear the low end beefed up to make the song even bigger.

Hitting just under the 3 minute mark, Pale Lady have packed this tune with all killer no filler and it’s a pleasurable listen. These guys have developed their own sound and it’s a bit different from the usual rock fare which is a welcome change. I'm sure this song will have you bouncing on mosh floor when they head out on an Australasian tour in May!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Pale Lady

Founded in late 2016, Pale Lady consists of four rock fanatics who found themselves in the same music degree. Since then, it has been non stop writing and gigging to bring something new to Rock n Roll. Their music is diverse, with influences both from old school classics and modern rock.

Pale Lady’s sound is characterised by the layered elements and high energy. At a show you can expect to hear catchy vocal melodies, heavy riffs and guitar solos a plenty. Since winning the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, the band has been working towards upcoming releases. They will bring out new music over the course of 2018, leading up to their Europe tour in August.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pale Lady

Releases

My New Maze
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Told To Fold
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Banks Arcade - EP Review: Fever Dreams
10 Jun 2020 // by Kris Raven
NZ/Aussie 5-piece Banks Arcade recently released their game changing second EP and follow up to their debut EP, 2018’s Endnote. A lot has changed for the band in three years, members have come and gone, a move across the ditch and an incredible evolution in their sound and focus.
Read More...
City of Souls - Album Review: Synaesthesia
30 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
Alright people, it’s here, it’s finally here!5 years in the making.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Album Review: This Is Not A Future
15 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
These Four Walls, a household name in NZ rock since the mid 2000's, the now Australian-based alt rock four piece are about to release their third album This Is Not A Future and the timing feels eerily perfect, an album name never seemed more real right now. Beginning with The Sound, the opening lyric "All my life I've lived this song" is a hauntingly introverted revelation that gives you an indication on where this album will take you.
Read More...
Devilskin - Album Review: Red
01 Apr 2020 // by Kris Raven
On album number four, RED is both a warning and a statement and Devilskin are here to deliver it in their most diverse and creative outing yet. Four years have passed since the release of their 2016 award-winning second album Be Like The River and as they come off the back of heavy national and international touring; Devilskin, one of NZ’s most beloved Rock/Metal bands is about to release their highly anticipated album in amongst the chaos of 2020.
Read More...
Crooked Royals - Single Review: Copacetic
19 Mar 2020 // by Kris Raven
Crooked Royals are back! With brand new single Copacetic about to be released, Auckland progressive metalcore five-piece Crooked Royals are continuing their meteoric rise and adding to an already brilliant 2020 of music (and its only March!
Read More...
City of Souls - Single Review: Shimmer
27 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
The time is drawing ever closer to the impending, highly anticipated release of NZ Prog/Alt Rock Metal legends City of Souls debut album Synaesthesia. Off the back of several (SIX) epic single releases in the last five years, we received not one, but two brand new singles this week, the beautifully haunting White Ghost and the groove inducing heavy banger Shimmer, which is out today!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Single Review: Wretched Tracks
13 Feb 2020 // by Kris Raven
It’s always a good thing to hear of new music coming from the nation's capital, having been the hub of such huge and varying artists. However, in recent years there seems to have been a steady increase in bands and artists calling it a day.
Read More...
Streakers - Single Review: Saturated
14 Oct 2019 // by Kris Raven
Christchurch 3 Piece Alternative Rock and roll machine Streakers have recently dropped their new single Saturated. The song takes me back to the 90’s, with the sounds of big chunky guitar riffs, pounding Grohl-esque drums and unique vocal stylings.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem