15 Sep 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pale Lady - Single Review: Fear the Fun

18 Apr 2019 // A review by Kris Raven

From the first listen of Pale Lady’s latest single Fear The Fun it instantly reminded me of Medieval times, with the harpsichord keys playing a little jig which is the intro theme to the whole song, it's fun and I did not fear it. Then the epicness begins, how can anyone not like duel guitars wailing and soloing melodically together carrying the anthemic tune into the battle. Its modern prog rock, with little hints of influence from various rock genres and sub genres.

The overall song is very hooky and catchy and has a great balance of groove carried by the drummer Sam Higham- who also provides the keys! The Pale Lady musicianship shines throughout. The guitarist duo of Jack Shalders & Jan Minot are very technically proficient on their chosen axes, while vocally Kaptain Konarucchi vocals soar without outshining the feel and theme of the song. The background vocals in the verses remind me a little of Queen with a sing along feel, there is a bit of multi-instrumentalism going on through the band. The chorus is a little more straight forward compared with the verse vocally but with the guitars post chorus carrying the infectious melody it balances out well.

The second part of the song kicks things up a notch, some sweet double time, further escalating the journey through this baroque jaunt. Once again the riffs are super dope, some sweet squeals reminding me a little of that classic 80’s metal vibe and some very well composed lead guitar work, intertwining with the already technical rhythm guitar. It reminded me a little of Between the Buried and Me's Selkies, just an awesome journey of inspired riffage. My only tiny criticism was while I thought the production was solid and clear, I would like to hear the low end beefed up to make the song even bigger.

Hitting just under the 3 minute mark, Pale Lady have packed this tune with all killer no filler and it’s a pleasurable listen. These guys have developed their own sound and it’s a bit different from the usual rock fare which is a welcome change. I'm sure this song will have you bouncing on mosh floor when they head out on an Australasian tour in May!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Pale Lady

Founded in late 2016, Pale Lady consists of four rock fanatics who found themselves in the same music degree. Since then, it has been non stop writing and gigging to bring something new to Rock n Roll. Their music is diverse, with influences both from old school classics and modern rock.

Pale Lady’s sound is characterised by the layered elements and high energy. At a show you can expect to hear catchy vocal melodies, heavy riffs and guitar solos a plenty. Since winning the 2017 National Battle Of The Bands, the band has been working towards upcoming releases. They will bring out new music over the course of 2018, leading up to their Europe tour in August.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pale Lady

Releases

There are no releases to display for Pale Lady.

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

REI (band) - Single Review: Vore
11 Sep 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland 5 piece REI (not to be confused with Rei the NZ Hip-Hop artist) have just released their debut single Vore. Crossing genre lines by blending mathcore and emo is no easy feat but this is an example of original fusion done well and sounding unique.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - Single Review: Prometheus/Eventide
28 Aug 2019 // by Kris Raven
For anyone familiar with Seas of Conflict’s live shows, you will know that throughout the last year Prometheus has been the song that has been leaving fans in awe, pummelled by its sheer brutality. It is one of their heaviest songs to date and a crowd favourite with many people eagerly waiting for the song to be recorded.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Blue Dragon
01 Aug 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland 5-piece Outside In have just released their third single Blue Dragon from their upcoming debut album. The progressive rock quintet has been busy this year after taking a lengthy sabbatical, reintroducing NZ audiences to their intellectually crafted brand of alternative prog rock.
Read More...
Pale Flag - EP Review: Emergence
25 Jul 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland’s Pale Flag are about to release their debut EP Emergence, which is aptly named considering their already stacked gigging CV. Having released their brutal first single In This Moment, their growing fan base can expect to hear 6 brand new heavy af bangers.
Read More...
Take Hold - EP Review: Disrepair
27 Jun 2019 // by Kris Raven
I have seen Take Hold’s name pop in up various social media circles, posters and events but had not had a chance to check them out. Their debut five song EP Disrepair had me instantly hooked from the first listen, reminding me of past and present melodic hardcore bands from the 00's to the 10's and more recently.
Read More...
Animalhead - Single Review: Stone Face Killer
22 May 2019 // by Kris Raven
Auckland’s favourite lads Animalhead on the lash are back with their massive third single Stone Face Killer. The ferocious trio are known for their chunky and funky riffs, massive groove, dabs of rap and blues, soaking it in rock and roll and turning out the party bangers for a throw down.
Read More...
Claemus - Singles Review: 'Rule of Two' and 'Progenitor'
16 May 2019 // by Kris Raven
Hutt Valley's finest, Claemus, have just dropped the first two singles from their forthcoming EP. If the singles and previous works are anything to go by then our ears are in for some of the finest progressive rock/metal this year.
Read More...
Crooked Royals - EP Review: Rumination
29 Mar 2019 // by Kris Raven
Let's just start off by saying, Ruminations is 5-songs by Crooked Royals, who have leveled up in a big way. It sounds like a band who have found their sound with well-constructed songs that are cohesive, interesting, original and just HUGE.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • RANSOM
    Lil Tecca
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • KIA MAU KI T? ?KAIP? / DON'T FORGET YOUR ROOTS
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem